We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting on the beach Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great setting on the beach Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Part of the Shutters properties, crowd is a little older here, but gorgeous lobby and lobby bar overlooking Santa Monica promenade, so still a lovely scene. Nice rooms. Great location. But the pool, which I only saw in the evening and early morning, was fabulous. On a deck overlooking the ocean. What a setting!

Service was merely okay, nothing outstanding, perfunctory at best; I frankly expected a bit more from a place like this. And like Shutters, they'll nickel and dime you where they can. But still, an nice, nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    74
    37
    14
    23
See reviews for
64
140
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 for 6 nights (me, my sister and her 2 year old son) This hotel is in a great location with a beautiful view of santa monica beach. My sister was here on business so me and my nephew spent many hours having fun on the beach which was right on our doorstep and handy when you have an exhausted 2 year old who needs a nap asap. The rooms were good - the beds were comfy (though oddly quite high) and the bathroom was nice - the room was a bit smaller then I would have liked but it was nicely kitted out.

The breakfast was great I have to say - the omlette and pancakes my favourite - the restaraunt also has big floor to ceiling windows facing santa monica beach which is a pretty awesome view to have first thing in the morning.

Being a 5 star hotel and paying over $500 a night for a standard room I was dissapointed that you have to pay for Wi-fi - around $15 a day i think (which for a 5 star hotel hosting alot of business travellers is pretty poor)
Another big gripe I had was when my nephew needed some milk in the middle of the night to help him sleep due to jet-lag - the hotel charged us $12 for each glass of milk brought up for him. Now this was ludicrous and after a call to the hotel manager it was swiftly taken off the bill - but you'd think a hotel like this would bring up some milk for a toddler without charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I just returned from a vacation at this hotel and it was an amazing experience. The hotel is located in Santa Monica, on the beach and it absolutely beautiful! Our room was gorgeous, the view was incredible (Oceanfront room), and the staff was excellent. I'm a bit of a stickler for cleanliness, and I must say that I have never seen such good housekeeping as what I experienced at this hotel. Of course the room was cleaned in the morning; but in the evening when they came by for "turn down" the room was left in immaculate condition as well. The attention to detail, in addition to the beauty of the hotel, the comfortable bed, great shower and lovely staff, made this a hotel that I would recommend highly without hesitation!

Room Tip: Booked with American Express Platinum and was upgraded, in addition to other perks, like breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had booked an Ocean View room, but was upgraded to an Ocean View Suite (on the corner of the 5th floor). The room was outstanding, spacious, comfortable, homely, well designed. The view from the 4 windows onto the beach was amazing. The bathroom was luxurious (including the spa bath), the bed large and comfortable (if a little high off the ground, which could be an issue for people with mobility restrictions), the separate salon was very welcoming and comfortable. The only minor gripe was the Wi-Fi, the connexion was slow and we were regularly booted off requiring us to log back in.

The service was efficient and friendly. The room service & restaurant were both excellent. The location is ideal for exploring LA.

I would definitely stay there again when going to LA.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view! The upgrade to a suite is worth it too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for business, so I did not test out the room service, restaurants, gym, or many of the other amenities. I basically used the room. I didn't think it was fair to give the hotel 5/5 stars based only on the room.

The room itself was spacious, well-appointed, quiet and extremely clean. I was on the 3rd (lobby) floor looking toward the neighboring hotel (Shutters) and the beach. In the bathroom, they had nice amenities available for sale in case you forgot anything. My only gripe about the room is that the thermostat faced the end of a built-in bookcase. It made it impossible to get an angle or enough light to view the thermostat settings, which in turn made it hard to control the room temperature exactly.

The location is right on the beach. It's a great place from which to take your morning run or stroll. You're maybe 1/2 mile from the pier, and an additional few steps to Santa Monica's main shopping and entertainment area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Nicely situated on the beach close to the pier and well decorated, the hotel has rather thin walls and floors. I'd recommend the 7th (top) floor to avoid hearing footfalls. Not much you can do about the thin walls, though. Price is high and you don't get anything included except a nonlocal, right wing newspaper (and no choice in the matter).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had an ocean facing room and it was also a great view. Really a gorgeous hotel and excellent service from the valet and bellhop to the front desk and concierge (Samantha rocked) and the restaurant Catch with very accomodating staff. I was in for the week for the AFM film market and it was very busy!. I was always able to get a table for breakfast and lunch when I needed and late night meetings & drinks in the awesome lobby/bar was a great starting point or end of the night landing strip. Music almost every night in the bar (Jazz trio or a singer). Room was high end. Very large sitting area and a great desk with lots of light. Big bathroom with jet tub and you could open the window to look out to the ocean (room 224). Had a great room service one night, arrived hot and quick. Let's be clear not an inexpensive joint but well worth it and you CANNOT beat the location, steps away from a beach jog right on the sand. Also I judge hotels on the little touches and they had many- great bathroom products(shampoos and other), a very well stocked mini-bar and they even give you a rubber duck for your bath and a little teddy bear on your bed at night, funny! I took them home for my twin boys. Sorry to have such a sunny review(LOL) but it was just about a flawless stay. Okay here it is so you think I'm not a paid shill, I had forgotten my shaving cream and I called housekeeping for a free whatever they had it was cheap barbosal shaving cream which dries your face right out, bad stuff . So that's it, I highly recommend and will stay again here for next years AFM.

Room Tip: Room 224 is ocean facing and very comfortable walk from all the action but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.