We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off View Rooms
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Vancouver British Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“We loved it !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We used Standard Limousine Service to bring us to the hotel. MUCH better than renting a car, using valet parking etc. It cost $80.00 excluding tip. You do not need a car here. All restaurants are within walking distance and if you are only here for a getaway it is one less thing to worry about.
We checked in easily and were taken to our room which was really quite small. All rooms are the same size and the bed occupies most of the room. That's ok because the decor was lovely and the view serene. The bath tub has jet sprays and you can be accompanied by a rubber duck which sits on the tub's edge. The pool is miniscule and you are meant to sit around it rather actually swim in it and there is also a small hot tub on the side. It suited me. A long awaited paperback and restorative mango smoothies were very relaxing and an antidote to a hectic busy life. the brunch on Sunday was amazingly delicious. It is a la carte and you choose three dishes from a set menu. So wonderful and the head waiter fussed over us like an old and adored uncle. It was so sweet ! Lunch was mediocre at best on other days. You would be advised to go elsewhere. Tiny indifferent portions and not very good tasting. I cannot understand the disparity. We went for dinner to an italian restaurant and strongly recommend asking the concierge for advice. They are very knowledgeable. Had dinner one night at Shutters next door... on the beach level. One word..Awful. I had the shortribs on mash . VERY over salted and I swear the potatoes were instant. You would be better off in surrounding eateries.
( Now a small point. If you are paying this much for a room it is very cheesy to charge for WiFi. I felt just a little bit gouged.)
The beach in front of the hotel is over 20 miles long. Rent bikes and have a wonderful long ride. So much fun ! Avoid Sat/Sun if you can. It is Very crowded on the beach walks and can be a bit "over the top". During the week the beach and bike trails are virtually deserted.
I am going back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    87
    43
    16
    25
See reviews for
78
155
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is a very expensive hotel so if you are not willing to part with an unusual large sum of money don't go, but if you are looking for a place for extreme relaxation and pampering this is one of the best. The location is great, right on the beach and a walk away from downtown Santa Monica. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with any request.
I stayed for a business meeting and had not time to explore as much as I wanted however everything I have seen, from the room to the hotel facilities, I was impressed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is beautiful - we had a great room with a view of the beach and the Santa Monica pier. The room decor is beautiful and restful and the bed is so comfortable. The only downside is that we did not have a balcony to sit out on!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at the Casa del Mar in May for 4 nights in an Ocean View Room. The hotel (including the room) are impeccably decorated and spacious. Although being so close to LA, you feel a world away, down by the beach, with all that a beach lifestyle has to offer including great walks, clean (and safe) beaches in which to swim and surf, and great restaurants and shopping nearby. The hotel is well located near the Santa Monica pier and is one of the few hotels in the area with an absolute beach frontage. If the Pacific Ocean is too cold to swim in, then the hotel has a (small) heated pool and spa on the terrace which overlooks the ocean - a wonderful place to sun-bathe and relax while enjoying the delights of the hotel's food and drinks menu. The staff were all very courteous and knowledgeable, particularly at the front desk and in the hotel shop. There are good dining options in the hotel restaurant (Catch) and also in the lobby area (which has a great sushi bar). It was a shame that the breakfast menu was somewhat limited - it would have been good if there was a traditional continental buffet - however, we still enjoyed it very much. The stunning views overlooking the beach and the general location of the hotel make it an ideal place to stay, be it for business or pleasure. The hotel is very near to the main shopping areas in Santa Monica (in particular on Main Street and Montana Avenue) which are far better value and more interesting than the the more expensive areas, such as Beverley Hills.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The hotel was spectacular in all ways. From the ultra-attentive front desk, to the highest quality furnishings, this is truly a "Leading Hotel of the World." Nothing was lacking during our three days here. The front desk was especially helpful in our emergency quest to find a doctor. Food was wonderful (although $6 for a slice of toast when I had already paid $17 for an omelet was a bit insulting). Entertainment in the lobby, and the entire bar scene, was high class and fun.

Room Tip: use a Virtuoso travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

What a beautiful building and superb location! The rooms are cosy and comfortable rooms, with a lovely decor. Those facing the beach have abundant light and beautiful vistas especially at sunset. The lobby doubles as bar, and it's a grand affair, with live music and a warm buzz.
The property does seem a bit busy though, wouldn't qualify it as boutique, but it doesn't cross any significant line. The breakfast was excellent, although I felt a bit pushed by the waiters ("can I remove this?" "still enjoying?" "should I bring the check?"). Competent concierge, courteous valets, and personalized service (they also call you by your name when they're not reading it from a screen). Well worth the splurge, especially for Leaders Club Members.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

First the location is great. You are on the sand, not even 5 minute walk to the pier.
I used the valet service the 1st day but then you figure you can park on the street if you know you are going to be out before 9am, which we were with all there was to do.
We got upgraded to a partial ocean view ( you are perpendicular to the ocean, so you see the beach really) and that is always nice.
Then we entered our rooms and they are exactly like on their website. The decoration is beautiful. My teenagers now would like the same in their room at home! The beds are very comfortable.
The bathrooms are in white marble with big "jacuzzi" bath and big shower. Just lovely.
The 2 things that I would complain about is that the walls are paper thin and that the light to the toilets is the same as the one for the bathroom. It would not be a problem if there was no window from the bathroom to the room, so in the middle of the night it is not very convenient.
The hotel had live music every night we were there and we had dinner in the lounge each night. It is really a great place to hang out, even with the children.
The food is very good, salads, sushi, breakfast, every thing!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.