We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average room/hotel in an amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Above average room/hotel in an amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel itself is nothing terribly special - not the high-end luxury you might expect. But its very nice and the staff was great. The location is super for discovering Santa Monica by foot and for enjoying really easy access to the beach. As noted previously as well, the parking cost is too high. All that said it is a nice hotel on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    202
    90
    52
    28
See reviews for
162
150
26
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Somewhat charming hotel in the hear of Santa Monica. It's location is interesting because you can discover downtown Santa Monica by foot.

Quiet rooms one house away from the beach, small swimming pool but nice atmosphere in the inner court of the hotel.

Excellent Spa and Fitness facilities.

Parking much to expensive!!! This is a not as it should be.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Expensive but very nice! Welcoming, attentive staff who always tried to please and seemed genuinely concerned that everything was taken care of. A relatively small hotel close to the beach that seemed like a calm, relaxing oasis at times. Good view of beach from room on 6th floor. Balcony a sun trap and shower was lovely. Room perhaps a little dull and some noise from early morning cleaners and the lift. Cezanne restaurant outstanding. Dinner may seem expensive but the service and quality of the food is superb. We kept returning here after trying other restaurants in the town. Thanks to Desi for cooking for me with gluten free pasta.You were definitely made to feel special here!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

It's a Marriott. If you like Marriotts, you'll like this. Personally, I always find that they somehow manage to be a bit dingy even when they're otherwise aiming for the upscale. So you have nice pillows and sheets, and plenty of towels and fluffy bathrobes, but you also have styrofoam cups for your in-room coffee-maker and those industrial-looking wall bumpers to protect the wall from the bathroom door. They charge extra for internet, too. Oh, and there was a scale in my bathroom which was, um, very flattering--I suppose that could be good for one's self-esteem before heading to the beach, but it also suggested that maybe they hadn't replaced certain fixtures in a while. On the other hand, the hotel is right by the beach and very convenient to the rest of Santa Monica. Of course, so are a lot of hotels, but if you get a good price here, and you want to be on the beach, it's a decent bet. Just don't expect anything out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This was our first hotel stop on our drive up the coast to San Francisco. After our stay we felt we were off to a great start! We really enjoyed our stay. We weren't able to check in early as we requested but we took the hour wait time to walk the strand to Venice Beach. When we were allowed to check in we were greeted by a very freindly lady at the check in desk. We were pleasantly surprised when she offered to upgrade us to a larger room free of charge for our one night stay. The room was very spacious with a sofa and chairs at one end of the room and a comfy bed on the other. The room had a great view of the ocean and pool area. The bathroom is a good size. We were able to easily and quickly get to the beach and enjoyed some time there. When we got back we enjoyed the heated pool for a while as well. The pool area is not large. When we were headed to the beach there were no chairs available and given the small area it does make it a bit difficult to get to the walkway gate to the beach. When we did return at about 5pm, there were only a few people there so that made it nicer. I used to live in Santa Monica for 7 years so I had to make a stop at my favorite restaurant in West Hollywood, Dantana's, so we did not eat at the hotel. When we did return from dinner we went to the outdoor patio and got drinks from the bar. It was a gorgeous night and they had heat lamps on and nice comfy large chairs to relax in while we enjoyed our cocktails. Getting our car from the valet was quick and easy and checkout was a breeze. Overall it was a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I was expecting alot from this hotel based on both the brand and the $300 a night room rate - came away disappointed. Hotel is close to the beach and an easy walk to third street promenade. The room was spacious with a street view, didn't notice any traffic noise. Breakfast was ok with standard hotel prices although service was a bit slow. The attitude of the front desk staff was the biggest disappointment and even an easy request was turned into a huge deal. Left feeling that our money would have been much better spent in another property.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The swimming pool, poolside and gym were both small and featureless. The internet was available at a fee, and was too slow for downloading mail or accessing my office files that I was compelled to check out one day early. At the low end of the luxury hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.