We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 1000 Points
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Ferndale, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean but small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I would recommend this hotel if you have business in Santa Monica, Century City, or the westside of Los Angeles, but is too far from the beach for a vacation. I paid a price significantly less than comparable hotels were offering in the are. The room was clean and included both a microwave and refrigerator. As a plus, Trader Joe's is a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for chossing our Travelodge. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    481
    143
    35
    16
See reviews for
261
391
75
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Travelodge was exactly what I was looking for for my 3-day visit to West L.A./Santa Monica. I booked a room with king bed, refrigerator and microwave. Didn't want to pay for big hotel stuff that I never use (spas, restaurants, gyms, pools, salons, gift shops, etc.). This place offered the basics--*very* comfortable bed, *very* clean room, quiet, temperature was perfect (without having one of those noisy HVAC contraptions in the window), plenty of blankets, pillows, towels, etc. There was even a large flat screen TV. Didn't use the small breakfast room since I'd made other plans, but noticed that there were cookies out for guests when I returned each night. Without exception, staff were friendly and helpful. The place really feels welcoming. For me, one of the real perks of this Travelodge is that it's apparently a "smoke-free" hotel. What a pleasure not to have a "smoke-down-the-hall" headache once during my entire stay! I'd return to this Travelodge without hesitation, and I've recommended it to friends who visit West L.A. from time to time.

Room Tip: If something's not working when you first arrive, check to see if the cables have gotten knocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for telling us how we did. The staff is always glad to here that they did a good job. We hope you will come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel had received some very good reviews on trip advisor and that is why we selected the hotel. It did not disappoint us whilst the outside is old looking, currently plans are in place to update, the service, cleanlines and facility of rooms plus the breakfast were all very good. We had a car so we did not need to be on the beach at santa monica (where the price would have been substantially higher) there is a bus out the front that goes direclty to the beach. This is where the restaurants are.

Room Tip: I suppose get a roomnot facing Pico Blvd, our rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for takig the time to do a survey on our hotel We are very pleased that you were not disappointed and we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWELL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The stay at the Travelodge was wonderful!! The room was neat and clean, the bed was comfy, it was a block away from the bus line that can take you all over the city. The continental breakfast was great, plenty of food, juice and coffee. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we are even more pleased you will com eand stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INSTANBUL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

we only stayed two nights and on the map we had the impression that the hotel was closer to Santa Monica Seaside. Otherwise, we were happy with the hotel and experienced no problem. Everything was convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very nice hotel. The room was very clean. Room odor was perfect. In the room there was a microwave and a little breakfast area. The staff was very friendly. There is a free Internet and parking. It was a very nice stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room #315.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want a place by the beach, well... this isn't it. it's about 25 blocks from the beach. However... it is half the price of a hotel by the beach, and is clean, convenient and practical.
There is free parking, and free internet, two things that NONE of the beachside places offer. Free breakfast too, though I didn't partake. There is a very nice Trader Joe's store nextdoor, and the rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and a "kitchen table" area, so I had breakfast in my room each day: fresh organic fruits, yogurts and coffee. Plus, could have a nice cold beer at the end of the day, without paying crazy prices.

The bed, bedding and other amenities were very good quality, very comfortable.

There is a pleasant courtyard area, complete with barbecue grills, if you'd like to cook your own meals. No pool, but nice seating and secure gates, so you can relax outside and feel comfortable here. If that's not enough, well then, you are in Santa Monica, so you can drive, or take the convenient bus, down the road to the beach, and hang out there!

I stayed here once, while visiting my daughter, who lives nearby. Planning another trip soon, and carefully checked into all of the beachside hotels. All of them cost almost twice as much per night, and charge for parking, internet, and don't have in-room refrigerator/microwave/table...etc. None of them are near a healthy food store, where I can buy high quality foods, and some beautiful flowers to spruce up the place!

With the money I save I can have wonderful meals and do more shopping!!

Room Tip: The room I had was in the gates/courtyard area, in the 300 and 400's. It had the single king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time let others know about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Monica

Address: 3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Santa Monica 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Monica Pico Boulevard Hotel Santa Monica
Travel Lodge Santa Monica
Santa Monica Travelodge
Santa Monica Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.