We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't disappoint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Save Saved
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vintners Inn
4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
wandererJL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Doesn't disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was lovely. The rooms were quite clean. The grounds are beautiful. The outdoor Hottub and shower and workout area were well kept, welcoming and private. The surrounding vineyards are lovely to walk through and there is a designated path complete with a herd of sheep and some beautiful horses. Great place to stay. Staff was quite attentive.

Room Tip: We chose the Family suite and has a Murphy bed as the second bed.Good choice for family or close fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    73
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
243
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I attended a meeting that was held at the Vintners Inn. The staff were quite friendly and accommodating, and the condition of the property was immaculate. Advice on room choices is this - some rooms have fireplaces and some have both a fireplace and a soaring ceiling. Some have neither. I did not know there were such dramatic differences when I checked in and received a room that had neither. It was a very nice room in any event, and I appreciated the high end linens and the plush robes. They also provide a split of Ferrari-Carrano wine.

I had breakfast in the small cafe that is right off the lobby and found the service to be very efficient and the menu was just what you would want for breakfast. The group I was with had a very nice dinner at John Ash's, which is the restaurant that is part of the property.

The meeting room was certainly comfortable and throughout the property the wifi was fast and plentiful. And free.

Room Tip: Let them know if you want a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much. So many of our guests first visit the property because they're coming for an on-site business meeting or a wedding and return with their spouse or friends for a getaway. We look forward to seeing you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here November 6-8 for our first visit to the CA wine country. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our room and with the Vintner Inn. I will say that the king bed was not as comfortable as the hotel we stayed in San Francisco --not terrible but too soft for me. There are 4 low rise buildings facing a beautifuly inner courtyard with a fountain. The building and grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed their wonderful breakfast both mornings. The 2 large cookies they provide at turn down were delicious. The front desk is very helpful in planning your winery tour. They will also help you get your wine boxed and shipped back home via a 3rd party company that they work with. There is a marked walking or jogging trail amongst the vineyards. The fitness room is pretty small and faces the pool - only 2 treadmills and 1 eliptical.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to come back. I would definitely recommend the Vintner Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous comments. Next time you visit, and we hope you do return, when you make your reservation ask us to have the feather bed removed or to put in the extra firm mattress on the bed. We have a number of guests who prefer a firmer mattress and usually removing the feather bed works the best. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The grounds, the walk in the vineyard, the room, the roomservice breakfast were all lovely! With many places to choose from, I drove 2 1/2 hours for a quiet getaway night with my daughter (who is expecting). We especially enjoyed a leisurely breakfast and coffee in our beautiful room. We wanted to stay until checkout before a long drive back home, but the persistent LOUD leafblowers outside our window starting by 10AM ruined our quiet, so we left early. The staff at the front desk told me to fill out a comment card, which I mailed. Would have been perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I'm so sorry that the end of your special stay with your daughter was less than satisfactory. I do apologize that our landscaping crew disturbed you. A quick call to the front desk would have ended their leaf blowing duties until after you left. We do allow maintenance to start at 10:00 a.m. with the provision that the guests come first and any complaints will stop their work. With such a large property and so many gardens and a very small crew we thought 10:00 was a reasonable hour for them to begin any loud work. We may have to re-visit this on a case by case basis. Thank you for your input. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Vintners Inn. The room was huge, well apportioned, surrounded by a lovely vinyard.

On the downside, we arrived at 9:39 pm and the kitchen was closed and we were too tired to drive back to Santa Rosa.We ate the snacks in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Right off the Redwood Highway between Santa Rosa and Healdsburg, this peaceful oasis is a great base for exploring the Sonoma Wine Country. The hotel is set amidst the vineyards and has an hacienda charm. My room was large and well-appointed and had a peaceful private patio overlooking the vines. A local vintner provided wines for the complimentary wine tasting at Happy Hour, and the John Ash restaurant on the grounds is very good. The town of Healdsburg is about 8 miles up the road and provides lots of good restaurants, antiquing, and people watching.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit. You must have been here on a Friday to enjoy our local winery wine pour. We don't do this in the late fall and winter unless it's a busy Friday night, so if you're returning, check with the front desk to ask if we've got a winery scheduled. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We expected it to be a good place. We were wrong....it was WAY BETTER than that. As mentioned in other
reviews, do NOT get nervous about the power plant a block away. It disappears the second you enter the
property. It's beautiful. The three buildings were just perfect. Each room is beautiful and has either a patio
or a balcony on the second floor. Since it was for my wife's birthday, they had a special gift (chocolates) and
a card waiting for her. I also ordered the chocolate covered strawberries which were freshly made and brought
to our room. By the way, the staff is beyond incredible: friendly, warm, helpful, just genuinely nice people.

We had a room in bldg two. It had a wonderful view of the vineyard and the court yard. Suddenly, that night,
we lost both the wi-fi and the air conditioner. We wouldn't have noticed but the weather was strangely warm for
November. Without complaining we mentioned it to the manager. (Mike's a great guy that we met on check in.)
He took the charge off our bill AND he moved us to a suite with a fire place. When we came back from a great
day of wine tasting and hiking, (it's perfectly located near so many wonderful spots to visit) we were greeted with a bottle of champagne in our room. Oh, they also give you great chocolate chip cookies when they turn down the bed at night. In the morning there's always fresh coffee waiting right outside your door in the alcove of each building.

Overall, we cannot say enough good things about the Vintner Inn. This will always be our home away from home
when we travel up from LA to the wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.