We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty retreat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Vintners Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty retreat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Once you get over turning at a power station off the 101 and drive through the gate it is a beautiful setting. The grounds are gorgeous and it is cool being in a vineyard. We paid $300 for a king deluxe and were promised a private patio or balcony. We had a ground floor room with a minuscule patio and tiny patio set most normal people could not fit their derrière in. After a nice night time bath our bath tub drain clogged. We reported it to the front desk the next morning and the staff appeared very receptive and promised to get someone to fix it. After waiting 45 minutes we called and were informed maintenance did not start until 9:30 AM. It would have been nice to inform us of this in the first place. We were afraid to leave our room for breakfast in case we missed maintenance and we could not shower with a tub full of water. They did arrive at our room at 9:30 and quickly fixed the shower. Overall, it is a lovely piece of property. The walk through the vineyard was a great start of the day. But, I feel the hotel is not worth the rate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so sorry you were inconvenienced by the tub not draining and am pleased maintenance could fix it so fast. It was the stopper if they didn't tell you. That was completely my fault for not telling you our maintenance man wouldn't be in for another half hour. I assumed you were headed to breakfast, I didn't realize you were waiting in the room for him. Please accept my apologies. I'm so glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you'll visit us again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    85
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
277
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Best stay on our trip--beautiful grounds, great rooms and loved the restaurant. Walked through the vines in morning for a truly relaxing start to the day in wine-country. Only suggestion: coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms are great, ask for a window seat at John Ash & Co--you feel like you're sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEstin Fl
Level Contributor
217 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had stayed here years ago after our son's wedding, It was a great place to stay then and nothing has changed. It is a expensive but I think a good value. The grounds are immaculate with beautiful trees and flowers everywhere. Incredible variety of beautiful birds---ie room with a balcony is exceptionally nice. There is a half bottle of Ferrari-Carano Fume blanc waiting in the room--an excellent wine (I think Ferrari may own the Inn).
The bed is the most comfortable we have ever slept in. It is quite high--we joked that a very short person would need to pole vault into it!! Sleep quality is incredible. Expect two huge cookies when the bed is turned down.
The breakfast at John Ash is wonderful, tho plan on about $50 for 2 for a full breakfast.
It is also very relaxing, mellow and peaceful.
Although it is very close to the 4 lane road, noise is not a problem.
For complete beauty and relaxation, this is the place to be---and, very close to Martinelli, Kendall-Jackson and Willis Wine Bar--- a great place to eat!!
Not very far to Sonoma and Healdsburg--we did lots of great wine tastings.

Room Tip: Get a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. Off a major highway, but you would never know it. Hotel was booked, but it was still very quiet. We had a partial view of vineyard on ground floor. Landscaping is beautiful, we even saw a small hummingbird. Very clean rooms and grounds.,Comfy beds. Ask the staff for recommendations and passes, they have plenty-but do your own research on what area you want to see. John Ash is yummy and their sister property Ferrari Carano is beautiful (about a half hour away-get directions..gps is not accurate) If you go to Ferrari Carano, buy a bottle and go to John Ash, they will give you a pass for a free cork fee so you an enjoy your bottle. Half hour to major Sonoma wineries, about an hour away from major Napa wineries. Great to return to after a long day of tastings/activities etc.

Room Tip: get a vineyard view room, but all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful grounds, rooms are large and roomy but ask for building 300 due to noise otherwise. We used the spa tub and it was nice and private looking at the stars at night. I accidentally left my coat hanging in the closet, called them the next day and we drove back to pick it up and they had it waiting at the front desk. The breakfast is good at the inn but the staff must be bored as they come by your table every 2 minutes trying to take your plate making you feel rushed to finish. Close to Hwy 101 and alot of the wineries in the area. Go to Willis Wine Bar for dinner, they serve tapas small plates, be adventurous and try things you would not normally eat. Get the lobster cream corn yummm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As others have noted, this place is literally next door to the 101, a very busy highway in Santa Rosa.

But you'd never know it. Between a plant-covered sound wall, lots of water features on the property, and the construction of the rooms, it's peaceful and quiet. In fact we noticed more noise from planes flying over than we did from traffic.

We stayed here as part of a 25th wedding anniversary tour of California. Once we had checked in walked around, my wife said "this might very well be the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in." And mind you, we've stayed in a couple Ritz Carltons, so she wasn't comparing it to a Motel 6.

The rooms are gorgeous, and each of the three buildings has only 14 rooms in it, so the place is small and easy to navigate. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and you can play bocce ball on the bocce court, workout, enjoy spa time (we didn't but you could).

Quiet. You can walk around through the vineyards.

Don't count on a pool though...there's a small spa pool, but that's it.

Now oddly enough, we aren't wine drinkers, so we found that there wasn't much to do in Sonoma if you're like us. I would suggest going to Hopmunk Brewery...good beer and good food. And The Charles M. Shulz Musuem (Peanuts) is nearby.

This hotel is awesome.

Just one minor quibble: in the mornings, housekeeping would be in the rooms above us and they would re-set the heavy iron chairs on the veranda above us. It made a LOT of noise. No way you're sleeping through it.

Other than that, this hotel was a s close to paradise as I think you'll find anywhere inland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The property is beautiful, conveniently located near the 101 freeway. Gorgeous relaxing setting. I was visiting for business, I highly recommend the venue. We had lunch catered and it was both healthy and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#9 of 26 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.