We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 wonderful days "à la Casa"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“4 wonderful days "à la Casa"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife an I stayed 4 days at the Casa del Mar, posterior to our 3 week ride throug California.
The staff was really fantastic, the breakfast-view over the beach of Santa Monica is absolutely wonderful. Valet service is just perfect. The guys even give you advice how or when to travel around in Los Angeles.

Hotel locatiojn is ideal for visiting Los Angeles, Hollywood, Universal & Warenr Studios an ist 15 minutes from the airport.

The pool is very tiny an the pictures on the Web do nopt reflect exactly the tinyness of the swimming pool. Nevertheless, we spent some beautiful hours in the sun.

The hotel is located directly on the beach. Our room was located on the side - in the second floor an we hat direct access to the beach level without having to walk throught the lobby or half the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake_Worf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco
Level Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our quick trip to LA/Santa Monica - could have been a nightmare - was a dream.
We were dazzled and confused about the many options and fun things to do in Los Angeles Area. Our first stop at Casa del Mar was the concierge desk. Samantha saved the day! She is smart, connected, fun and so full of fabulous ideas! We have the best trip ever. She gave us Excellent tips on dining, touring and shopping. Fab hotel.

Room Tip: See Samantha at the Concierge Desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Page L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay in LA (okay, Santa Monica isn't really LA, but it's way better to be at the beach). A great hotel with dozens of great restaurants nearby and the beach literally outside your door. Rooms are comfortable, service is great. Can't recommend highly enough

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for a week in February for work and my wife came to visit while there for some mid-winter sunshine. The location (next to Shutters On The Beach), is perfectly accessible from the highway (.25 Miles), yet tucked away on a secluded one-way street adjacent to the beach. The views of Santa Monica pier are great from the dining room and the service is second to none. The rooms are gorgeously appointed in a beachfront cottage style, while the lobby is more stuccochic. Make sure to use the house car for dinner and shopping about town. Recommend Giorgio Baldi just down the hill on Pacific Coast Highway, or Capo within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for beachview. You might get it if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1michaelcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Casa del Mar for 1 week and it was a very relaxing stay. The room was beautifully appointed and with a view of the ocean. The windows opened and we could hear the surf. The staff were attentive and respected your privacy. My husband rented a road bike and the staff held it for him. Every day when he came to get it, they had it ready, knew his name and wished him well. The lobby is beautiful and welcoming with live music (not too loud) and we would hang out there with friends and play cards and have drinks with a great view. I would definitely come here over and over again. Just unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Do you want to shake off all your troubles? Well, at least for some time. Come and enjoy this luxurious ocean front hotel. From the moment I stepped on the heavenly decorated stairway, I was really impressed with the beautiful ambiance. We had Premier Ocean View Room with Surf Breakfast at the Beach for two people. It was so romantic and relaxing. I enjoyed my dinners at Catch restaurant. Grilled Spanish Octopus and and Mixed Grill with Diver Scallop, Shrimp, Squid, Rock Fish and Spanish Chorizo was excellent. Wine selection was impressive. Service was impeccable. However, my favorite place in the hotel was Lobby Lounge with its exciting and electrical ambiance. At night it transforms into a beautiful night club with incredible ocean views and great entertainment. It is so beautiful to watch the sun going down into the ocean while munching on great appetizers and sipping on wine or a cocktail. American Wagyu Sliders with tomato jam and blue cheese was delicious. What a beautiful place to celebrate life.

Room Tip: Premier Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here in late February on a business trip. This was my first stay at Casa Del Mar, but I'd had fond memories of staying at its sister hotel next door (Shutters) years back. The location is by far the top draw for the hotel. Casa del Mar itself is cozy, and the service was generally very good all around.

The bar and restaurant at the rear of the hotel face the beach and offers amazing views of the sunset. The food in the restaurant was pretty good.

The rooms were nicely laid out and very comfortable. Unfortunately, I was given a 1st floor room at the end of the cul-de-sac on Pico Blvd across from the driveway of Shutters. Half of the room was was actually below street level, so when I looked out, I saw some hedges and the sidewalk. I had to keep my curtains drawn as everyone walking by (including the omnipresent paparazi waiting to snap a shot of the next celebrity checking into/out of Shutters) could easily glance down into my room. The next morning I asked to switch rooms and was given a room on the fourth floor facing East (above the front door on Ocean Way). The new room was considerably smaller and felt too cramped.

The bed and sheets were very comfortable, and the room had everything I needed, but it just felt very tight and would have been too small for two people.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 1st floor which is actually below ground level. Best to get an Ocean-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,109 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing