We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le merigot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Le merigot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great business hotel option in Santa Monica where every other hotel caters to people traveling for pleasure.
rooms are spacious and comforable, and the lobby has good areas for informal business meetings.
Good location and decent gym facilities.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    258
    115
    60
    39
See reviews for
214
200
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

went here for my birthday and bought a package that included breakfast for 4. I also requested a late check out. Called the day before to confirm all. I mentioned my bday when we checked in - got no response. I'm a Silver Elite - didn't have any apparent effect. At check-in there was no mention of the package I purchased. When I asked about it the front desk person seemed a bit annoyed and told be she'd have to confirm or look it up. She then confirmed but told me she'd send up breakfast vouchers shortly. I also reiterated my request for a late check out which was again confirmed. Room was small but nice. The view was looking right into the other 'wing' of the hotel. You needed to keep the curtains closed for fear of being seen by those across the way. We went out for dinner - still no vouchers. Came home from dinner - still no vouchers. They came sometime during the middle of the night. We had breakfast which was nice and then went for a walk on the beach and pier. When we got back we were locked out because our late check out had not been noted! Total hassle to get into the hotel - which has an unmanned locked gate at the beach entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced and are addressing these issues with our team. The issues you’ve mentioned are certainly not following our standard of excellent and will be addressed with the management team. We appreciate and value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Just finished up with a 5 night stay and was pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded to a room with an ocean and pier view (202; 2 double beds; actually 4 floors up). Being behind an apartment building that blocked part of the view was kind of a drag but everything else about the experience was good. The only other thing they could use was a hot tub in the pool area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For hotel guests or locals this is an awesome small retreat spa. The services are excellent: facial and massage. Therapists very knowledgable. Bar in lobby is also fun for a drink and or to watch sports. Best margarita ever!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the excellent feedback of our recently renovated Spa facility! We have also just set up Cabanas in our pool area that are available for Spa treatments and relaxation. We hope to welcome you back soon for another treatment and margarita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, fabulous location, just fabulous really! Ok it is is a little pricey but you get what you pay for; friendly staff all round, lovely room, balcony overlooking the beach is a must! Reception as very friendly, asked why we were staying and we said it was the last night of our 21 day honeymoon and we'd come last minute from a truly horrible hotel in Hollywood as we couldn't stand our last night being there, didn't think anything else of it, went out to dinner and came back to free champagne and chocolate strawberries and a handwritten note from the staff. Truly the best hotel we've stayed at over the last 3 weeks, and location is a bonus. Huge room, huge balcony, clean and wish we had more time to spend here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review! We are so happy that we were able to make the final night of your honeymoon an unforgettable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenivg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hands down the nicest JW property in CA if not the US. Beyond exceptional service. Quaintly set up right over the beach and bike path. Rooms are very comfy and ocean view balcony is a must!
Breakfast each morning was fantastic; the chef custom made entrées for us and they were amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It is such a privilege to hear that you feel our JW Marriott property is the nicest in all of California. Thank you for such a wonderful compliment and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vernia, Texas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business but would return for vacation as the location to entertainment such as the pier and the beach are all within walking distance. Their are wonderful restaurants close by and the weather is perfect. Large rooms with comfortable beds. The best Marriott i have been too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that our property is the best Marriott you have ever been to! We hope that you return and are able to experience all the wonderful attractions that our charming city of Santa Monica has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#7 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.