We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Seattle
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed three nights at this hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite and had a view of the water which was lovely. The only negative about room 428 is that it is next to some sore of housekeeping room. Every morning at around 8am someone would push something against the wall so hard that our headboard would shake.

The location is great for walking to the beach, boardwalk and Third Street Promenade. The pool is small but nice, the spa is also small but the staff is great. There are some nice outdoor seating areas with heaters where we enjoyed our evening cocktails. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    243
    108
    57
    33
See reviews for
195
188
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary in Santa Monica as part of a road trip through California visiting from Vancouver, BC.
The location of the hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions.
Le Merigot's attention to detail from check in to check out, is outstanding,the team, from valet service, to check-in, to housekeeping, etc. The property offers superior service and top-notch standards, consistent with top tier hotels.
Also, the reception/check staff added their personal touch in sending a Happy Anniversary card, together with a bottle of sparking wine and chocolate-dipped strawberries.
It helped make for a memorable stay in the Santa Monica area.

The rooms are large and very well appointed, with comfortable beds and large bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We weren't able to snag one of the rooms with a view of the water or the pier, not unless you leaned over the balcony at a dangerous angle (but at least we had a balcony). The room was nicely appointed although we had to ask for our air conditioning unit to be fixed since it did not work on the first nice. The wifi wasn't working when we arrived, either, but they comped us for breakfast which was very nice. Jessica at the front desk was AMAZINGLY helpful and cheerful and took care of everything that went amiss; she made our stay much happier than it would have been had nobody dealt with these issues as swiftly and successfully as she did.

Room Tip: Not all rooms facing the water have water views--our balcony room did not permit water views unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the JW Marriott in Santa Monica on May 19, 2013! We are Platinum Marriott Rewards and were upgraded to a Junior Suite at check in. In addition to the welcome points, we enjoyed a comp ice cream, berries and wine treat in our room later that night. Spacious room with all the comforts, especially that great bed! Nice breakfast and received a $33 credit on their morning menu. Without exception, everyone was friendly and attentive to our every need. It's great to interact with people that seem genuinely glad to see you and who appreciate your business. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here for our anniversary. Was able to book the room with Marriott Rewards points, and because we came at a less-busy time of year, were happily upgraded to large room with a huge balcony overlooking the the Pier and beach. I will start out by saying that you should be prepared to pay $35/nt for valet parking - painful but it is LA and everything seems to be valet parking so you just have to accept it. Other than that - this place is GREAT. The location could not be better - easy walking distance to the Pier and to the Third Street Promenade. The beach and beach-side paths are 30 seconds from the back door. The staff at the hotel are the BEST anywhere, so friendly and helpful. We asked John at the bar if there was a management mandate that staff members say "hello" and go out of their way to smile or try to help customers (I got lost looking for a rest room at one point, and a staff member stopped, got on the elevator with me to another floor, and took me around 2 corners to make sure I found it) and he said there was no such mandate - but that the hiring managers are just looking for that kind of personality when they hire. Well, props to the managers, because they're doing a great job spotting those people in the interviews. Sure, one should expect great service from a good hotel, but you don't always get it. I want to thank everyone there for proving to my husband (who worries that I travel cross-country for work) that Californians can be every bit as polite and friendly as Southerners. This was a great anniversary trip, and we can't wait to return to Le Merigot!

Room Tip: There is construction on a large condo building across the street on the "city" side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stay at this hotel four times a year due to business. I travel a great deal and stay in hotels all over the country and in the UK. This is one of the best of the best. Great service, great location, exceptionally helpful staff. Good restaurant, but close to so many great restaurants that it really isn't even a factor one way or the other. The fitness center is smallish, but one of the best hotel fitness centers I've ever used... although I tend to run on the beach trails and in the nearby park. You simply can't go wrong with this hotel. But definitely eat at least one meal at Cora's cafe just down the street. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during our spring break in March. The location is perfect. Beach is just a hop across a parking lot in the rear of the hotel, only a few short blocks to the Pier and Promenade. We had a large room w/ 2 double beds - very clean and the beds uber comfortable. The view was terrible, as it overlooked an old beach shack next door. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating - props the concierge for giving us some great advice for both dining and bike rentals. My picky son ordered room service for dinner twice and devoured the chicken fingers/fries. Loved the refreshments in the lobby and the free water bottles. Only negatives, the $35/night valet parking fee - we would have preferred another self park option but there was none to be had and no hot tub. It was a bit too chilly for the pool, but we would have loved hanging in a hot tub.

Overall, nice hotel, great location, top notch Marriott service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.