We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'What a Gem"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vintners Inn to your Saves list
Vintners Inn
4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“'What a Gem"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

On our recent stay to California we stayed at a real Gem called the Vintners Inn. It turned out that it was a perfect place to return to after our days in wine country. We were able to try all the restaurants on ground. While they were very different in what they offer we still managed to find our favorite as we returned often.
The grounds were exquisite, well crafted, well maintained. We stayed in a king suite. It had a balconie, fireplace and a comfy kingsize bed.
It is nice to have such a great staff of people, it really does say a lot about your establishment.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    78
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
261
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Vintners and loved our stay there. It is at the northern tip of Santa Rosa and very close to highway (but still quiet). Room was beautiful and spacious. The second floor rooms have vaulted ceilings, dedicated balconies and a fireplace. The grounds are immaculate and located beside a vineyard. Shopping and restaurant choces (besides the one on site) is an easy drive away, but not much within walking distance. A good base for exploring Sonoma Valley, Napa Valley, and north Sonoma. AWESOME cookies provided every night at turndown. You'll enjoy your stay here if you like a beautiful property with good service and a quiet area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great stay in room 410. King fireplace with balcony on the 2nd floor and a view of the vine yard. Complimentary half bottle of Fume Blanc before our dinner at John Ash. Large room with vaulted ceiling and wooden beams. Comfy bed and classy, tradional furnishings and colors. The complimentary breakfast was divine. We will return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 410 on the 2nd floor with a view of the vineyard. Corner suite with a king bed and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love this part of wine country. It is (in my opinion) far superior to the Napa Valley, with a lot of fantastic small wineries, and some excellent drinks to be had.

That makes the Vintners Inn an excellent place to stay. It's close to Santa Rosa, and only a few miles from Healdsburg, which is a great town. The hotel is in a pleasant setting, and the buildings are very nice and well designed.

The room was, for the most part, excellent. Very large, with an excellent bathroom, and a reasonably comfy bed (only reasonably though - it was pretty firm for my taste).

There are however a couple of things that let this place down. In the morning, I was surprised to find no coffee making facilities in the room. It turns out there is coffee out in the lobby area (the rooms are in separate buildings, so this was the lobby for our building, not the main lobby), but no decaf, and the coffee itself was pretty poor quality. I don't expect to need to get dressed to be able to go and get my morning coffee. The second thing, which seems trivial, but really lets the hotel down, was the iron, which is attached to the ironing board with a security lock.

A security lock on an iron? Is this a Motel 6? I know it seems both trivial and petty, but it really left me wondering where I was staying - does this place really think so little of it's customers that they think we would want to steal the iron?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your mostly good comments. As I may have responded to some others who would love coffee in their room, we may consider it when we find the right coffee pot that doesn't take up too much counter space and doesn't smell like stale coffee. I really don't think any of our guests want to pack the iron. It's to prevent the few guests who have in the past placed the hot iron on the duvet or carpet, face down. I know it seems trivial but not only has this ruined bedding and carpeting, it's dangerous. I do appreciate your feedback though and hope you'll visit us again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This gorgeous inn is in the midst of vineyards, away from the main road yet 10min from anything you will need. The views are breathtaking. I felt like I was in Italy. The John Ash restaurant has amazing upscale food and scenery. The inn is made up of approx 4 seperate 2 story inns, which means there was approx 8 rooms per bldg. This made it so much quieter than your standard hotel room, and much more quaint and romantic. The air conditioning is central air so there is no noise from that to keep you awake. The fireplace was nice and cozy and worth the extra cost, in our opinion,for the crisp evenings. The outdoor hot tub area was nice and private. I wanted to stay in a place where I would actually feel like I was in Sonoma Valley, and this was the most perfect place. The quiet inns and the cleanliness, along with the gorgeous views of vineyards and mountains made it well worth every penny. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200 bldg in the back were quiet and had the view of the vineyards. The little patio wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Wow, thank you. I love hearing about our guest's stay and hoping that we had a small part in making your vacation a memorable one. We look forward to greeting you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights ending on October 9th, and as is the norm, we had a 5 star experience. This is the 6th time we've stayed here in the past few years, and we've always had a great experience. We had an upstairs fireplace room this time, with a balcony. Room was super, both in size and cleansliness. Very modern with a great view of the vinyard too. The staff is great, and offered us some great tips and discounts at some of the area wineries; they really go all out to make this a wonderful experience. Country breakfast is very excellent too, as is the location; very close to downtown Santa Rosa, Healdsburg, and Bodega Bay, not to mention great new wineries that we tried in Sebastapol. No better place to stay in Wine Country than the Vinterner's Inn, absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Vintners Inn. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and have balconies. We have stayed here a couple of times on our trips to Sonoma. It is close to many wineries and restaurants. The adjacent vineyard is a nice touch. This is one of my favorite places to stay when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you. We always look forward to welcoming back return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintners Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.