We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Just finished up with a 5 night stay and was pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded to a room with an ocean and pier view (202; 2 double beds; actually 4 floors up). Being behind an apartment building that blocked part of the view was kind of a drag but everything else about the experience was good. The only other thing they could use was a hot tub in the pool area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    202
    90
    52
    28
See reviews for
162
150
26
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For hotel guests or locals this is an awesome small retreat spa. The services are excellent: facial and massage. Therapists very knowledgable. Bar in lobby is also fun for a drink and or to watch sports. Best margarita ever!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the excellent feedback of our recently renovated Spa facility! We have also just set up Cabanas in our pool area that are available for Spa treatments and relaxation. We hope to welcome you back soon for another treatment and margarita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, fabulous location, just fabulous really! Ok it is is a little pricey but you get what you pay for; friendly staff all round, lovely room, balcony overlooking the beach is a must! Reception as very friendly, asked why we were staying and we said it was the last night of our 21 day honeymoon and we'd come last minute from a truly horrible hotel in Hollywood as we couldn't stand our last night being there, didn't think anything else of it, went out to dinner and came back to free champagne and chocolate strawberries and a handwritten note from the staff. Truly the best hotel we've stayed at over the last 3 weeks, and location is a bonus. Huge room, huge balcony, clean and wish we had more time to spend here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review! We are so happy that we were able to make the final night of your honeymoon an unforgettable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenivg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hands down the nicest JW property in CA if not the US. Beyond exceptional service. Quaintly set up right over the beach and bike path. Rooms are very comfy and ocean view balcony is a must!
Breakfast each morning was fantastic; the chef custom made entrées for us and they were amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It is such a privilege to hear that you feel our JW Marriott property is the nicest in all of California. Thank you for such a wonderful compliment and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vernia, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business but would return for vacation as the location to entertainment such as the pier and the beach are all within walking distance. Their are wonderful restaurants close by and the weather is perfect. Large rooms with comfortable beds. The best Marriott i have been too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that our property is the best Marriott you have ever been to! We hope that you return and are able to experience all the wonderful attractions that our charming city of Santa Monica has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am sitting in my room, getting ready to go out and enjoy the evening. This JW is unique and charming and is a PERFECT hotel for Santa Monica! I've stayed at MANY JW's and no, this is not the big resort conga line dancing hotels, nor should it be if you are in this location! From the moment we pulled into valet, to the front desk and Kim, to the sweet housekeeping ladies, we've been here all of 5 hours and want to stay forever!

Kudos for JW for putting a wonderful, perfect, beach hotel that isn't obnoxious! Can't wait to go out and enjoy the evening.

Will come back her in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel and fits perfect in the area! If you want glam and big hotels--go to downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive feedback. We are so happy that you appreciated the special uniqueness that is our JW Marriott boutique, luxury hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was expecting a JW Mariott kind of hotel and was disappointed . The location is hard to beat: steps to the Santa Monica Pier, walking distance to great restaurants. The hotel needs TLC: feels old and dated

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, but disappointed that our hotel was not able to live up to your image of the JW Marriott brand. We are a luxury boutique hotel, which may differ from other JW Marriott’s you have visited. We just recently had all of our common areas renovated in 2011, and just this past month renovated our entire Spa facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.