We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Usa, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just returned from weekend here and I must say it doesn't get much better. The service and staff were over the top. Everyone had a smile on their face from Jessica at check in to the valet parking attendants. The ocean is right out the back and you can walk to great restaurants and shopping. The touristy Santa Monica pier is a 5 minute walk. The rooms need some new decorating but staff says they are slowing renovating hotel. Won't think twice about returning here when in Los angeles area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    203
    90
    53
    28
See reviews for
162
152
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After many hours researching hotels on or near the beach in Santa Monica, we chose the JW and were very satisfied. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't 100% sure this would be a wise decision but rest assured this hotel is wonderful. We stayed at Shutters on the Beach last time we in LA and wanted something in that area but not as pricey. The service at the JW was excellent, the room had a view of the pool and ocean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location...perfect! Great fitness center with spa, steam room and suana, and plenty of treadmills and other equipment. The pool was heated (thank goodness because is was a little chilly while we were there) but unfortunately, no hot tub, which would have been appreciated with the cool, rainy weather we had.

Walking distance to the pier and promanade...plenty of restaurants and shopping. We also rented bikes a block from the hotel for $18/day and rode the great beach path to Venice Beach and up towards Malibu (the one day we had the sun). There is also a Segway tour you can take but because of the rain we didn't take a chance on that! The concierge at the JW was very helpful in stearing us in the right direction with restaurants/sites/activities...she was really great. Robert at the front desk was friendly and helpful as well (he also has a cousin that lives 5 minutes from us in Ohio!)...small world!

Highly recommend this hotel...don't believe the negative reviews...it was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful experience! The rooms were spacious, the hotel was very clean and the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was excellent and within walking distance of the beach, Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade. The restaurant and bar were excellent as well.

Room Tip: The corner rooms were very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not spend the night but used the day spa with a travelzoo coupon. I was so impressed from the minute I drove up and the valet was all smiles and so nice. The hotel lobby was nice and we walked down to the spa with help from another employee who was also smiling and nice(I think he was a chef!) The spa was cozy and we hung out at the small pool until it was time for our service. I got a massage from Borbala which has to be the best one I have ever had-I just wish it was longer! I got a facial from Jeanne who was awesome. After our great services we had lunch at the bar restaurant where we sat outside. The service again was excellent and so was the food. I was so impressed about the staff-they were all so happy and nice. It was so great to be treated like a valuable customer which happens so rarely anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend was going to Santa Monica for business reasons, and invited me to join her! She booked the JW Marriott Le Merigot. I arrived early in the morning, and tried to check in early, however the rooms were still not ready (understandable). Front desk couldn't locate reservation information either. Finally after 5 minutes, they found it. We reserved 2 double beds, but apparantly their system stated we were to receive a King. So I requested 2 double beds, and they were able to accomodate. They took my # down, and when the room was ready, they would let me know. Around Noon, they contacted me and stated the room was ready!

Room - the rooms are nice, definitely no complaints. However, as I have read in previous TripAdvisor reviews, it agree that this is not "JW" standards. Not what I would've expected for "JW". The decor is more in line with a regular Marriott. Therefore, for the pricing, I don't think it is worth it. I still think it is a lovely room, but to tack on "JW" and increase rates, that is something to consider for a future reservation... the double beds were comfortable, and nice. I noticed that on the surface, from a far, it looks very clean and together, but when you look closer at the finer details, it seems that the hotel needs a little bit of updating. For example, the business chair in our room, parts of the armrest was a little ripped... and then it looks that some parts of the room needed updating. Those were more minor issues, and not a big deal for me, but again, for those thinking "JW", I wouldn't have planned to see any of that.

Location - Amazing location! A few blocks walk to The Promenade. Easy acces to the beach and Pier. Loved it!

Internet - there is a surcharge in the room, but I believe in the lobby it is free

Staff - with the exception of the first lady checking me in, everyone else was VERY nice. Really enjoyed their friendly service, and always so accommodating!


OVERALL - really enjoyed the trip. The stay was nice, the rooms were clean and accomodating. Staff was friendly. Great location, I would recommend this as a "Marriott", not "JW".

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay! Great service, friendly staff and spectacular views! What is not to love about being steps away from the beach and downtown Santa Monica! With shopping at the 3rd Street Promenade, restaurants just outside my door, and a breathtaking view ... who could want anything else! Such a lovely and cozy hotel just a step away from downtown Santa Monica and easily accessible to everything especially the beach! Le Merigot is always lovely to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Was just in recently for only one night on a business trip and was blown away by the high standard of service and commitment of the entire staff. My hat's off to all of you there. This is going to become my regular hotel for LA from now on. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.