We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inside but poor pool location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot to your Saves list
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Hilo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice inside but poor pool location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to stay at the beach and lay by the pool. The pool is at the lowest level, so the hotel block the sun early in the afternoon. Staff was attentive and nice hotel. Beach access is through an alleyway.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean balcony or you'll be looking at the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    234
    102
    57
    33
See reviews for
186
183
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Turkey & Miami Beach, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a delight... And pleasant surprise....

We have just spent a week for a mini vacation at LE MERIGOT in Santa Monica Beach CA. A second time at this property for "business trip" was just as good as our "pleasure" visit.

The location is great, the rooms were great and we were upgraded for being an Elite Member of the Marriott's Rewards program... The staff at the front desk especially Ms. Jessica Mahone and the restaurant greeters, wait staff, too many to name all here, Concierge Desk also took taken care of all our needs and helped us.

The weather of course was very helpful... Clear blue and sunny skies, no marine layer, no smog, no clouds... WOW I guess, it was "the week" when the mayor of LA, the Governor of CA and all of Hollywood Studios and all public relations personnel were out taking photos and videos all week promoting the "dreamlike" location, which should be on everybody's wish list to visit and must see.

Short of the long... SANTA MONICA LE MERIGOT, two thumbs up... Definitely recommend it... Will be there soon to enjoy it even more...

Room Tip: Most rooms may not have the view, I'd like to say who would like to be in the rooms, when there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the J.W. Marriott in Santa Monica this past weekend. The rooms are large, clean, very well appointed and a block from the beach. You can always depend on a J.W. Marriott. We also ate at The Lobster restaurant near the pier and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The La Merigot is situated within walking distance to the beach with its own back entrance leading towards the street. We were upgraded to an ocean view, however, there are buildings blocking the view so it's not a full view. The service was what you would expect for a JW. They have a concierge level which is nice, however, they do not offer breakfast vouchers on the weekends for Marriott Gold which is a perk that they should honor wether its a Monday or a Saturday.
The spa is worthy, the have a coffee station set up in the morning and newspapers available. They do not have queen beds, so if you book a room wanting two queens, you're going to get two doubles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here with my best friend & her family when we came up for a high shcool football game & just spent the weekend. The staff were polite, helpful & professional, as always with the Marriott & even moreso with the JW.
The location & grounds were AMAZING! We had the best view of the pool area & being one block off the of the Santa Monica boardwalk a beautiful partial ocean view. The outdoor lounge/setaing area was so tastefully designed & laid out as to have cozy areas ffor many diffferent people. The pool was rather small, but again you are one blcok from the ocean, so it wasn't an issue. The grounds were very well maintained & clean. Plenty of lounge area seating both inside the lobby & out on the patio area
You have direct access from the back of the hotel grounds out to the beach & being a few blocks from Santa Monica pier, it was the perfect location to take a to-go free tea service & walk down the pier at 8am :)
I did not use the spa services, but we did have desserts, drinks & breakfast at the hotel. all were very good. The creme brulee was my fav. The rooms were a good size as was the bathrooms.
There was an initial problem with a guest who left their pet unattended in the room next door, we heard the poor dog whimpering & whining for 30-45 mins. When we left our room for the football game & dinner we brought this to the front desks attention & the staff asked us if we wanted to move rooms & that they would take care of it. We stayed in the room & when we returned there were no noises coming from the room.
We also got helpful advice/suggetsions on time & trafffic when heading to the high school fottball game, without this we would have been VERY late for the game. Much appreciated.
You can't beat the location, customer service & style of the hotel for the price not only in Santa Monica but anywhere! Will DEFINITELY stay here again when I come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was bright, clean and empty. Could've used a jacuzzi. The hotel is clean and well-maintained but the carpets and furnishings were dated. The best part was the cool back access-way to beach. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights at the end of a road trip. Corner room with views and very clean.

Only imperfection was breakfast. No buffet and everything needed to be ordered breakfast costed $40 +tip and tax per person after adding everything. Pool is small, but the ocean is only a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.