We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campground, potential to be really good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Ranch KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Paula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ventura Ranch KOA
Save
You added Ventura Ranch KOA to your Saves list
7400 Pine Grove Road, Santa Paula, CA 93060 (Formerly Farwest Resorts RV Park & Campground)   |  
Hotel amenities
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good campground, potential to be really good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed over 4th of July weekend. Stayed at a cabin here a year ago, and this was our first visit using our trailer. We were surprised to find out they changed our reservation without any notice. It ended up working out to our advantage, our new spot had a lot more shade. Overall, the grounds are maintained and the staff is friendly. They are still building here and there, including a new pool that looks like it will be nice once it is open. The zip line is fun, short but fun. Kids loved the jumping area, peddle cars, and the climbing wall. There is enough nature to here to give you the 'away from it' feeling. It is quite at night, even on a holiday weekend. We had no problem sleeping. There is a lot of dusty dirt as other reviewers indicate, but I feel it's no more than any other place. There are a variety of different style of lots and I would look closely before you reserve. Dump station is right up front, and will create a line of trailers to get out on a Sunday. Only complaint would be the teenagers that felt it ok to walk through our site without regard for us. Perhaps they needed a brush up on camping etiquette. Wifi was useless.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the rustic Oak Grove camping area and it was nasty. Bathrooms were extremely dirty, noise all parts of the day and night and every car that drove into campground raised a cloud of dust. We have stayed in rustic campgrounds all over California and this was by far the worst. We called the office to report loud voices and music at 11:00 and there was no answer. Pool that was promised this summer is no where near complete. Zip line rides are expensive and staff running the ride were rude and not concerned with children's safety. Won't stay here ever again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

These tent camp sites are all dirt. No grass at all. It is a very powdery,dusty type of dirt, it gets everywhere. We stayed in the rivers edge camp site number 3. This camp site definitely needs a swimming pool. It gets really hot, so we drove to the beach. 30 min, drive. Our kids loved it though, jumping pillow was a hit, great playground. Next time will stay in a tipi. Looks much easier-
The river behind the place is fun, but I wouldn't let my kids swim in it, looks dirty, and stagnant. Bathrooms were fine. Another thing my husband and I noticed is that nobody watched their kids. We saw 2 year olds wandering around- crazy parents...don't even watch their kids. Was fairly quiet-

Room Tip: Get a tipi or cabin- tent camping a dirty mess-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in a tent site in Hidden Point for 4 nights during Easter week (Tue-Fri nights).

Let's start with the good things.
1. Location is good. Not adjacent to a noisy freeway, easy access to go north to Ojai or south to Santa Paula/Hwy 126 corridor to adventure further east or west to the beaches.
2. Kids had a blast with all the multitude of activities available, communing with other kids, adventuring for Big Foot along the creek, observing the peacocks. The pool will be a popular activity when completed.

Now for the not so good.
1. Pretty dirty. Granted, I come from an area in N CA with pristine camping opportunities. The "driveway" through the lower campground (new since the place became a KOA about 5 years ago) is dirt and very dusty. Most campers went pretty slow but some of the employees did not and it makes quite a dust cloud that blows over the sites. Also (shockingly), a lot of people leave their trash along the creek. My husband and two boys grabbed the first discarded ice bag they laid eyes on in the creek and within minutes had filled it with trash from the creek and the creek banks in just a matter of about 50 feet. The bathrooms in this lower campground area were run-down and dirty, the sink cleaning station, while a very nice feature, was never cleaned during our stay nor was it clean on our arrival.
2. The management is not real great. (All the young employees working the front desk were great, though). Here are some examples.
a. I reported there were two out of four light bulbs burned out in the women's restroom. No action taken during the four days. This made it pretty dark in this windowless restroom if you weren't in a stall with a working light.
b. There is just one restroom facility in the lower campground. It is a modular building that has seen it's prime. It has male and female restrooms with just 2 any-gender showers. When the pool is complete (should be this month) it will become woefully inadequate, filthy, and quickly dilapidated if they don't build a permanent structure, which doesn't appear to be the plan.
c. The restroom was without hot water for nearly 20 hours. Several guests had advised the office but results did not occur in a timely manner. I headed to the neighboring campground loop- The Oaks - it also lacked hot water. No signage there either. I headed to the next showers in Pine loop - finally. And what a nice facility. The quality of it over the lower was astounding. High rent district is the place to be. I was glad to find it but not pleased to be completing my 5 year old's shower at 9:pm and going through such a run-around.
d. The restroom was out of service for over 24 hours for construction - they were lowering the height of the modular. There was no advance notice at registration, no signed notice, no signs advising where to go instead. The arrival of porta-potties was the only hint there would be no service.
e. There was a 5 year old boy that received significant bruising to his neck when he went down a "closed" slide. It was caution-taped off heavily at the bottom but not the top. The kid din't realize it was closed when he got on at the top. I would have had a freak out if this happened to my kid. I scrounged up some tape and put a single strand at the top and advised management of the issue and that it needed better taping than I was able to jury rig or something else to close it off. 24 hr later it was still not addressed.
f. There were some real issues with the guys doing the construction on the bathrooms and pool. The short version is they were rude, disrespectful, and a real detriment to guest satisfaction. It was eventually reported to management when it became intolerable. I am unaware of how it was handled but it is obvious these guys either had no idea that they represent KOA when at work or they did not care. Very poor atmosphere and not family friendly.
g. Bike racks in the kids play area, restrooms, pool, Big Foot trail head would be wonderful.
h. Too many charges for some of the activities. I get it for the zip line but not the pedal cars.

