We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"wake you up in the middle of the night, just to hear them say...."” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel California to your Saves list
The Hotel California
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save 10%
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Monterey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"wake you up in the middle of the night, just to hear them say...."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

and with that I learned all about the amount and size of the polyps found during a colonoscopy on the guest in the next room as he sat outside at 11pm. The Hotel California is quaint, has character and is very cute. HOWEVER! it has 6 parking spaces and they charge you 36 dollars a night to park! good luck finding any parking close by! beware! ALSO the Hotel has tables outside the rooms but somehow has forgotten that those tables encourage guests to sit outside at all hours and babble while you're trying to sleep! the walls are paper thin and you hear the next rooms loud footsteps on the hard wood floors, toilet flush, television etc. again it is a gorgeous little hotel with good location and the staff was friendly but not out going or happy to see anyone, they are just.."there" I think you know what I mean, kinda like standing in line at the DMV in the old day.s ..NEXT! This hotel had plenty of charm but is NOT sleep friendly....NO WAY JOSE! if you dont mind paying 36 bucks for non existent parking and listening to the moron next door at midnight this is the place for you!..oh the place is clean.

Room Tip: if you stay here try one of the side rooms maybe they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    142
    85
    70
    57
See reviews for
135
164
46
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fair oaks ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

fun, funky and clean- easy walking to beach, restaurants, coffee, pier and fun little streets like Main- nice patio tables to sit out and have coffee or a beer-parking on site or next door at loew's ($36)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hey Guys,

We really appreciate this great review from you guys. You absolutely utilized the location and value of our hotel in the best possible way. We really hope you come back to enjoy The Hotel California again soon!

Best,

Michael
Front desk/Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Not worth the money...step back in time and you can imagine the decor, the broken green tiles in the shower, the old stained wood furniture, no AC, limited parking, musty smelling rooms, street noise, un-engaged front desk attendant. You can do better with your $250 a night, trust me. The beach is not close, behind a bunch of old buildings.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angaston, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Terrible. Location was great, and that's where it ended.
Looked at the rooms online before booking, arrived(about 7 pm at night), and went to our room and could not believe how small the room was. It was a dog box. It also smelt of urine (room above office upstairs). I was so disappointed that I my heart sank to my stomach as soon as we opened the front door. My husband went downstairs and advised we would not be staying, as at $300 a night, it was nowhere near worth the money. The man at front reception was rude and argumentative, and in the end, he advised he would not charge us if we have him $20. Best $20 we have ever spent.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Please Note that this guest "claimed" they stayed 1 year ago and just now have written a review on their stay. As you can see recent reviews do not reflect the picture this review paints of the Hotel California. I can assure any future guests with full confidence that this is not how operations are run at our establishment and we are investigating this review to be taken down immediately for its false information.

Michael
Front Desk/ Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here one night. After retrieving our lost luggage at airport we called around 1:00 to see if we could check in early which the hotel allowed us to check in only an hour early so we beached it until we that time. We received a warm welcome at check in. The front desk suggested a nice restaurant for us to try out. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds (2 adults and teenager) that faced the main road. I wished the rooms were a bit bigger. The bathroom did have some newer upgrades which was nice. The only thing that I found uncomfortable was there was no air conditioning so the room was stuffy early evening however cooled down as night set in and ended up comfortable for sleeping. Great location a block from pier action and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel California for my birthday where my girlfriend and I were treated with such respect and care that we actually decided to stay another night. It was right next to the Santa Monica pier and seconds from the beach. The rooms were refreshing and clean, and it was really nice to have your own kitchen as well with pots, pans, and utensils. The guy at the front desk, Mike i believe his name was, helped us find great restaurants and bars to go to for the nights. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Bryan,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We loved having you guys stay with us for your birthday and it's so good to hear you had an awesome time! Please come back and stay again next time you are down by the beach.

Cheers,

Michael
Front Desk/Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just cam back from a 2 week trip through California, and the stay at this charming and delightful hotel was the highlight. The location is crazy great, the staff is super friendly and helpful, and the rooms are full of character. When I first found out the hotel had no A/C ( after I already booked it), a shudder of fear crept over me. I hate the heat and I could just picture what my wife and two teenagers would say. When I read the responses from the hotel that mentioned that the ocean breeze was enough, my initial though was , "yeah, right". Well, they were right. In the middle of August , we needed covers every night. Yes, there is some noise from the lively street scene in front of the hotel. So, what? We liked to hear that we were in a cool place. Maybe our NYC home makes us less delicate than most. At the end of the day, we loved our junior suite. Clean and comfy, with excellent maid service. This place is right on the beach and a block from the Santa Monica pier. It's funny, I actually felt bad for the guests I saw go into the giant Loews hotel next door, while I enjoyed the casual warmth and charm of our hotel. I'd recommend this place to anyone. If you want every luxury imaginable, look elsewhere. If you want to feel like you are in a nice SoCa hotel, right next to the beach, with a kind staff and a place that has heart, try here. I can't imagine anyone that booked this place through the website could ever complain. They must do it just to be contrary.

Room Tip: If you are going with family, try for the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.