We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a discovered gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Creek Winery

Matanzas Creek Winery
6097 Bennett Valley Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95404
707 528 6464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 64 Activities in Santa Rosa
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Matanzas Creek Winery is a destination to enjoy the best of both rustic country charm and refined quality. Experience Bennett Valley AVA Chardonnay, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir. Come to taste the unique Bennett Valley wines but stay and relax at our captivating estate grounds for the day. The spacious estate features an eclectic blend of native grasses, delicate olive trees, exotic perennials and our famed lavender fields. Tucked away from the noise but close enough for an afternoon jaunt. Bocci, picnic and self-guided tours.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a discovered gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited this gem on an early Friday afternoon and were surprised how busy they were. I suspect during peak times it might be too busy. Excellent wine, pretty surroundings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    18
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A little out of the way but worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've drunk their wine over the years and thought why not pay a visit.

It is a lovely facility complete with a beautifully landscaped lavendar garden.The winery is set against the hill and surrounded by trees.

The tasting room is expansive with really sharp and friendly staff. They have 2 different flights of wines to choose from. if you're with someone, divide and conquer.

We were both surprised with the range of wine they produced, with most only available at the winery. They have a new ( ish ) Chilean wine maker who is producing some incredible wine. Their reserve Sauvignon Blanc blew us away. Their dessert wine was luscious. The reds were excellent and good value compared to some of the overpriced wine we tried elsewhere. We broke our rule and joined their wine club. It was that good.

You will enjoy the experience and especially the wine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lavender Gardens in June”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The wine tasting room is in a treehouse in a huge heritage oak. In June you can enjoy world class lavendar gardens in bloom. Matanzas is on a lovely rural road, one of the most scenic and peaceful drives in Sonoma county.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only did wine tasting, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I didn't make it to the winery in time to get a tour, but I had the chance to sample their wines, and they were lovely! The woman doing the tasting was fabulous, and let me sample more than the requisite wines on the tasting list- so that I would get a sense of the differences in the wines. A stop well spent to wine country!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great tour, great wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

the grounds tour is short but includes the gardens & lavender fields. sustainable vineyard. sells lavender bath products. still waiting for them to sell white lavender products. got complimentary wine tasting for two from our hotel- fountaingrove inn. we like 1/2 the wines on their tasting menu and bought their dessert wine, probably one of the best we've ever had.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Creek Winery also viewed

 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 

Been to Matanzas Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanzas Creek Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.