We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watching the Sunset from the Bar was the best view in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Watching the Sunset from the Bar was the best view in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had an ocean facing room and it was also a great view. Really a gorgeous hotel and excellent service from the valet and bellhop to the front desk and concierge (Samantha rocked) and the restaurant Catch with very accomodating staff. I was in for the week for the AFM film market and it was very busy!. I was always able to get a table for breakfast and lunch when I needed and late night meetings & drinks in the awesome lobby/bar was a great starting point or end of the night landing strip. Music almost every night in the bar (Jazz trio or a singer). Room was high end. Very large sitting area and a great desk with lots of light. Big bathroom with jet tub and you could open the window to look out to the ocean (room 224). Had a great room service one night, arrived hot and quick. Let's be clear not an inexpensive joint but well worth it and you CANNOT beat the location, steps away from a beach jog right on the sand. Also I judge hotels on the little touches and they had many- great bathroom products(shampoos and other), a very well stocked mini-bar and they even give you a rubber duck for your bath and a little teddy bear on your bed at night, funny! I took them home for my twin boys. Sorry to have such a sunny review(LOL) but it was just about a flawless stay. Okay here it is so you think I'm not a paid shill, I had forgotten my shaving cream and I called housekeeping for a free whatever they had it was cheap barbosal shaving cream which dries your face right out, bad stuff . So that's it, I highly recommend and will stay again here for next years AFM.

Room Tip: Room 224 is ocean facing and very comfortable walk from all the action but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    74
    37
    14
    23
See reviews for
64
140
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful location and looks very impressive from outside, but that is about all that can be said in its favour.

Arriving in Santa Monica for the first time, after a 12 hour flight, we were about half an hour earlier than the published check-in time but were made to feel that we were completely unreasonable in arriving too early and were told to come back later!! - during worldwide travel over many years we have never come across such unhelpful check-in staff. Clearly, good hotels will do everything possible to accomodate travel plans and will re-allocate rooms where it is helpful - Casa del Mar made no attempt whatsoever.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, the rooms have no sound-proofing, and conversations and 'activities' from adjoining rooms are so clear that it sometimes sounds as though you have others in your room. Complaints at reception were met with a shrug of the shoulders.

When the Wi-Fi in our room stopped working it took 3 separate complaints before I was even believed that it did not work. Conversations between 2 members of reception indicated that they did not believe it was not working and did not believe that I had previously complained. I eventually insisted that somebody try it in my room and it was then acknowledged that it was not working. There was no apology and I was told that the router was in the room below mine, but they could not disturb the occupants to repair it, so I would have to wait until they checked-out.

When I booked, I opted for the choice of "Bed and Breakfast", but in fact what this meant was that we were given a "credit" of an amount to deduct from the breakfast cost. Whilst I didn't have too much of a problem with this in principle, I was quite shocked to find that I was expected to pay between 15% and 20% gratuity on the breakfast content of my room rate. I specifically left this blank as i thought it irregular practice, but on check-out I found that the staff had falsified my account by adding the gratuity to the bill themselves, even though I had signed it without!!

Overall, I found the staff to be unhelpful, unfriendly, and desparately in need of training.

To sum up - this hotel charges 5 star prices, but comes nowhere close to providing a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed a night in mid November. Our staying penthouse was very luxury and comfortable. All services is very friendly, helpfully and quickly. Bad point was nothing. we are looking forward to stay again.

Room Tip: We should better have reservations at original web site with our requests in detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely, high-end hotel on the beach at Santa Monica, within walking distance of all that Santa Monica has to offer. Rooms are bright, spacious enough, and very comfortably furnished.

Taking a bath in the jetted tub while watching television is a great way to relax.

Whatever material is used in the mattress topper caused a somewhat uncomfortable retention of body heat for me, though it wasn't a problem for my spouse.

The bar area in the lobby is wonderful and overlooks the beach. However, the service was almost comically slow on a Sunday night, even with fewer than a dozen people in there.

Also, the wait for the valet for bring our car was so long at one point, we just found parking on the street so that we wouldn't have any delays the morning of our departure.

Despite the "patience" issues, it's a wonderful place and I'd happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed in all the so called luxury hotels in Santa Monica, and by far this property is in a class of its own. The building itself is stunning, as is its location, and the lobby, restaurant bar area and vibe second to none. Service 5 star all the way, and that's always what makes or breaks the few that fall into the "best" category. Was busy when I checked in, guessing that's par for the course at this property, but management team on top of everything, Sam at front desk was great, room service, Raymond, awesome and had to sort out logistics and Gregory, guest relations, is as good as it gets in the hospitality business. Awesome rooms. Great gym and pool and jacuzzi, also. Will stick with this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just come back from 4 nights at Casa del Mar. Wonderfully comfortable room with a side view over to the pier. Slept with the window open and the sea breeze and sounds lulling me to sleep. Was there for a global business trip and we were very pleased with the facilities, the food and the helpful and informative staff. Loved the little touches of books in the room, a small teddy on the bed at night ha ha - the 180 degree view from the restaurant of the beach is divine

Room Tip: Side view rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel with interesting layout, secluded pool area, great customer service, plush beds. It's not cheap, but along with its sister hotel Shutters, hard to beat. Pretty decent food for room service, good restaurant, delicious muesli!

Room Tip: ocean view suites on the ends of each floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.