We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky pick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Coqui

El Coqui
400 Mendocino Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6314
(707) 542-8868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 404 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lucky pick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was in SantaRosa as part of a golfing tour and stayed locally. We needed a restaurant for a meal on a Saturday evening and having parked the car were lucky to pick El Coqui from the others available. The atmosphere was great with lots of parties in the restaurant having a great Saturday night. We had not eaten Puerto Rican food before so chose conservatively. The waiter was very helpful telling us what plaintain are and the choices available. Service was quick and the food delicious. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant if you happen to be travelling in Northern California.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Plantains yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a fun and lively place. Yummy Puerto RIcan food - plantains, lovely chicken and spanish rice. Yummy! Excellent service and friendly staff.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“go for the bar scene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great location, friendly service, ample portions, reasonable prices.
Not particularly flavorful food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Birthday Luck !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

While enjoying my birthday weekend with my hubby and shopping in the downtown area we ran into this place. "I was so LUCKY" I've been looking on the Internet for good Puerto Rican resturant near my home without any success. While that ended when we ate here.
I enjoyed two amazing Puerto Rican birthday meals, I ate lunch and dinner there plus ordered a dozen pasteles to take back home.
Not only is the food yummy the staff is friendly, the atmosphere is bright, and the price is right. Finding El Coqui was the best birthday present for me ;)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I love this place! Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Try everything! It's all very good! Thanks for opening a store here!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coqui also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Coqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coqui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.