We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel California

Save Saved
You added The Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel California
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, the staff here are great, really friendly and helpful. The location is excellent you literally walk down the steps cross the road and are on the beach right by the pier.

However the rooms are quite small, and it was quite noisey at night from the street. The breakfast also is not up to much. And parking is very pricey but you can park on the street for free overnight and it is safe.

You are basically paying for location here so it would be great if stopping for a few nights. However if you are looking for a romantic get away you will need to spend more as Santa Monica expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    123
    76
    65
    58
See reviews for
106
143
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a great spot. I took my daughter and her best friend on a weekend trip to Santa Monica in August 2013. It was a last minute decision; I made the decision on Friday morning. My neighbor had told us about Hotel California from a recent stay. They enjoyed it immensely. Fortunately, Hotel California had last minute deals that worked out for us. Great spot! We were walking distance to the beach, pier and other restaurants... and the Promenade. The hotel was clean and had a lot of character. Everyone was super nice and very accomodating. We never heard noises from other guests but then again we took in so much sight seeing that we were all exhausted by night fall. Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like all hotels in Santa Monica, it is quite expensive but we got a HUGE apartment for two persons, much better than the nearby hotels, which charged the same rates. Only downpoint is that parking is quite expensive (around 30$...and there are not many options for parking in the street in Sta. Mónica) and has very limited space (you can park in the hotel next door for the same rate though), but overall great hotel and very good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

and with that I learned all about the amount and size of the polyps found during a colonoscopy on the guest in the next room as he sat outside at 11pm. The Hotel California is quaint, has character and is very cute. HOWEVER! it has 6 parking spaces and they charge you 36 dollars a night to park! good luck finding any parking close by! beware! ALSO the Hotel has tables outside the rooms but somehow has forgotten that those tables encourage guests to sit outside at all hours and babble while you're trying to sleep! the walls are paper thin and you hear the next rooms loud footsteps on the hard wood floors, toilet flush, television etc. again it is a gorgeous little hotel with good location and the staff was friendly but not out going or happy to see anyone, they are just.."there" I think you know what I mean, kinda like standing in line at the DMV in the old day.s ..NEXT! This hotel had plenty of charm but is NOT sleep friendly....NO WAY JOSE! if you dont mind paying 36 bucks for non existent parking and listening to the moron next door at midnight this is the place for you!..oh the place is clean.

Room Tip: if you stay here try one of the side rooms maybe they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair oaks ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

fun, funky and clean- easy walking to beach, restaurants, coffee, pier and fun little streets like Main- nice patio tables to sit out and have coffee or a beer-parking on site or next door at loew's ($36)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hey Guys,

We really appreciate this great review from you guys. You absolutely utilized the location and value of our hotel in the best possible way. We really hope you come back to enjoy The Hotel California again soon!

Best,

Michael
Front desk/Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Not worth the money...step back in time and you can imagine the decor, the broken green tiles in the shower, the old stained wood furniture, no AC, limited parking, musty smelling rooms, street noise, un-engaged front desk attendant. You can do better with your $250 a night, trust me. The beach is not close, behind a bunch of old buildings.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angaston, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Terrible. Location was great, and that's where it ended.
Looked at the rooms online before booking, arrived(about 7 pm at night), and went to our room and could not believe how small the room was. It was a dog box. It also smelt of urine (room above office upstairs). I was so disappointed that I my heart sank to my stomach as soon as we opened the front door. My husband went downstairs and advised we would not be staying, as at $300 a night, it was nowhere near worth the money. The man at front reception was rude and argumentative, and in the end, he advised he would not charge us if we have him $20. Best $20 we have ever spent.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Please Note that this guest "claimed" they stayed 1 year ago and just now have written a review on their stay. As you can see recent reviews do not reflect the picture this review paints of the Hotel California. I can assure any future guests with full confidence that this is not how operations are run at our establishment and we are investigating this review to be taken down immediately for its false information.

Michael
Front Desk/ Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier. Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.