We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Location location location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is not the finest hotel although the furnishings are interesting. We found the staff very friendly and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Situated a few minutes walk from the pier the location could not be better. For those without to much luggage and an adventurous nature you can get to the hotel by bus from Los Angeles Airport (International) for one dollar. The bus trip takes 45 minutes and is fantastic value for money as a cab will cost you 45/50 dollars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Wanderer191255,

Thanks for your review and many thanks for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We hope to see you again if your travel plans include a visit to Santa Monica in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    140
    140
    98
    91
See reviews for
98
181
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Room was very basic and quite small and the staff were not very friendly, especially at check in.
The electrics in the room were pretty dodgy.
Bed was comfortable and the cleaners wre very friendly and helpful.
Our stay was very noisy, over looking the service alley and lots of commotion through the nights.
Top location though Wouldn't stay again

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Roz W,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with noise and electrical during your stay. However, I was really troubled to learn that members of our front desk team were not very friendly. That is unacceptable for our hotel and I will reinforce our guest service standards with them immediately. I do appreciate you mentioning that our room attendants were helpful and friendly to you during your stay and that our hotel’s location worked well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel - was going to stay for two nights but cut it short as i could not face having to spend another night in a smelly room, with a tv that has about 3 working channels and a bed that had the saggiest mattress i have slept on in some time.

Obviously the location is perfect and actually the service is good as well. Very friendly people that are willing to help with everything. Finally valet parking is cheap which is a big plus as well.

However, at the end of the day the feeling of sinking away in a very old mattress with horrible pillows (the ones that feel like they have been there since the 70s) simply was not an experience i would like to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jelle D,

I appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience with us. It was disappointing to learn that you had an issue with one of our beds because they are fairly new and should not be sagging. In addition, I apologize if there was some type of unpleasant odor in your room. I’m out of the office until Friday, but I promise you that I will follow up on your comments and will address the issues you brought to our attention. If I can be of service to you, I can be reached at 310-451-2465 or by email at angela@hotelcarmel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fantastically located for the pier, beach, restaurants and shops but we didn't notice any noise. There is valet parking only which was a bit pricey but not unexpected in such a central location. We were on our honeymoon so got upgraded to a lovely big room with a separate living room. The pastries and coffee in the lobby were good. A few areas of the hotel needed a bit of an upgrade but otherwise a great place and we loved our time in Santa Monica! x

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear LittleSparrow81

Thank you for for your nice comments and thank you for staying with us.We hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon. We look foward to seeing you again when you are in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

cant beat this hotel for location, one block from beach, from thirds street promenade, straight across from santa monica one shopping centre, nice area, easy bus access to all of LA (yes I said BUS in LA) Small basis hotel, cheap for the area, nice reception and very helpful staff, (even when asked about the bus!!), pastries and coffee for breakfast in lobby, rooms small, with problems with light switching on and off during night due to remove controls which operate them so when the room next door switched on their light yours switched off. Not the most amazing hotel in the world but to get a value hotel in a nice area without the city athmosphere of LA was really good.

Room Tip: we were advised to ask for quiet room away for air con units and we had not problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Bgtraveller,

I'm glad to hear that our location worked out well for you and I'm very happy to hear that our staff was very helpful to you. I'm sorry that you experienced problems with our light switches. I will have our engineering team look into that to determine what the problem was. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June, 2012. While the amenities were average (bathroom could have used major updating and no blow dryer or other amenities), the hotel is in a very good location (minutes from the beach and shopping streets and restaurants) and the staff were accommodating. We are returning in April.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a busy location and so we did hear music from some venues on the neighboring blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear AKACohen,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I was happy to hear that you loved our location and value and that the staff were accommodating.We are working on updating some of our bathrooms and we are planning on making changes to our current bathroom amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a decent place to crash in the heart of it all in Santa Monica, but aren't too hung up on amenities or untra-cleanliness, then I'd really recommend this place. It's the cheapest by far in the area, which I think excuses its shortcomings. A friend and I stayed here while on a road trip through California and it was perfect. Steps to everything Santa Monica has to offer, and relatively inexpensive.
That said, if I went back with my girlfriend we'd stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.