We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room upgrade helped!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The room upgrade helped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We felt that if we were going to be in Santa Monica we really needed to be on the beach, and we couldn't have chosen better. We considered Shutters, but really thought that was too expensive. Casa del Mar was certainly worth it, especially since we had booked a beach view room, and were upgraded. The decor is very elegant and I am always impressed by a television in the bathroom! Service was good - although one glitch was that we asked as we checked in whether we needed a reservation for dinner in the Coast, and were told not. When we got there we were made to feel awkward that we had not booked, with lots of dithering going on in finding us a table and we were not enormously impressed by the food. It doesn't quite get the five star really because it is up against some real "wows" and we thought that charging $35 for parking was steep, given how much we were already paying. But we would certainly return given the chance.

Room Tip: It would seem a waste to come here and not have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    104
    48
    18
    25
See reviews for
90
171
30
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights and would go back. Perfect place to stay if going to santa Monica. Couldn't see anywhere I'd prefer to stay. As near on beach as you will get. Lovely pool area overlooking beach. Good service. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

right on the beach, comfortable rooms, nice service, good food at pool and in restaurant. no bargain but very pleasant hotel. we've stayed here several times and would return. booked through magellan and got some good perks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed two nights in two rooms with our 3 teenagers.
We had fabulous views, the kids onto the pool area and then the ocean and us the pool to the side windows and the ocean in front, really spectacular.
The hotel has a really elegant seaside feel and vibe to,it, it's a place that's beautifully done and styled in the rooms. Great bathrooms with whirlpool baths.
The staff were really great, from check in , to pool, to breakfast wait staff and valet and bell. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.
The concierge sent us to a great surf hire shop for the kids to surf right on the beach in front.
The hotel is run like clockwork, no need to ask for anything, everything anticipated. We booked on the Amex fine hotel,programme which gives you a late check out , unlike some other hotels I've used they made this really easy , keys continued to work after 12, and they then were gracious to give us a key to use the pool area until 6 when we had to leave for the airport.
Loved it and can't wait to go back - it has convinced our 16 year old that he'll still,come on holiday with us if we can come here !

Room Tip: I think it's probably worth paying for the sea view - it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can see the beach outside your window, but you wont feel like you're at the beach. You could place Casa Del Mar just about anywhere and have the same exact experience. That said, the rooms are cozy, the lounge is comfy and the overall vibe is conducive for cocktails and people watching.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and it was supposed to be a special end to a trip down US 101 and Ca-1 from Seattle to LA.
We prepaid a premium ocean view and got a small room facing the pool. Not worth the money we paid for it.
The hotel is beautiful, but the service was not to the standard of a luxury hotel.
We were seated to breakfast on a table full of bread crumbs from the guests who used the table before and were served cold coffee.
The location is terrific, but I would never stay here again.
After the leaving they charged our credit card again and haven´t informed us what for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello grp403,

Thank you for your review and I'd like to sincerely apologize for your stay here at Casa Del Mar. I am truly sorry that you were unsatisfied with the location of your room and your breakfast experience at our restaurant. It is valuable comments like yours that will assist us in making a better experience for all of our future guest.

Sincerely,
James Barela, General Manager
Casa Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We LOVED staying at the Casa Del Mar in Santa Monica. The hotel is beautiful in all areas. The lobby, bar, and restaurants are all breath taking and the service was impeccable. The room was spacious and well appointed. The location was remarkable . . . an easy walk into town, great places to eat nearby, and the beach right at your footsteps. The service was fantastic from the front desk, housekeeping, room service, to the hostesses. LOVED it and would go there again in a heartbeat!! Although we were traveling with family, this hotel and location would be great for couples, business or just a simple get away for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.