We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendez Vous Bistro - CLOSED

Rendez Vous Bistro
614 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-4406
707-526-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mendocino Avenue
Davis, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced, unique restaurant (one we hadn't been to) before a Sat. eve. event at the Wells Fargo Center and ended up here. We arrived early (5pm) and the place was not crowded. While we were seated right away, service afterwards was spotty and haphazard. Our waiter was clearly frazzled and seemed to have the few tables that were taken all to himself for a long time, before additional servers finally arrived. Good news, we got there in time for happy hour wine prices. My ravioli dish (a special) was very good, although the florentine crepe ordered by my friend wasn't really anything special or out of the ordinary. Roasted garlic soup was a good appetizer but it could've been hotter. It took forever to get water and bread -- although by the time the bread arrived, it was right out of the oven, fresh, & warm. Patio seating is nice. Inside seemed a bit dark and even a little dingy in spots (ie. the women's restroom). By the time we left after 6pm, there was a decent crowd and service seemed more fast-paced.
Not sure I'd return though given all the other great restaurant choices in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were heading to the Russian River and stopped in Santa Rosa for a late lunch, great place! What first we noticed about this restaurant was the friendly staff, so we decided to stay and have lunch. The crepes are to die for! We had one of the nicest waitress ever, we will be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Prix Fixe a good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped in for a late-ish dinner, not dissapointed.
I had the Prix Fixe dinner - steak frites, a salad and dessert.
The steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned, and fries were crispy and not greasy - exactly the way I like them!
Desert was fine, not over the top, but not bad.
Fair selection of wines by the glass.
It was a bit chilly, so we asked to be seated indoors, but were seated at a table by a door to the patio - it was actully colder there than outside. That was the only glitch in an otherwise fine evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretentious and sycophantic service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited with husband and 10 year old daughter for evening dinner. Over the top service style and did not feel genuine. Very quiet (only 3 other patrons) but meal took 45 minutes to arrive. French onion soup (tepid), salmon dish topped with cheese had obviously been sat under hot pass. Believe 'owner' was eating with a "VIP" guest (as we were told by waitress) and so all delayed as waiting staff concentrated on their table. Not a great experience and a costly one. Final blow was a large rat running across covered eating area as we finished up our meal. Staff not overly concerned (owner ignored situation) but did take off ONE main meal cost. Will NOT be returning! Little less pretentious attitude and more GENUINE customer service and quality food would be advised.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed the meal, the food and the service. The music was a bit louder than we would have liked but that was our only complaint. The wait staff was very attentive. The fish was cooked perfectly. We'll go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendez Vous Bistro also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendez Vous Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.