We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all - pretty good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“All in all - pretty good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here on points after doing Route 66 to the Santa Monica Pier. The employees are wonderful. Every one of them is genuine and friendly. The rooms are well appointed for the 80's, but that is not a bad thing. The carpeting needs a refresher, as the plain tan/brown look shows the age and use. The proximity to the beach and the pier makes this a premium location, so pricing is that of a big town hotel. I am not used to paying for parking, but one has to get used to it. I did have an issue with the hotel billing, and I did contact them following my visit. Everything was resolved to my satisfaction quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here. It is nice to hear that you felt that all of our employees were wonderful and that we were able to resolve your billing issue quickly. We are located extremely close to all the Santa Monica has to offer, and are glad that you enjoyed the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    223
    97
    54
    33
See reviews for
179
175
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me start by saying that Santa Monica itself was a let-down - streets need a solid cleaning and the casual elegance I expected was missing. The Marriott is in need of renovation - really tired carpeting/less than visually appealing rooms. Most of the rooms facing the ocean are blocked by an apt building so we had a little 'corner' view of the pier and the ferriswheel. Definitely conveniently located to the pier and the promenade, has a really nice fitness room, and a pretty outdoor area/pool area. The attendant at the front desk failed to mention that wifi in the lobby was free when asked if the room rate included wifi so can't give great reviews on service either. It's better than staying in downtown LA, but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are extremely disappointed to hear that our hotel and Santa Monica in general did not live up to your expectations. Our highest mission is to go above and beyond and make your stay unforgettable. Your comments will help us to improve and provide the level of service our guests have come to expect from a JW Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A one night stay while transiting through LA. Much better than staying up near LAX, and only 30 mins away. I had an ocean view king room, although the "view " was a slight exaggeration. The room was spacious and very nicely decorated. This hotel has a small but nice pool, and is well located for the pier and 3rd st shops. The best part was the service. Very good staff right through. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had such a good experience with our staff and that you highly recommend our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing exemplary service to our guests and on our location in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I lived in LA (Toluca Lake) for six years. Santa Monica is easily the best part of town. And this hotel is optimally located within Santa Monica. But that’s only part of the story.

The service here was really excellent. Everyone was at all times extra friendly and helpful. Although breakfast was typically hotel-expensive (I rarely eat in hotels for this and other reasons), our waitress, Valeriya, may have set a new standard for helpful service with infectious enthusiasm.

The room was nothing special, although it had a fine view. On the other hand, it was quite affordable and fully met our needs – a similar room at Loews next door would have cost at least 50% more.

Not all Marriotts are created equal. We stayed at another Marriott two days later that was perfectly OK, which is my usual Marriott experience, but it was not nearly the great value (with super service) that we experienced here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience with us. We are very happy to hear about the great value and superb service you received at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from 10 days in California with stops in Monterey, La Jolla and Santa Monica. Always stay in Santa Monica when visiting the LA area and always stay at this Marriott property. Outstanding location within walking distance to Venice Beach and the Santa Monica pier and Third Street Promenade. Quick drive to the Whole Foods on Lincoln Boulevard when you can't take another large restaurant meal.

Renovated lobby, including a larger bar, easy access thru the pool area out the back to the beach ( disclaimer: there is a street and a building between this property and the beach, but many rooms still have outstanding views of the ocean and/or the Santa Monica pier). From the back exit by the pool to the sidewalk on the beach is all of a one minute walk ... If your walking slow.

Rooms are average for a Marriott, but clean. Breakfast outdoors is always fun and food is good. Have never eaten dinner there, so can't comment. Valet parking is pricey, but consistent with other hotels in that area.

This was probably my 15th visit to this property in the last 8 years. Always enjoyable; feels familiar to us at this point. Only been home 24 hours now and missing CA already; will be back to Le Merigot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are extremely thrilled that you feel so familiar with our property and that you have stayed with us so many times. We are happy to know you enjoyed our renovated lobby and the breakfast at our restaurant Cezanne. We look forward welcoming you back to your Le Merigot home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

JW Marriott at Santa Monica is a great option if wanting to stay close enough but yet far enough away from LA. So much to see and do in Santa Monica and we think even the people are happier here at this great relaxed location. Walking distance along the beach to Venice Beach and the pier not to mention great shopping, bars and restaurants within close walking distance. The thing we loved about the Marriott was the great service when you wanted it and the privacy when we were happy to be left alone. The only downside to this hotel was the bar was a little be expensive. We didn't use the spa or have breakfast in this hotel so can't rate these.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with the view of the beach and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location which is in walking distance to all of the main attractions in Santa Monica as well as fabulous restaurants and shopping. Thank you for mentioning the great service you received from our staff and recognizing the hard work we put in to make your stay most memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for a mini vacation with my family (wife and 13 year old daughter). The hotel is close to the beach and Santa Monica attractions, but the rooms are average and the service is average, accept for the concierge Robert and the bell staff who are awesome. We ended up with an iPad missing from our room, which has never happened to me anywhere before and I spend 70 nights year in a hotel room, and we really couldn't get anyone to address it seriously. I expected better for the price

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.