We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, affordable but in need of upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carmel to your Saves list
Hotel Carmel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, affordable but in need of upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location within a block of the ocean and the Santa Monica Pier, great shopping and restaurants. The staff is helpful, rooms are clean, and beds comfortable. The hotel needs updating, especially the bathrooms. We are visiting family here and so this meets our basic needs for accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear AKACohen,

Thanks for all your positive feedback. Your constructive comments regarding the hotel needing updating are acknowledged as well. As a historic hotel, our bathrooms are on the small side and we are very limited by the building design and configuration of our guest rooms to make many changes or upgrades. However, we do very much respect your opinions and we will keep your comments in mind as we review what upgrades we might be able to accomplish. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    190
    192
    114
    100
See reviews for
120
246
52
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Small fabulous location in the heart of santa monica. If you want to walk to everything this is a perfect place. Nothing fancy. Bare bones accommodations. So just get out and about. Staff pleasant and accommodating. Parking rate of $14 a day is a steal includes valet. The price is very economical.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Beachway34242,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I really appreciate you mentioning that our service was accommodating and the fact that you can walk to all the attractions from our location. I also wanted to thank you for mentioning our economical pricing. We strive to provide as much value as possible and keep our rates as reasonable as possible for our valued guests. We hope your travel plans include a return trip to Santa Monica and we can welcome you back to Hotel Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel was located in a great spot in Santa Monica. The staff did above what we had expected.
After a 15 hr long haul flght and arriving at the hotel at around 6am the staff quick had a room ready for us to check into approx 9 hrs before we were ment to be able to check in!!! this was such a nice experience to be able to shower and rest. The staff very friendly and helpfull. The room was fine. I would stay here agin and i would recomend other to do the same. a very short walk to the pier and to the 3rd street shopping. there are some great bars near.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words regarding the service from our team. I was very happy to learn that we were able to accommodate your check in at 6 am in the morning after a long flight. Thanks for mentioning our location as well. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica and we hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and we knew when we booked that it wasnt going to be luxurious but decided that we were not going to be in the hotel all day so would rather have the money to spend. When you consider the price of the hotel as compared to some of its neighbours I think it represents good value. We had a room overlooking the street and yes it is small and quite old fashioned but it was clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic. You have to ask yourself what you want and then make your choice. But if like us you are only going to use it as a place to rest your head then it is definitely worth it.
Parking $14 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Georgie6767,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging the Hotel Carmel was clean and comfortable and represented a good value for Santa Monica. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Been there 1 year ago. Everything clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.Location is perfect. easy walking distance to 3rd street promenade and santa monica pier.

Also enjoyed the free breakfast.

Would come back definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello Denis L,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you mentioning that the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. Safe travels back to Zurich. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, your back door is the 3rd Promenade and out your front door is the beach. The hotel is a little difficult at start with pulling up to the front of hotel but they handle it well. The front desk doesn't seem to care one way or the other if you are there but that shouldn't be a deal breaker. This is a bare bones hotel, no bells and whistles, the beds were older and the pillows were flat and the rooms were small. Breakfast is not for the health conscious but seriously, location can't be beat!

Room Tip: Not sure you have a choice but they only have one small elevator and the stairs are steep so keep th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Molly G,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your comments both positive and constructive are very important to me. I was glad that you found our location ideal for your visit to Santa Monica. I was disappointed to learn that my front desk team left you with the impression that we didn’t care. I’m not sure who you interacted with but we care very much that you selected Hotel Carmel. You were our guest and you gave us an opportunity to be of service. I’m very sorry we left you with a poor impression of our appreciation for staying with us. I will be sharing your review with my team as part of our ongoing evaluation of guest service. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. What a mistake. Upon check-in, the front desk girl was not friendly at all. She gave us a king bed, which is what we paid for but when we got to the room I couldn't believe what I saw. The room was so small, no place to put anything, the bathroom had no counter space, the lighting was horrible, the smell was musty and not pleasant at all and the view was of air conditioning units and to top it off our air conditioner didn't work. I went to the front desk and a maintenance man (very nice guy) came back to the room with me but he could not fix the problem. He came with me again to the front desk and he told them it could not be fixed. They moved us to a room in the front, street-side of the hotel but this time with two queen beds. Our anniversary and we have two beds!!! It was clean, I will give it that but that's all it had going for it. The street noise was terrible and again, no counter space and bad lighting. The walls were so paper thin we could hear everything our neighbors were doing including the room above us when they walked around. This is a very old hotel with much needed updating. The location is ok but don't waste your hard-earned money booking a room here. It's very depressing. It will ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear richgail22,

Ouch! I was very discouraged to read your review. It sounds like we really dropped the ball on what was a very special occasion for you. Please allow me to personally apologize for the issues you encountered. I would also respectfully request that you contact me personally regarding your stay with us because I think you deserve a personal resolution rather than just a reply to your post. You can reach me at 310-451-2469 or through our website on the contact us page. Thanks, and again, my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#14 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.