We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Vintners Inn
4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Felt just like Italy! So relaxing! Great rooms, great food, great wine! The entire Santa Rosa area was delightful! Can't wait to go back! Healdsburg was fab! We stayed at the Vinters Inn because our friends where married there! Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    78
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
261
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here with my sister in July, 2012 because we got a travelzoo deal. It was a nice enough place, though we both agreed we probably wouldn't stay here again.

What we liked:
The grounds and facilities were very nice and the staff was friendly and professional. The room was large and pretty with a nice little balcony, and came with a complimentary half-bottle of wine. The bed was comfortable with LOTS of pillows. Because of the Travelzoo deal, we got coupons including a free breakfast every day and a meal at the on-site bar/pub, both of which we enjoyed. The inn is also centrally located for touring around the Sonoma Valley -- about 20 minutes to Healdsburg and 30 or so to Sonoma. There is also an on-site fitness room, which my sister enjoyed using.

What we didn't like:
The inn only has king-sized beds, which is inconvenient if you're not traveling with your romantic partner. It's in an odd location -- close to the freeway and across from a PG&E station. The grounds are landscaped enough that you can't see either, though we could hear the freeway in the morning. It's also not walking distance to anything -- you have to drive to dinner unless you're eating in the inn's restaurant. While the facilities are nice, they're fairly new (10 years or so), so it lacks the historic quaintness of some other places in this area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I was there for a couple of nights with some friends visiting from Australia & for a moment, I felt like I was in the Tuscany! My room was gorgeous, spacious & clean....wonderful night sleep! The property is absolutely beautiful and the vineyard Devine! The staff were friendly & very helpful! I had forgotten my phone at the hotel & within a a few days it was mailed to my home!!! Very trustworthy staff members, I must say....The restaurant at the property, John Ash & Co. was fantastic and I cannot wait to stay at this place & dine there again....I'm from San Francisco & must say that this place didn't disappoint me!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
What else can I say but thank you. We look forward to seeing you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I felt that this property was very top notch in both design and execution. The grounds are excellent as well. The vineyard is not really a part of the property and I would say the highway is as much the ambiance as the advertised vineyard is.
The hotel staff were good, but not great. They were pleasant and helpful but not overly much.
So the hotel was a nice place to stay but not the best place we stayed in our 4 day trip - however it was the most expensive. The comparative value is what brings this review down from 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Almost a 5 star. Beautiful grounds and rooms, very serene. Fireplace rooms are wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room service breakfast came in 20 minutes and was very delicious!
This location is neat the highway and another large road but the noise was s minimal if any, at least from our room.
The reason for the docked star is that the bathroom needs an overhaul. The grout was either dirty or moldy or both. Also, I agree with a previous reviewer in that there needs to be complimentary waters. We bought 3 of the honor bars waters and it was 10 bucks. They do give a free small bottle of wine..perhaps they could give the option of one or the other?
We did also get a massage. The masseuses were great but the massaged are I a room in the middle of the courtyard and you can hear both the lobby and the people in the courtyard. Not very relaxing, and we will skip this feature next time.
Vintners, give your rooms an upgrade or a deep cleaning and you will be 5 stars!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have stayed here three times in last 15yrs, great small complex of buildings in middle of a vineyard. Rooms are large some with fireplaces, last stay was next to pool with a small private courtyard out my back door. Dinner at John Ash food wise was expensive and not quite up to a high standard but good but sitting next to the large open windows watching the humming birds feed on the vines and flowers on a early afternoon dinner was worth it. If you want quiet non resort features this is a great place and close by to a lot of things such as the Armstrong redwoods, coast etc..only 25 minutes..so you need a car if you stay here.

Room Tip: Upper floors have fireplaces while most ground levels are bigger rooms with patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for being one of our family of guests who have visited in the past and enjoy returning to Vintners Inn. I'm sorry the restaurant wasn't up to your expectations, I have passed your comments on to our restaurant manager. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to greeting you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for a night, and what a beautiful place... in the vineyards, north of Santa Rosa. Convenient. Nice people at the property. Wonderful breakfast in the Inn. And the John Ash restaurant on the property is outstanding for dinner. For SF Bay Area folks, easily accessible, and provides an easy drive to the Anderson Valley wineries, where the tasting experience is like the "good old days." As others have stated, very much a little touch of Italy ! ! !

There are: Walking Paths, Fitness Center, Spa, Massage, Hot Tub, Bicycle Rental

Room Tip: Normally do not like downstairs rooms, but our room was quiet, with a very nice patio, facing the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.