We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a serious update. Scary area at night.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palms Inn to your Saves list
Palms Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3345 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95407 (Formerly Days Inn Santa Rosa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Yorkton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs a serious update. Scary area at night.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here on the Labor day weekend and the price was insane for what we got. We were desperate to find vacancy as it was getting late. Didn't feel very safe staying there. The bathroom could have been cleaner. Beds were extremely hard. First impression was fine but don't look too closely! Free pancake breakfast was okay in the morning. Oh and in our GPS this hotel was called Days Inn and that was the only reason we called and booked. When we got there it was no Days Inn.

Room Tip: Just keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas L, Front Office Manager at Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
The transition from a chain hotel to an independent was a rocky one. The good news is that the property is now fully renovated, significantly better organized, and all our furniture (not just the beds) have been replaced.

As per the confusion with the GPS, may I suggest updating the map data for your device as we updated our Google property info in March of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    9
    11
    19
See reviews for
16
17
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading several reviews I was Leary to stay here. But being this was last minute and the only room left I decided to give it a try. Let me say i was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean without any oder. Generally quiet all night and no activity outside. I was concerned about a bar as part of the hotel, but it was quiet all night. The cost was reasonable too. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A very scary place to stay. We would have left but we were prepaid and the money was nonrefundable. The lobby is pretty nice but it goes downhill from there. Very shady characters hanging out in front of the place waiting for a Greyhound bus. The room was gross..nothing like the on-line pictures from their web site. Everything was old and tired. Blood on the light weight comforter. The TV clicker didn't work. There was no Wifi even though we were given login codes. The bathroom was not clean, mildew on the ceiling and paint chipping off the walls. The long term residents of the motel kept walking up and down the walkway looking into our room. Yes, there is a pool hall / bar right there in the courtyard...lovely to hear the melodious sounds of the motorcycles coming and going throughout the night. There was a gentleman strung out on something banging on one of the doors. I had a nice chat with one of the local ladies of the evening there in the courtyard. I did not feel safe at all. The breakfast was average but made fresh. Your choice of eggs or pancakes...no extras. There were piles of junk all over the grounds and around the pool. All this ambiance for $140 a night! (There was a dog show in town and they more than doubled their normal $60/night rate.) I wouldn't call that a value. And these great reviews? I don't know where these people stayed but it wasn't here.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

An enjoyable motel experience. Comfortable, clean room. Prices were not jacked up over the weekend as so many other places do. The free breakfast that is served in the little cafe that is connected to, or actually in, the convenience store, was a pleasure. And what a bonus to be able to purchase a snack or toiletry until 2 am, right on the premises!
My wife and I enjoyed the ambiance of the bus stop: it was like stepping back to the charm of the 1950s. The staff was wonderful and made us feel at home and they served the breakfast as if we were the most important customers they'd had. I ordered sausages to go with my pancakes and the server apologized profusely for the extra time it took (minutes) to bring them out. Having a pool was nice though the weather was cooler than usual and the pool is unheated. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The interior rooms are quieter and overlook the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The lobby of this hotel is connected to a convenience store which also serves as a local Greyhound bus stop. This hotel was inexpensive in comparison to most in Santa Rosa. We found out why and in the process lost a night's prepayment. Booked two nights and only stayed one. Our room had been partially cleaned up from prior days as Days Inn. Supposed to be non smoking, but there was a heavy odor of old smoke. Linens were clean but very thin; mattress pad did not cover entire bed. The carpet was a frightening disaster--- so worn, dirty and smelly!!!
I was most concerned with the people who seem to live at the far end of the hotel and wander the grounds and sit outside their rooms . We were afraid to spend another night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We drove to Santa Rosa because a friend told us this was a great little town. we found this hotel and decided to give it a try based on what we saw On Tripadvisor. the staff was friendly and helpful but the area did not smell good. we went to our room and got settled but it really had a horrible smoky smell.... the decor was okay but they were stains on the carpet and chairs. it just smelled old.
my kids wanted to try the pool so we went out that evening for a swim but they were afraid of all the dirt on the bottom of the pool.. we did not stay long.
the best part of our stay was the breakfast. the people serving were really helpful and happy. we got a big stack of pancakes and scrambled eggs with juice and coffee. that started our morning of great.

this is a one-stop hotel.... I don't think I would go back

KT

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff with a sense of humor. Room freshly painted and clean and was well-appointed with the usual things plus more, like with an eight-foot high dressing mirror, a microwave oven, and an alarm clock with am/fm radio AND cd player! The Serta mattress was very comfortable! The air-conditioner worked well. The maid service was excellent! The swimming area needs more shade on 101 degree days. Liked the free pancake and egg breakfast with coffee and o.j. Great price, too. All in all. a most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Must climb stairs to reach second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Inn

Address: 3345 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95407 (Formerly Days Inn Santa Rosa)
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palms Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Days Inn
Palms Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.