We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Vintners Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Vintner's Inn on a Travelzoo package. We were not disappointed. Everything at the Inn is first class, from the furnishings to the amenities. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Little touches like the turndown service and cookies by the bedside were a nice touch. Every room has a nice view. I loved the coffee in the lobby of each building in the morning. It is so much better than making a little pot in the room each morning. Location is great for visiting many Sonoma wineries. Rooms are spacious and bedding is extremely comfortable. I will definitely make a return visit.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for those very nice comments, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll visit us again in our beautiful Sonoma Wine Country. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    79
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
265
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hydesville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had always seen the Hotel as we went to various wineries in the area over the years and never made it there. We'll go back again. It is very easily accessible right off 101, close to great wineries, and a good central location to explore Sonoma, Napa, Bodega Bay, Sebastapol, Healdsburg, Guerneville. You don't walk around here, you have to drive. The Kendall Jackson Winery is next door and this Hotel would be a great place to stay if you attend the annual Tomato Harvest Festival at Kendall Jackson.

Lovely, "private estate" feel. Quiet. Beautifully landscaped. Spacious rooms (some with fireplaces) are grouped together inside individual "cottages" and the cottages surround a central courtyard with a fountain. My patio faced the vineyards and it was a peaceful, sunfilled, quiet morning by which to enjoy coffee and a bucolic view before heading out to explore. No pool and the Spa/Exercise facilities need some sprucing. But I was there to explore and wander not to hang out at the pool.

Lots of restaurants within easy driving distance. John Ash, always a favorite for fresh,seasonal food, is on the premises and we strolled on over one night. Beautiful weather that weekend and the 5 minute short, slow, stroll was so pleasant thru the courtyard, fountain and then the restaurant. Very romantic and no stress.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I only spent a night here, but felt far, far away from our daily lives and left refreshed the next day. Our room was spacious, well laid out and had a small balcony overlooking a courtyard. Other rooms overlook a vineyard. The furnishings, bedding, etc. were all of very high quality. We dined at the restaurant on site, John Ash & Co. Our drinks at the bar were well made and delicious. We were seated in the dining room looking out at the vines and the sunset, absolutely beautiful. Our meal was great and the chef came out to greet some of the diners. We had a lovely night at the Vintner's Inn and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have had the pleasure of staying at this location twice. It is a perfect starting point for a wine country weekend, and a perfect place to come back after a day on the road wine tasting. Location is perfect, staff is excellent, grounds are stellar and rooms are large and comfortable. Our rooms have been ground floor rooms, with relaxing patios and plenty of room to store our purchases :) I recommend wandering down the 'jogging path', and relaxing in the hot tub. Breakfast was an excellent treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a really welcoming, comfortable, and enjoyable place to stay for the Russian River and/or upper Sonoma valley wine regions. Appearances when approaching are deceptive, but make the heart sink. Just off a busy freeway and directly opposite a huge electric transformer substation, it looks like it could be very noisy and disappointing. In fact, the rooms are really comfortable, the staff extremely helpful, the restaurant (John Ash & Co.) superb, and the views agreeably relaxing (across small but picturesque vineyards, or into a very pleasant courtyard with a nice fountain that helps mask freeway sounds).

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side opposite the freeway if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We LOVED our entire experience at Vintner's Inn!!! The Inn had a lovely view of the vineyards, and even though it was close to the highway we never heard traffic. ( In fact, it was quite a convenient location to everything. We could just jump on the freeway and go exploring.) The staff was so welcoming upon arrival. They treated us to passes to wineries, a bottle of wine, and chocolates. Fresh coffee was waiting outside our room every morning- which was such a bonus! THe food was incredible, as well. We are hoping to stay there again on our next trip out there!!

Room Tip: The inn has clusters of rooms- the first floor is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife booked us at the Vintner based on the family friendly rating it had on tripadvisor. I am not sure how that rating is generated because, not only was it unfriendly for our family, it was an unsafe place for a toddler. They placed us in a second floor room, in a building with only a very narrow staircase, not a friendly move to start with. The room contained not the pack and play we requested but an antiquated crib, strike two. The room had windows that started a few inches from the floor and had no bars, a serious falling hazard. When I brought these things up the woman at the desk told me there was no place to move us in a very dismissive manner, strike three. My wife then spoke with the manager who was even ruder and less helpful than the woman at the front desk. I am glad it was just one night but it was not a fun one. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Unfortunately we weren't the right fit for you. While we do have many families stay with us, we're probably better suited to the business traveler or the romantic getaway. I'm sorry if you perceived us as being rude, that is never acceptable. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.