We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff; Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff; Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took our 2 young kids with us for the weekend while my husband was in town for business. The room was spacious, clean and well stocked with various toiletries and the ever important...coffee (which is a necessity when traveling with children). While the accommodations were well appointed, the staff is to be commended. Very helpful and quick to respond...which, again, is a necessity when travelling with children. The restaurant downstairs has a great breakfast with a kid's menu and they made sure the kids got their food quickly.

The beach is a quick walk across the street and Santa Monica pier is a very close which was fun to stroll there with the kids. And the 3rd Street promenade is an equally quick walk from the hotel as well. There are a good number of restaurants in walking distance as well.

The only strange thing is when we asked for a pack and play for our 1 year old, they gave us one of those metal cribs on wheels. Which isn't a big deal but most hotels we travel to always have a pack and play which seems a bit safer (and I do not mean to imply the provided crib was unsafe). He ended up sleeping with us in the king size bed anyways!

Parking by valet only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    223
    97
    54
    33
See reviews for
179
175
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Granted-a hotel like this will charge a premium for breakfast, and the Marriott Le Merigot had no problem doing so. $25 for the buffet which does not include omelets-what?? I am Platinum at Marriott, with that they give you a $16.50 credit towards breakfast for 2 people each day. We had the limited buffet one day and still had a bill of $34 with a $12 kid buffet added in. The next day we ordered off the menu. We built our own omelets, had $5 cups of coffee and a kids meal and the total with the credit was $15. Otherwise the hotel is lovely, very very nice helpful staff. Did not get a room upgrade so we had no balcony and the room was small, but nice. The pool deck is very slippery, my daughter fell and hit her head, she was not hurt but is still talking about falling on the deck days later. If you had small kids, just beware. Unless I need to be in this area again, I will not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Perfectly nice hotel "kind of on the beach"--actually a half block away across a road and a parking lot, and with its view mostly blocked by an apartment building! Rooms are nice, as are lobby, spa area, and pool area, and service was good.

This hotel compares favorably with the Loews Santa Monica next door, but not as nice as Shutters or Casa del Mar a few blocks away.

Location is excellent: we enjoyed walking to a nearby restaurant, then to the Santa Monica pier afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I spent an evening here during Spring Break. The staff were extremely hospitable and consistently made sure my family and I were comfortable.Though some furnishings appeared dated, the hotel (as a whole) was clean and well appointed. Questions were answered with a smile. While I can understand the concerns made by other reviewers, one must keep in mind that incidentals happen that are outside the control of the hotel. From my interaction with the staff, I can attest that the staff here truly care about their customers and their overall experience at this JW Marriott. Our evening here was pleasant and relaxing. And in my opinion, makes this hotel one to consider when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pros:
- 5 minutes of walking to the Santa Monica beach, nearby shopping mall and restaurants. Nearby good parking is expensive and hard-to-find. Hotel parking is $35 all day and overnight.
- Neat and clean.
- It is a good experience to stay very close to the beach, great morning beach walk.


Cons:
- Quite expensive $300 per night. (I used my Marriott reward points to redeem one night hotel stay this time)
- WiFi is free only for certain Marriott member status.
- Hotel parking is valet option only. I prefer to be able to move car in and out anytime. This is probably because the neighborhood is expensive and not enough space for parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I were only here for an evening, but with it's relative location to the beach and santa monica pier, it definitely made for a great evening. In all I would stay at this location again. The view and room were appreciated by all.

During the evening the outdoor pool closed early for some reason, and since it was dark was wanting to let the kids swim a little more after we finished at the pier. And the next morning I asked for an extra regular coffee and twice they brought me decaf. They did comp me points for the issues, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west caldwell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent hotel for a family get together, location so close to the beach, and the service excellent.
The only negative is that only King and double beds are offered in the rooms. Queen beds would have been preferred instead of doubles.

Room Tip: the only down side with the rooms is that they only offer King or 2 doubles, no queens or pull out c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.