We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice looking entrance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carmel to your Saves list
Hotel Carmel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location and nice looking entrance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel Carmel in May 2013, 2 Couples aged 26-28. We were looking for a great location but something nice. We tried to book into lots of different hotels last minute but had no joy being a weekend. This was the only one vacant.

We were impressed by the entrance of the hotel and the valet parking but the rooms did not match the same standard. We had a family room which had 1 front door, 2 internal doors with seperate bedrooms (which were a little dark) and 1 bathroom. We were there for one night and found it acceptable but nothing special. But it wasnt dirty or uncomfortable. The amount we paid was resonable for what we got as we had seen other options that were more expensive and of a very poor standard.

Could not fault the loaction SUPERB! Within walking distance to the beach, pier, shopping and restaurants. Loved Santa Monica - Beautiful Beach.

Room Tip: Noisy generator outside lots of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    165
    176
    109
    97
See reviews for
110
221
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel one block from the beach in santa monica. Its right in the heart the restaurants, shops etc. The hotel is a wee bit old and in need of a bit of a makeover. The hallways were a bit smelly and creaky but the room was good. All staff were very helpful and accommodating. Pretty good price considering the location. Comfy bed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location within a block of the ocean and the Santa Monica Pier, great shopping and restaurants. The staff is helpful, rooms are clean, and beds comfortable. The hotel needs updating, especially the bathrooms. We are visiting family here and so this meets our basic needs for accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear AKACohen,

Thanks for all your positive feedback. Your constructive comments regarding the hotel needing updating are acknowledged as well. As a historic hotel, our bathrooms are on the small side and we are very limited by the building design and configuration of our guest rooms to make many changes or upgrades. However, we do very much respect your opinions and we will keep your comments in mind as we review what upgrades we might be able to accomplish. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Small fabulous location in the heart of santa monica. If you want to walk to everything this is a perfect place. Nothing fancy. Bare bones accommodations. So just get out and about. Staff pleasant and accommodating. Parking rate of $14 a day is a steal includes valet. The price is very economical.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Beachway34242,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I really appreciate you mentioning that our service was accommodating and the fact that you can walk to all the attractions from our location. I also wanted to thank you for mentioning our economical pricing. We strive to provide as much value as possible and keep our rates as reasonable as possible for our valued guests. We hope your travel plans include a return trip to Santa Monica and we can welcome you back to Hotel Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel was located in a great spot in Santa Monica. The staff did above what we had expected.
After a 15 hr long haul flght and arriving at the hotel at around 6am the staff quick had a room ready for us to check into approx 9 hrs before we were ment to be able to check in!!! this was such a nice experience to be able to shower and rest. The staff very friendly and helpfull. The room was fine. I would stay here agin and i would recomend other to do the same. a very short walk to the pier and to the 3rd street shopping. there are some great bars near.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words regarding the service from our team. I was very happy to learn that we were able to accommodate your check in at 6 am in the morning after a long flight. Thanks for mentioning our location as well. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica and we hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and we knew when we booked that it wasnt going to be luxurious but decided that we were not going to be in the hotel all day so would rather have the money to spend. When you consider the price of the hotel as compared to some of its neighbours I think it represents good value. We had a room overlooking the street and yes it is small and quite old fashioned but it was clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic. You have to ask yourself what you want and then make your choice. But if like us you are only going to use it as a place to rest your head then it is definitely worth it.
Parking $14 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Georgie6767,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging the Hotel Carmel was clean and comfortable and represented a good value for Santa Monica. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Been there 1 year ago. Everything clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.Location is perfect. easy walking distance to 3rd street promenade and santa monica pier.

Also enjoyed the free breakfast.

Would come back definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello Denis L,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you mentioning that the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. Safe travels back to Zurich. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.