We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Save Saved
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintners Inn
4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Vintners Inn. The room was huge, well apportioned, surrounded by a lovely vinyard.

On the downside, we arrived at 9:39 pm and the kitchen was closed and we were too tired to drive back to Santa Rosa.We ate the snacks in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    77
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
249
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Right off the Redwood Highway between Santa Rosa and Healdsburg, this peaceful oasis is a great base for exploring the Sonoma Wine Country. The hotel is set amidst the vineyards and has an hacienda charm. My room was large and well-appointed and had a peaceful private patio overlooking the vines. A local vintner provided wines for the complimentary wine tasting at Happy Hour, and the John Ash restaurant on the grounds is very good. The town of Healdsburg is about 8 miles up the road and provides lots of good restaurants, antiquing, and people watching.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit. You must have been here on a Friday to enjoy our local winery wine pour. We don't do this in the late fall and winter unless it's a busy Friday night, so if you're returning, check with the front desk to ask if we've got a winery scheduled. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We expected it to be a good place. We were wrong....it was WAY BETTER than that. As mentioned in other
reviews, do NOT get nervous about the power plant a block away. It disappears the second you enter the
property. It's beautiful. The three buildings were just perfect. Each room is beautiful and has either a patio
or a balcony on the second floor. Since it was for my wife's birthday, they had a special gift (chocolates) and
a card waiting for her. I also ordered the chocolate covered strawberries which were freshly made and brought
to our room. By the way, the staff is beyond incredible: friendly, warm, helpful, just genuinely nice people.

We had a room in bldg two. It had a wonderful view of the vineyard and the court yard. Suddenly, that night,
we lost both the wi-fi and the air conditioner. We wouldn't have noticed but the weather was strangely warm for
November. Without complaining we mentioned it to the manager. (Mike's a great guy that we met on check in.)
He took the charge off our bill AND he moved us to a suite with a fire place. When we came back from a great
day of wine tasting and hiking, (it's perfectly located near so many wonderful spots to visit) we were greeted with a bottle of champagne in our room. Oh, they also give you great chocolate chip cookies when they turn down the bed at night. In the morning there's always fresh coffee waiting right outside your door in the alcove of each building.

Overall, we cannot say enough good things about the Vintner Inn. This will always be our home away from home
when we travel up from LA to the wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A delightful hotel belonging to the Ferrari Carano wine company set among vineyards yet convenient to the city and main road access. Generous proportioned rooms with all mod cons including working fireplaces. Free wifi throughout . Lovely grounds and gardens with a separate hot tub and gym area. All in all a great base to visit this attractive region and only 50 miles from San Francisco. An excellent restaurant on site with a celebrity chef. Very good not too expensive wine list

Room Tip: All rooms in separate buildings with small terraces or balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband purchased a TravelZoo voucher for a night at Vintners Inn that included $100 dining credit at John Ash & Co., the on-site restaurant, plus tasting passes for two for three wineries, a split bottle of wine in the room, and continental breakfast. The value was $450 with a base value of $199. The stay was good Sunday through Thursday only. Unfortunately, I was unable to take time off work for take advantage of the promotion prior to it expiring. Since then I have been laid off and now I have plenty of time, but not so much discretionary income.

I called the Inn to see what they could do for me. Turns out they would not honor any of the promotional offers and would only apply the $199 towards a room; however, their cheapest room was $235 plus tax. I asked if we would use the voucher in the restaurant instead, and they steadfastly refused. I don't understand this. They have our money, but they won't let us use the credit as we see fit. I was completely turned off by their lack of customer care. I explained my situation, but apparently the people at Vintners Inn have no heart.

My unemployment situation is temporary, but my disappointment in this property will last much, MUCH longer. Very short-sighted way of dealing with customers in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Tina, I'm so sorry to hear you were laid off and hope that, as you said, it's just temporary. I understand your frustration but your voucher was purchased in November, 2011 and was valid from December 1st through March 30, 2012. Other guests who have purchased a Travelzoo voucher and can't make it within the dates offered usually find a date within a week or two of the expiration and we have honored the full package. After that we offer the dollar amount you paid to Travelzoo so you don't lose your initial investment - similar to a gift certificate. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just got back from a stay at Vintners. It was recommended to us by a Santa Rosa resident. It was a very nice place. Had the feel of a nice cozy place. We had a fireplace room with a great view of the courtyard and it was beautiful. We only stayed one night and wished we had time for more. I would stay again in a heartbeat. The staff was excellent and very attentive. I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

On our recent stay to California we stayed at a real Gem called the Vintners Inn. It turned out that it was a perfect place to return to after our days in wine country. We were able to try all the restaurants on ground. While they were very different in what they offer we still managed to find our favorite as we returned often.
The grounds were exquisite, well crafted, well maintained. We stayed in a king suite. It had a balconie, fireplace and a comfy kingsize bed.
It is nice to have such a great staff of people, it really does say a lot about your establishment.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.