We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Vintners Inn
4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
milwaukee, wi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful property for 3 nights. Lovley spacious and quiet room. Wonderful breakfast. Great Location to many winieries. Very pretty courtyard and landscaping.Could of been more helpful in getting our luggage to our room. We took it ourselves up the stairs.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have soaring beamed ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for an almost perfect review. I'm so sorry we didn't offer the services of one of our bellmen to take your luggage to your room. We do try to advise everyone when they book that we don't have elevators. Our mistake and apologies to you if we overlooked that. Hopefully you'll come see us again and if we forget to offer you a bellman, don't hesitate to ask for assistance. Tipping is never required. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    78
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
261
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first but not our last stay at this wonderful Inn. As part of Ferrari Cerrano winery it offers luxurious accommodations and a wonderful on-site restaurant. The full menu had outstanding and delicious selections. The staff is friendly and efficient in a great wine country location that's central to many local wineries and to Santa Rosa which also has a great assortment of great local restaurants.

Stay and the Vintners Inn, it won;'t disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Vintners Inn several times over the years. This time we had an event to attend in San Francisco and used Vintners Inn as our base and stayed two nights. This property continues to provide excellent accommodations, superb staff, world class landscaping and great public spaces. Our room was extremely clean and well kept. The property is so well maintained and if they have not remodeled the rooms in 10 years then we did not notice. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Just did not want to get out in the morning. We did not eat at John Ash this visit as we were invited out both nights but we went to The Front Room for cocktails and had great service and cocktails. They were very busy, yet we received great service. It was wonderful watching everyone around us having so much fun. You wanted to be there.

Breakfast was very fresh and a great staff. They fixed a nice tray so I could take my wife breakfast in bed. Boy did I make points on that one.

Stay here you will love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Wow, thank you, what more can I say! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We first visited the Vintners Inn over 20 years ago, and at that time were bowled over by the luxuriousness and level of service. With each subsequent visit -- three in total since that first visit in 1991 -- we became more and more disappointed. The bottom line for us is, the inn is no longer luxury lodging and could use some updating. But first, the positives. The grounds, in particular surrounding the hotel buildings, are as lovely as ever, and impeccably maintained. The registration area and cafe in the main building are also quite pretty. A (new to us) fitness center is tiny but serviceable, and has an elliptical, two treadmills, and some free weights. Bring your own music and headsets, since there aren’t any TVs in the fitness room. A jogging path through the vineyards is a wide gravel road for the vineyard’s service vehicles, but know that a good chunk of the path is right next to the noisy freeway. The vineyard is devoid of trees and is flat, so it’s not as picturesque as vineyards deeper into the wine country, but if you just want to cover ground it’s not a bad option. The biggest negative for us was our room. A cheap, patterned carpet replaced what I recall was a quality Berber, and the room smelled like carpet shampoo residue. The bedroom featured a very beat-up armchair and low budget art. We could hear every footstep of the guests in the room above us. The bathroom sported 80s’ wallpaper that was peeling, original glazed ceramic tiles on the walls, and an old vanity (with a newer granite top) – additional updating would help. Nothing about the room made a "luxury" impression. Once upon a time, breakfast had been included, but it is now offered a la carte. (No complaints about breakfast, tho – the house-made scone in particular was delicious!) WiFi worked only in the main building, not in our room. I requested a cable, per the advice in the hotel manual, but after a long search, the front desk staff couldn’t find one. I would gladly return to the Vintners Inn if the room quality matched the quality of the surrounding grounds.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room if you don't want to hear other guests' footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for taking time to comment, the good and the bad. You'll be happy to hear that the owners are in the process of working with a decorator to re-do the guest rooms. It's been about 10 years and yes it's time for an update. I hope you'll be pleased with the results on your next visit. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A marvelous property. The room, staff, amenities and food are all excellent. Even though it is close to the freeway and a power station, you don't see one hear them. Very serene. Good breakfast room which is reasonably priced, and the Jon Ash restaurant for dinner is superb. Not much to do on the property, but it is a good place to stay when touring the area. It is about ten minutes from downtown Santa Rosa.
We did not use spa, and did not see a pool.

Room Tip: Sime rooms have fireplaces, nice in winter, but not useful in summer. Rooms face vineyards or court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Vintners. There is no better place to stay in Sonoma County than the Vintner's. This was the 7th or 8th time my wife and I have stayed there over the past few years, and everything from the room, to the service to the staff is always A+++. We requested the same upstairs fireplace room we normally book, and they accommodated our request. I forgot how much I missed the wonderful country breakfasts in the café. And the staff gave us some great tips/twofers at local wineries....very much appreciated. Vintner's Inn.......Still Tremendous after all these years!!!!!

Room Tip: Remember to ask about local wineries and VIP passes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I just love our guests! It's your loyalty and wonderful compliments that keeps us striving to be the best and provide a memorable stay. Thank you. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an Amazing property in the center of a vineyard. Peaceful and absolutely beautiful. Our room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and fountain area. Very comfortable beds. Great restaurant on the premises too. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.