We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 wonderful days "à la Casa"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“4 wonderful days "à la Casa"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife an I stayed 4 days at the Casa del Mar, posterior to our 3 week ride throug California.
The staff was really fantastic, the breakfast-view over the beach of Santa Monica is absolutely wonderful. Valet service is just perfect. The guys even give you advice how or when to travel around in Los Angeles.

Hotel locatiojn is ideal for visiting Los Angeles, Hollywood, Universal & Warenr Studios an ist 15 minutes from the airport.

The pool is very tiny an the pictures on the Web do nopt reflect exactly the tinyness of the swimming pool. Nevertheless, we spent some beautiful hours in the sun.

The hotel is located directly on the beach. Our room was located on the side - in the second floor an we hat direct access to the beach level without having to walk throught the lobby or half the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    72
    37
    14
    23
See reviews for
62
138
26
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our quick trip to LA/Santa Monica - could have been a nightmare - was a dream.
We were dazzled and confused about the many options and fun things to do in Los Angeles Area. Our first stop at Casa del Mar was the concierge desk. Samantha saved the day! She is smart, connected, fun and so full of fabulous ideas! We have the best trip ever. She gave us Excellent tips on dining, touring and shopping. Fab hotel.

Room Tip: See Samantha at the Concierge Desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay in LA (okay, Santa Monica isn't really LA, but it's way better to be at the beach). A great hotel with dozens of great restaurants nearby and the beach literally outside your door. Rooms are comfortable, service is great. Can't recommend highly enough

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for a week in February for work and my wife came to visit while there for some mid-winter sunshine. The location (next to Shutters On The Beach), is perfectly accessible from the highway (.25 Miles), yet tucked away on a secluded one-way street adjacent to the beach. The views of Santa Monica pier are great from the dining room and the service is second to none. The rooms are gorgeously appointed in a beachfront cottage style, while the lobby is more stuccochic. Make sure to use the house car for dinner and shopping about town. Recommend Giorgio Baldi just down the hill on Pacific Coast Highway, or Capo within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for beachview. You might get it if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa del Mar for 1 week and it was a very relaxing stay. The room was beautifully appointed and with a view of the ocean. The windows opened and we could hear the surf. The staff were attentive and respected your privacy. My husband rented a road bike and the staff held it for him. Every day when he came to get it, they had it ready, knew his name and wished him well. The lobby is beautiful and welcoming with live music (not too loud) and we would hang out there with friends and play cards and have drinks with a great view. I would definitely come here over and over again. Just unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Do you want to shake off all your troubles? Well, at least for some time. Come and enjoy this luxurious ocean front hotel. From the moment I stepped on the heavenly decorated stairway, I was really impressed with the beautiful ambiance. We had Premier Ocean View Room with Surf Breakfast at the Beach for two people. It was so romantic and relaxing. I enjoyed my dinners at Catch restaurant. Grilled Spanish Octopus and and Mixed Grill with Diver Scallop, Shrimp, Squid, Rock Fish and Spanish Chorizo was excellent. Wine selection was impressive. Service was impeccable. However, my favorite place in the hotel was Lobby Lounge with its exciting and electrical ambiance. At night it transforms into a beautiful night club with incredible ocean views and great entertainment. It is so beautiful to watch the sun going down into the ocean while munching on great appetizers and sipping on wine or a cocktail. American Wagyu Sliders with tomato jam and blue cheese was delicious. What a beautiful place to celebrate life.

Room Tip: Premier Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here in late February on a business trip. This was my first stay at Casa Del Mar, but I'd had fond memories of staying at its sister hotel next door (Shutters) years back. The location is by far the top draw for the hotel. Casa del Mar itself is cozy, and the service was generally very good all around.

The bar and restaurant at the rear of the hotel face the beach and offers amazing views of the sunset. The food in the restaurant was pretty good.

The rooms were nicely laid out and very comfortable. Unfortunately, I was given a 1st floor room at the end of the cul-de-sac on Pico Blvd across from the driveway of Shutters. Half of the room was was actually below street level, so when I looked out, I saw some hedges and the sidewalk. I had to keep my curtains drawn as everyone walking by (including the omnipresent paparazi waiting to snap a shot of the next celebrity checking into/out of Shutters) could easily glance down into my room. The next morning I asked to switch rooms and was given a room on the fourth floor facing East (above the front door on Ocean Way). The new room was considerably smaller and felt too cramped.

The bed and sheets were very comfortable, and the room had everything I needed, but it just felt very tight and would have been too small for two people.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 1st floor which is actually below ground level. Best to get an Ocean-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.