We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely family getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Save Saved
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintners Inn
4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
longmeadow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely family getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently spent a getaway night at the Vintner's Inn with our extended family. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and we were all located next to each other in the same small building. The John Ash restaurant was a delightful and convenient place to relax and dine after a long day of wine tasting!
We took advantage of the spa/massage services pre dinner, and several of our party enjoyed to big outdoor hot tub.
The staff was extremely helpful...they gave us recommendations for wine tasting, along with passes to some of the vineyard tasting rooms. They also accommodated our rooming and dining requests to perfection.
The running trails around the vineyards that surround the property helped us recover from our food and wine comas the next morning.
Great trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    77
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
253
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Usually we drive (from San Francisco) up to Napa for a day or two in wine country. This time we tried a special offer that Vintners Inn had. Oh my gosh, what a wonderful weekend!! We made our reservations very quickly arriving the next afternoon, and the excitement, fun, food, and relaxation did not stop. The Vintners Inn is spectacular (I usually stay at Ritz Carlton when I travel so my standards are very high). Not only is the Inn beautiful the staff is amazing and dinner at John Ash & Co is scrumptious! The wineries in Sonoma are lovely. Many great tastings at La Crema, J Vineyards, Rodney Strong, Seghesio, Sonoma-Cutrer, and Ferrari-Carrano. If you have not tried Sonoma or it has been a long time, why wait any longer!! We ran out of time to take advantage of the Spa services, but we will catch that next time!

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor and it was lovely as the view is right by the vines. An upstairs room has a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Wow, thank you. You could be our new ambassador for Vintners Inn and Sonoma County. We're delighted that you "found" us and hope you'll come back and visit us again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wandererJL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was lovely. The rooms were quite clean. The grounds are beautiful. The outdoor Hottub and shower and workout area were well kept, welcoming and private. The surrounding vineyards are lovely to walk through and there is a designated path complete with a herd of sheep and some beautiful horses. Great place to stay. Staff was quite attentive.

Room Tip: We chose the Family suite and has a Murphy bed as the second bed.Good choice for family or close fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I attended a meeting that was held at the Vintners Inn. The staff were quite friendly and accommodating, and the condition of the property was immaculate. Advice on room choices is this - some rooms have fireplaces and some have both a fireplace and a soaring ceiling. Some have neither. I did not know there were such dramatic differences when I checked in and received a room that had neither. It was a very nice room in any event, and I appreciated the high end linens and the plush robes. They also provide a split of Ferrari-Carrano wine.

I had breakfast in the small cafe that is right off the lobby and found the service to be very efficient and the menu was just what you would want for breakfast. The group I was with had a very nice dinner at John Ash's, which is the restaurant that is part of the property.

The meeting room was certainly comfortable and throughout the property the wifi was fast and plentiful. And free.

Room Tip: Let them know if you want a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much. So many of our guests first visit the property because they're coming for an on-site business meeting or a wedding and return with their spouse or friends for a getaway. We look forward to seeing you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here November 6-8 for our first visit to the CA wine country. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our room and with the Vintner Inn. I will say that the king bed was not as comfortable as the hotel we stayed in San Francisco --not terrible but too soft for me. There are 4 low rise buildings facing a beautifuly inner courtyard with a fountain. The building and grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed their wonderful breakfast both mornings. The 2 large cookies they provide at turn down were delicious. The front desk is very helpful in planning your winery tour. They will also help you get your wine boxed and shipped back home via a 3rd party company that they work with. There is a marked walking or jogging trail amongst the vineyards. The fitness room is pretty small and faces the pool - only 2 treadmills and 1 eliptical.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to come back. I would definitely recommend the Vintner Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous comments. Next time you visit, and we hope you do return, when you make your reservation ask us to have the feather bed removed or to put in the extra firm mattress on the bed. We have a number of guests who prefer a firmer mattress and usually removing the feather bed works the best. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The grounds, the walk in the vineyard, the room, the roomservice breakfast were all lovely! With many places to choose from, I drove 2 1/2 hours for a quiet getaway night with my daughter (who is expecting). We especially enjoyed a leisurely breakfast and coffee in our beautiful room. We wanted to stay until checkout before a long drive back home, but the persistent LOUD leafblowers outside our window starting by 10AM ruined our quiet, so we left early. The staff at the front desk told me to fill out a comment card, which I mailed. Would have been perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I'm so sorry that the end of your special stay with your daughter was less than satisfactory. I do apologize that our landscaping crew disturbed you. A quick call to the front desk would have ended their leaf blowing duties until after you left. We do allow maintenance to start at 10:00 a.m. with the provision that the guests come first and any complaints will stop their work. With such a large property and so many gardens and a very small crew we thought 10:00 was a reasonable hour for them to begin any loud work. We may have to re-visit this on a case by case basis. Thank you for your input. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Vintners Inn. The room was huge, well apportioned, surrounded by a lovely vinyard.

On the downside, we arrived at 9:39 pm and the kitchen was closed and we were too tired to drive back to Santa Rosa.We ate the snacks in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.