We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is two thumbs up... Very friendly attentive staff. I wish more hotels would have such a friendly staff. For the price it was like I was staying at a five star hotel. Only complaint bit of a walk for grass for my dog...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    223
    97
    54
    33
See reviews for
179
175
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice -- our room, the lobby, patio area, pool, etc. The thing that made this JW Marriott stand out above all other hotel stays was the staff and the amazing service EVERYONE provided. The bellhop, front desk, concierge, restaurant staff at breakfast, bar staff, etc. Everybody there, together, made us feel important. We've only stayed in one other Santa Monica hotel (which was along Ocean Ave as well), but there's not a doubt in our mind that THIS JW Marriott is our new MUST STAY AT location in Santa Monica. No questions. You're within walking distance of the Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade (shopping district).

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for reservations. Not sure if it was my Marriott Rewards Card, but we paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very nice, unique, well designed hotel, immaculately kept, with wonderful employees, q are posh; all roouick to learn guests' names, helpful, and friendly. The rooms are large and nicely designed. Ocean-view rooms (some with balconies), all rooms quite nice and only a few blocks from the 3rd street promenade. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant our outside on the terrace are delicious, hard-to-beat for quality, and romantically atmospheric (thanks to long-time hostess Letti!). We stay here a few days each year and they always seem to remember us and genuinely welcome us "home". Spac, fitness center, and pool are big pluses, and it's only a short walk to the "show" on the beach near the Santa Monica Pier. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view, but settle for any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Tanzania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just returned from weekend here and I must say it doesn't get much better. The service and staff were over the top. Everyone had a smile on their face from Jessica at check in to the valet parking attendants. The ocean is right out the back and you can walk to great restaurants and shopping. The touristy Santa Monica pier is a 5 minute walk. The rooms need some new decorating but staff says they are slowing renovating hotel. Won't think twice about returning here when in Los angeles area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After many hours researching hotels on or near the beach in Santa Monica, we chose the JW and were very satisfied. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't 100% sure this would be a wise decision but rest assured this hotel is wonderful. We stayed at Shutters on the Beach last time we in LA and wanted something in that area but not as pricey. The service at the JW was excellent, the room had a view of the pool and ocean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location...perfect! Great fitness center with spa, steam room and suana, and plenty of treadmills and other equipment. The pool was heated (thank goodness because is was a little chilly while we were there) but unfortunately, no hot tub, which would have been appreciated with the cool, rainy weather we had.

Walking distance to the pier and promanade...plenty of restaurants and shopping. We also rented bikes a block from the hotel for $18/day and rode the great beach path to Venice Beach and up towards Malibu (the one day we had the sun). There is also a Segway tour you can take but because of the rain we didn't take a chance on that! The concierge at the JW was very helpful in stearing us in the right direction with restaurants/sites/activities...she was really great. Robert at the front desk was friendly and helpful as well (he also has a cousin that lives 5 minutes from us in Ohio!)...small world!

Highly recommend this hotel...don't believe the negative reviews...it was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful experience! The rooms were spacious, the hotel was very clean and the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was excellent and within walking distance of the beach, Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade. The restaurant and bar were excellent as well.

Room Tip: The corner rooms were very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not spend the night but used the day spa with a travelzoo coupon. I was so impressed from the minute I drove up and the valet was all smiles and so nice. The hotel lobby was nice and we walked down to the spa with help from another employee who was also smiling and nice(I think he was a chef!) The spa was cozy and we hung out at the small pool until it was time for our service. I got a massage from Borbala which has to be the best one I have ever had-I just wish it was longer! I got a facial from Jeanne who was awesome. After our great services we had lunch at the bar restaurant where we sat outside. The service again was excellent and so was the food. I was so impressed about the staff-they were all so happy and nice. It was so great to be treated like a valuable customer which happens so rarely anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.