We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Stay Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel California to your Saves list
The Hotel California
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF @ HotelCA.com
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beach Stay Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel and staff were above and beyond what we expected. The staff is amazing, the hotel has a relaxing atmosphere although, I must warn the hotel is old, and can use some maintenance in the rooms. Can't say enough about the staff, James was truly a big part of why our stay was so great, He helped with transportation, made my kids laugh, and really made my family feel taken care of in every way. Breakfast buffet was excellent, great food, wonderful staff. We will definitely visit this hotel again on our next visit to Santa Monica! Great beach, awesome location for kids with all the fun games and rides on the pier!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We're so glad that you guys had such a great time while visiting us in sunny Santa Monica! It's awesome that you appreciated and took advantage of our newly upgraded breakfast offerings. When the family is ready to return I'll be here! Don't forget to bring your room key for your return guest discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    157
    89
    72
    58
See reviews for
146
179
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel California during the LA Marathon. The staff in the lobby were so nice, they even got us a deal on a ride to the airport. If you stay here make sure you ask for a room in the 30's. James and Aaron were so nice and went WAY out of their way to make our stay special. We are going to bring our family back here this summer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 30's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback! We are pumped you enjoyed your stay with us - Remember to bring your Hotel California room key for your return discount!

- James Broome
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

From the minute you walk in to the reception to the quaint interior courtyards - you will understand what makes Hotel California so unique and charming. Rooms are small but they are very comfortable (especially the beds). We had a shared lanai outside our room from which it was nice to wake up and have coffee and see the beach. Location just a block from the beach, Santa Monica Pier and walking distance to Promenade make it worth and you save time and hassles of Santa Monica/LA Traffic - which is a beast ! #lol

Room Tip: If you get a west facing room on the 2nd floor or if one of the larget private balcony ones are open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
"Unique and charming"...we are humbled by such grand praise! You also mention our "comfortable" beds - well, we do have authentic BEAUTY REST mattresses in each room..."charming" to know our efforts are not in vain...but appreciated! Thank you :)

James Broome
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great little hotel. in a perfect location. The staff is very friendly and efficient. It's nice tofind such a place with a soul which is not like your usual impersonal and industrial chains. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
In regards to your words, "soul", a short note from the hotel owner - The DUDE - "WE ARE NOT THE BEIGE BRIGADE!"

You literally made our day! We love attention to detail - one of a kind in-room murals, gold lounge chairs, surfboard headboards, etc. We are thrilled you enjoyed a unique experience!

James Broome
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel. It is the best value in Santa Monica. It's not fancy, no pool or room service. My junior suite was different this time. The second bedroom did not have a door on it. It was not very private but for one night it was okay. I would ask for a junior suite with a door next time. The bathroom is small and if you are tall you may have to duck to get under shower head. Parking is expensive at $36 a night and the lot only fits 10 cars. There is limited street parking. The beds are very comfy. We kept our second floor door open to see the ocean and get a breeze into the room. Katie was very helpful when we checked in. There was a pizza party but we went out for seafood. Aaron moved cars around so I could get mine out. It's tight. I would stay here again if I was coming to go to the beach or trip to Los Angeles. It's a very nice place, excellent price just nothing fancy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful post! "The best value in Santa Monica" - wow...that says it all!!

The bed is "comfy" because of the BEAUTY REST mattress we place in every room. Glad you enjoyed it! We also host those pizza parties regularly - and of course it's our treat for our awesome guests like yourself. Remember to bring your souvenir room key when you visit us again - you'll get that return discount!

James Broome
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed with a couple of girls a few weeks ago and had such a wonderful experience! Everything from the location to the room to the staff could not have been better!! Katie at the front desk was always so helpful and sweet and did everything to make us feel welcome! We are definitely planning on staying here every time we visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Chelsea. We enjoyed hosting you and your friends. It's so pleasant to hear when our guests enjoy and appreciate everything Santa Monica and The Hotel California has to offer. Remember to bring your souvenir room key when you visit us again so you can get that return discount!

We'll keep The Hotel California rockin' and rollin' until your return...

James Broome
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

As anyone who has traveled to Santa Monica knows, it is a very busy location, any day of the week. The hotel California is right in the middle of it all, but when staying here you feel like you are at your own little private island getaway. The rooms are spacious, the showers are hot, and the beds are comfortable. What more do you need in southern California?!? The location being only steps from the beach, and a few blocks from 3rd St. promenade what more can you ask for? It's perfect. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. If you want advice on where to eat or where to go they will tell you personal experience's and recommend a great place. Katie who works at the front desk really made us feel welcome. She gave us great advice about different activities to try and did not let us down. She is most definitely an asset for the Hotel California!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Erik - you're a rockstar! You summed up The Hotel California and the surrounding area perfectly...

"You feel like you are at your own little private island getaway." We're floored, my man!! We put a ton of effort into our place and we are absolutely PUMPED you had such a rad experience. We look forward to seeing you again - we'll keep the pizza hot for you. Keep rockin' and rollin', Dude!

James Broome
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.