We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for the price, great value in an expensive town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Santa Monica to your Saves list
Travelodge Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
rhode island
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent place for the price, great value in an expensive town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want a place by the beach, well... this isn't it. it's about 25 blocks from the beach. However... it is half the price of a hotel by the beach, and is clean, convenient and practical.
There is free parking, and free internet, two things that NONE of the beachside places offer. Free breakfast too, though I didn't partake. There is a very nice Trader Joe's store nextdoor, and the rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and a "kitchen table" area, so I had breakfast in my room each day: fresh organic fruits, yogurts and coffee. Plus, could have a nice cold beer at the end of the day, without paying crazy prices.

The bed, bedding and other amenities were very good quality, very comfortable.

There is a pleasant courtyard area, complete with barbecue grills, if you'd like to cook your own meals. No pool, but nice seating and secure gates, so you can relax outside and feel comfortable here. If that's not enough, well then, you are in Santa Monica, so you can drive, or take the convenient bus, down the road to the beach, and hang out there!

I stayed here once, while visiting my daughter, who lives nearby. Planning another trip soon, and carefully checked into all of the beachside hotels. All of them cost almost twice as much per night, and charge for parking, internet, and don't have in-room refrigerator/microwave/table...etc. None of them are near a healthy food store, where I can buy high quality foods, and some beautiful flowers to spruce up the place!

With the money I save I can have wonderful meals and do more shopping!!

Room Tip: The room I had was in the gates/courtyard area, in the 300 and 400's. It had the single king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time let others know about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    589
    172
    41
    16
See reviews for
352
510
98
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had a stressful situation with a rental car while I was visiting LA (a flat tire with no spare). I couldn't get any help from AAA or the rental car company and I was on a tight timeline to get back to the airport. Colleen and Leo were SO helpful. Leo went above and beyond and helped me fix my flat tire and made sure I got to the airport safely. They both made a very stressful experience much less so at a time I really needed it. I would have been stranded without them. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am pleased that Leo went out of his way to assist you. These types of things are what our hotel is so well known for. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were told at check-in this is the best Travelodge in U.S. and Canada, more like a Hilton. Not good news for either I'm afraid. Our room was two Queen beds and tt was a clean room but didn't have much going for it after that. It appeared they had taken a single queen or king and squeezed two queens into it making the room very tight. Upon entering the room there was a bed about 6 inches from the door. The second bed was about the same distance from the vanity/sink. so close that in order to use the sink one has to sidestep along the bed. Add to that no elevator and a lack of electrical outlets and it was not exactly the Hilton.

To be fair there is free parking the room was clean, the staff was helpful, and the cookies at the coffee bar were good, and for all I know the other rooms were less crowded. Be that as it may I couldn't recommened the double queen room..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Some rooms are smaller than others and we do apologize. Please feel free to ask for a larger room when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had to book a last minute weekend hotel and a google search of reasonably priced hotels in Santa Monica led me to the Travel Lodge. The staff was friendly and the rooms were large and clean.

The pros: affordable, great accommodations, clean rooms, and friendly staff.
The cons: heat was dry (I know you wouldn't normally need it but it was COLD in LA that weekend), street traffic on Pico Blvd could be noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Monica

Address: 3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Travelodge Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Monica Pico Boulevard Hotel Santa Monica
Travel Lodge Santa Monica
Santa Monica Travel Lodge
Santa Monica Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.