We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Prix Fix dinner in the wine country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 29

Bistro 29
620 5th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-4411
707-546-2929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 29 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 448 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riley Street
Transit: Downtown transit mall is three blocks away, taxis and pedi-cabs available.
Description: Bistro 29 located in downtown Santa Rosa, Sonoma County. Bistro 29 is a traditional bistro specializing in “Breton” regional cuisine. The number 29 comes from the department of Finistère (end of the earth) located in the upper tip of north-west France. Known for the Galette de blé noir (traditional buckwheat crêpe) and sweet crêpes, Bretagne also uses a variety of local seafood and produce that can easily be found in and around northern California.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Prix Fix dinner in the wine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The chefs prix fix dinner is not to be missed. Make sure you include the wine paring in your order. We enjoyed a tomato bisque soup, salad with Point Reyes blue cheese with a delicate french white wine. The entree of lamb collar, potato croquette and chard was the main entree paired with an exceptional french malbec. Desert was a braised pear with homemade ice cream.

What a wonderful experience! All for $29.00 for the meal and $11.00 for the wine paring.. Delicious. Included in all this wonderfulness is a delightful staff and a warm and inviting atmosphere. Check it out, let the chef decide your gastronomical fate..you will be pleased.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
633 reviews 633 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“And Once Again I am delighted with my meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I just love this place! A special girl-firend treated me to dinner for my 65th BD. We left our husbands home for an evening. We both had the $29 three course dinner with a paring of two wines for $11. The amuse was a tomato base with a parmesan crust and served in shot glasses. The Salad, butter lettuce with fine dice of green apples and blue cheese. The main course lamb collar, tender, juicy, tasty and served with potato croquettes, and very tasty greens. The sauce was so good I treated the potato dish to it and savored the flavors in my mouth. Dessert was a grilled peach with house made vanilla ice cream. The wines were well paired and enough for us as we were going to the SRT for a musical. I always enjoy my meals here and the adventure of the Tues-Thurs Prix Fixe it is always such a good dollar value, and I will be back!!!!! BTW, Chef-owner, Brian is a chef with a friendly, down to earth approach!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Recommended to us by Josh at VJB tasting room. VJB is wonderful by the way!
Bistro 29 crepes were Fantastic! Goat cheese salad a delight! Service was helpful and personable! Salmon entre was delish, can't wait for our next trip to wine country so we can come back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expected Great Food but only got Mediocre Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Went here recently with much anticipation and excitement. An actual gourmet restaurant in Santa Rosa? Well that is what they claim but the food fell short. The seasoning was poorly done, the fish was overcooked, and they couldn't even do Escargot properly. How hard is it to make a typical Escargot preparation with butter and garlic? Nothing tasted good enough for me to ever return. Don't waste your money on this spot.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“prix fixe is on Tue, Wed, Thurs; delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Walked downtown to this wonderful prix fixe meal:
Amuse Bouche: Crispy Buckweat Crêpe Dentelle with a salad of smoked scallops & shrimp
First Course: Spring Onion & Fennel Tart with gruyère cheese & arugula
Second Course: Oven Roasted Brined Pork Chop with fingerling potatoes, Rogue River Smokey Blue cheese, hazelnut ramesco & natural jus
Dessert: Sablé Breton with chocolate-fromage blanc mousse & Grand Marnier strawberries
The wine pairing was perfect. Scrumptious meal. Busy restaurant, but low noise allowed great conversation with tablemate. Fine service.
 

 

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 29 also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bistro 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 29, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.