Again, the kids had a fantastic time. And we parents really enjoyed the quality family time together. But it really feels like this place's focus is on their upper RV park and the Glamour Cabins, which I am sure are the real bread winners. The tipi are pretty cool and they each have either a deck or patio around them which makes things cleaner but you could almost get a motel and you might as well go Glamour Cabin at that point and have a private bathroom. The good thing about the Hidden Point, River's Edge, and tipi village is the proximity to the action. If you have little kids it makes it easy to supervise them while they are in the center of the fun area which means more enjoyable for you.

I guess all-in-all, this place just didn't meet my expectations of KOA standards.

One last thing to know, this is an easy get away for LA and points south. It was full and a bit more lively (rambunctious almost) on the weekend and quiet and roomy during the week.

Room Tip: Glamour Cabins GS1-GS4 are the cat's meow in regards to location if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We love love love the tipi tents. If you have never slept in one, you must try! It is a great experience. We slept in the large one and the medium size. Both are very spacious. We had a great time! Our children enjoyed the jumping pillow, rock climbing, rock painting, and making tie-dyes. Keep in mind that all of this cost money, so check the pricing if this is a concern. We did not do the zipline because it is super expensive! I highly rec this campground for families because of all the activities for children. The bathrooms in edgepoint are very stinky and gross because they are currently under construction (along with the pool), but it is pretty easy to drive to the top of the hill and use the nicer bathrooms by the office. I rec going on a weekday if you want to avoid crowds and noice. We went during the summer in August and it was a little noisy, however we just went again Sep 5th and the campground was pretty much empty! No noise, except for crickets. This time we slept in a tent trailer. Only 30 minutes from the beach (rec marina beach)

Room Tip: Campsite #12 in riveredge has a swing, very shady, and lots of room! If you are sleeping in a tipi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a tent campsite reserved in Oak Meadows for 3 nights starting on Thursday on Labor Day weekend. Thursday night the campsite was nearly empty and we had a pretty enjoyable time. The only complaint was that the shower. It was pretty disgusting with cobwebs and spiders and had no ventilation and lukewarm water was as warm as it got. It didn't look like anyone really maintained the shower (only one of the two was working) which was in contrast to the bathroom which was actually very clean and well maintained.

On Friday our neighbors arrived and were ready to party. They played music until 2am despite the "quiet time" policy that is supposed to be in place after 10pm. No one from KOA came by to ask them to turn it off. We asked them to turn it down/off at 1am and they actually turned it up instead. We had a boat tour that left the harbor at 8am the next morning and so we decided that when we returned that we would just pack up and move somewhere else so that we could get some rest rather than have another restless night with the noisy neighbors. Ultimately, we gave up our last night even though we paid for it which made for an expensive 2 night campsite. If you are tent camping and want to party through the night then this place is definitely the place for you. If you prefer to get some sleep at night then you should probably look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely campground with lots to do...especially for kids. They have zip line, rock climbing, hiking, tee pees and other nightly events. Seems wonderful for family or young persons' get aways. We got a very nice lot with shade, grass, trees, etc.

The personal here are accommodating, friendly and helpful.

On the flip side, the cable didn't work and the internet was not as strong as I needed to simply download pictures. In addition, campers must pay for WIFI for any time over 2 hours in a 24-hour period. In this day and age, that is not right.

Therefore, if I could give this KOA a 3.5, I would.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ventura Ranch KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Ranch KOA

Address: 7400 Pine Grove Road, Santa Paula, CA 93060 (Formerly Farwest Resorts RV Park & Campground)
Location: United States > California > Santa Paula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Santa Paula
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Info Email ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Ranch KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.