We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 6 Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent 6 Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were a family of four on vacation in Santa Monica for 6 nights. The hotel is ideally situated for Santa Monica, the pier, the beach and Main Street.

We tended to relax by the pool, or the terrace, for a couple of hours in the morning before moving on to do other activities. The beach, promenade and bike hires are just a couple of minutes from the entrance at the rear of the hotel where the pool is located. Although the pool area is on the smaller side there were always plenty of sunbeds available. The terrace are is nice and relaxing and the restaurant is excellent. Also we used a diner just 50 yards from the hotel along Ocean Avenue for breakfast a couple of times. The valet parking is top form and so efficient.

I had to upgrade this hotel from 4 stars to 5 stars because of the excellent staff. Every single member of staff was so courteous, knowledgeable, pleasant and just great to be around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    243
    108
    57
    33
See reviews for
195
188
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great attention to detail from front desk, and manager. Clean and large rooms. Food areas with great service but limited menu. Location very convenient and walking distance to pier and shopping. Meals were planned off site. Great access to beautiful beach and nice hotel pool with adequate gym

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the JW Marriott in Santa Monica and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and the location was awesome, just walk across the street to the main Santa Monica beach and close to the boardwalk. It had nice gym and spa facilities too. The pool was good but not too big and there was not a lot of space for seating around the pool so it got crowded pretty quickly.

Overall we would recommend this hotel and will definitely come visit again next time we are in Santa Monica.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our newly renovated Spa. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Le Merigot soon.
Warm regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It was fine. Just fine. But not what I had expected. Being a highly rated (by marriott) property, I was surprised how mediocre it was. And nearly $40 to park your car per night, ouchy. The pool wasn't that great but the bar was friendly and it's right where you want to be. It's no beach front, there's a larger, uglier building between you and the ocean but you can see the water from most rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the constructive criticism. We are disheartened that you felt our hotel was only mediocre and did not meet your expectations. We apologize that you found our parking expensive; however, we offer one of the lowest parking rates on the beach in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First off, no concierge level. That said, Marriott provided compensation so it worked out. There is a spa on site with treatment rooms and a decent work out facility with some cardio in one room and then a weight room with some equipment and a bench or two. There is also a steam room and a sauna attached to the spa but available for guest use. The pool is nice with a lounging deck and outdoor seats for the restaurant nearby. Down some steps from that and across a rarely traveled back street is the beach. A bike rental place and the pier are super close as is the outdoor work out area including rings, bars, and a grassy area. Unbelievable people watching here. Great location, front desk staff not quite friendly and/or helpful but the valet and breakfast staff were all wonderful !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our amenities and location. We believe in providing exemplarity service in all areas and are disappointed you did not receive it from all employees. Again thank you for sharing your observations with us, so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Le Merigot is the best place I have ever stayed-we felt welcome from the minute we pulled in and Luis greeted us! The hospitality of the staff, doing everything from providing ice tea and water in the lobby to a perfectly cooled room to help in pulling out into busy traffic makes this place one in a million! I highly recommend the café with it's cool breezes and delicious food-Leticia in particular was like an old friend and saved the day when fighting a breakfast crowd could have been a hassle. The rooms are spacious and the beds divine-no one wants to get up once you sleep in that bed! If you want a special place for a birthday or a staycation-this is the place!

Room Tip: By all means ask for a lower floor room and near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I think of the Marriott chain of hotels, I think of a hotel that is considerably nicer than the Santa Monica version. This hotel is showing its age. The carpets and some of the furniture are due for replacement. The hotel's strengths are its location, which is near the Pacific Ocean and the Santa Monica Pier, and its friendly and professional staff.

Though the hotel is only a block or so away from the beach, many rooms do not have a view of the ocean. The pool is small and surrounded by buildings. The fee for parking in the garage is high: $35.00 per day. The rooms are average, but expensive. You are paying for location. You are not paying for the Marriott name, or at least you are not getting more than the Marriott name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback. We are disappointed that you felt our hotel did not live up to the Marriott name. We have recently undergone a renovation of both our common areas as well as our spa facility. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and our friendly and professional staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.