We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all about the location of the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Yeppoon Qld Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Its all about the location of the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in September 2012. The person that checked us in was not very friendly or helpful, the main light in our room did not work and was not fixed while we were there, even though we told the front desk twice about this defect. Also the fan had a mind of its own it would turn off for no reason. The room was of an acceptable standard but the location was the standout of this hotel, one block from the Santa Monica Pier, one block from 3rd street mall and across the street from a shopping centre

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Please allow me to apologize for the less than welcoming reception during your check in. That is disappointing to hear and I will personally address that with my team. I’m also disappointed that we did not get your light repaired after two requests. I would like to thank you for mentioning our location. We believe we have the best location in Santa Monica. From our hotel you can walk to all the attractions within minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    140
    140
    98
    91
See reviews for
98
181
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 and found it to be more than adequate for our needs.

The location is just fantastic - very close to the shops and one block from the beach. You cannot beat it.

The hotel itself is a little old but if you want something new - pay more money! The hotel itself is very very clean and tidy. The reception staff were fantastic with nothing to much hassle.

We were on the 4th floor, with our room on the street side. It was a little noisy the first night but being so close to bars and the street you have to expect that. The room itself was very tidy and clean with two double beds. The room was quite compact but it suited our needs.

We did try the complimentary breakfast - juice, coffee & muffins. Great for grabbing on the run when you are off for a busy day. If you want a more comprehensive breakfast the cafe next door has a good menu at a reasonable price.

We would definately stay here again - as stated you can't beat the location and the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope we will see you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Firstly whilst the address is 201 Broadway, the hotel entrance is on 2nd street. Yes, its a corner but if I'd known that I would not have driven past it twice!
It's a historic building and not at all modern, but it's nice. I agree with other comments that whilst 'breakfast' is included it is pastries and coffee, no fruit, no bread, croissants, just sweet pastries and muffins.Surley easily improved.
Our room at the back was a noise disaster with powerwashing of lane and roadworks at midnight and binmen at 6.00am. Maybe the price you pay for such a good location but we asked for an Ocean view for next night and were transferred to suite on 4th floor with ocean view and little/no noise.
I was disappointed that I was unaware of valet only parking at a price - little alternative.
All said it is an old hotel with its own characteristics - spotlessly clean - and it is all about location, and this is where it scores.

Room Tip: Room at the front - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

we were a little worried, was this faulty towers all over again, HOWEVER we warmed to the place as the time progressed. Considering it is a historic building we decided to re-label it quirky!!!! The coffee, tea, muffins and pastries in the foyer each morning a very nice touch. Help with getting boarding passes printed by a very nice man at reception much appreciated. YES if in town I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not a fancy hotel but amazing location. One block back from the font and two blocks from all the shops and restaurants.

Hotel is not fancy but the price is incredibly reasonable.

Breakfast is included but poor. Only pastries and coffee - no cereal, fruit etc. Could be improved?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great hotel if you're on a budget and want to stay in the centre of Santa Monica. It's in an excellent location with great restaurants and bars on its doorstep! It's also just one block away from the beach and very close to the pier. The hotel itself is old and dated - could do with a hell of a make over but we found our room to be very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Yes the rooms are small and the ceiling fan does have a mind of its own but I really think for the price and for Santa Monica it is a great place to stay for location alone. We also found the staff to be very helpful with valet parking and booking a LA city tour. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you obviously can't afford to stay at one of the more plusher and more luxurious hotels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapelleaandenIjssel
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having read all the reviews on trip advisor I wasn't very optimistic about the hotel in our roundtrip on the west coast.
We got a suite on the 4th floor, with a nice view on the street. Staying with a family of 4 in the hotel, you might consider booking a suite, which gives you just that extra space you need. The fan in the bedroom had a mind of it's own and went on and of by itsself at night. The rooms were very clean. For a coffee and an orange juice the breakfast is ok, if you have a big appetite you need to go to an restaurant.
There are a lot of good restaurants in the area. Do you like a good Italian, just walk up to the Santa Monica pier. Just before you cross the street on the corner there is Il Fornaio, great food and good wine. For an expensive but great Lobster visit the restaurant at the beginning of the pier: the Lobster.
A lot of shops you can find near the hotel and the beach is very near as well.
And for those who like to smoke a good cigar, go to the Lone Wolf, just around the corner. Even for non smokers a great place to visit, just ask for David. He also ships abroad.

Room Tip: take a suite with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.