We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Little Timeout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luther Burbank Home and Gardens

Luther Burbank Home and Gardens
Santa Rosa & Sonoma Aves, Santa Rosa, CA 95404
707-524-5445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 attractions in Santa Rosa
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Anyone interested in plants will enjoy this site commemorating the work of famed horticulturist Luther Burbank, who introduced over 800 new plant varieties, including the Idaho Potato. The site includes an acre of gardens with many of the naturalist's creations, a beautiful greenhouse he built in 1889, and his Greek Revival home.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Little Timeout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were just passing through and saw the signs for this. We stopped in and found a very pleasing garden setting. The ladies in the gift shop were very helpful and informative.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Are there two properties?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was at the walking self guide garden. Interesting plants, but such a mess, made me feel like I needed to get to work. People there did not want to be bothered, unfriendly and repeat- "self guided". So Sorry!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A gardener's garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Timing only allowed a visit to the gardens and gift shop but that was a satisfying trip. Pleasant diversity of plants, not as well manicured as a commercial garden but tended with love mostly by volunteers. Interpretive information for all ages. Helpful volunteers ready to take you on a tour if you like. Audio tour for a donation. When we were there a rare puya was blooming and everyone, including us was excited to see this crazy teal blue waxy stalk of a flower with orange center. That was worth the visit. Lovely paths to view the collection of gardens and trees. Some well-tended; some a bit wild. Small gift shop with something in every price range.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful break from wine tasting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If your trip to Sonoma County involved a bit of wine tasting, this is a welcome respite. The home itself was lovely and the volunteer who toured us through it was knowledgeable and informative. You cannot enter those premises without a tour guide; the tours leave frequently and we were the only ones on ours. He also explained all the various species of plants and the fascinating history behind Luther Burbank's creations and plant "inventions." We could have used our cell phones, but this seemed much more in line with the gentle nature of the place. We purchased an excellent picnic lunch at a nearby deli and enjoyed the quiet at a picnic table on the grounds. It was lovely. Not stupendous. Just relaxingly quiet.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento area
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Identified Plantings and History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The home is closed on Monday when we visited, but the gardens is so well annotated that it makes it easy to learn new things about the many plants there. Burbank apparently spent most of his life here and many of the results of his work are on display. There is a free audio tour for cell phones--you must listen to some ads--and the plant displays sometimes posed interesting questions about Burbank.

A very elegant and peaceful place to learn about nature.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luther Burbank Home and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Luther Burbank Home and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luther Burbank Home and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luther Burbank Home and Gardens to your Saves list