We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel California to your Saves list
The Hotel California
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF @ HotelCA.com
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family of four spent two lovely nights. Most of all the staff is great! Laid back, nice, and very professional. Answered all of our questions. We were central to all of our destinations: colleges, beaches and restaurants. Great price, nice room (love the mural on the ceiling and surfboard headboards) and Santa Monica is a trip. The gentleman at the front desk (from San Diego via Bay Area) told us to go to Jinky's and we went there a second time. Only minus, construction in downtown Santa Monica is a drawback.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Martin,

I can't tell you how much we love your review. We really appreciate you sharing this awesome experience with us and tripadvisor so others can see the advantages our location and knowledgeable staff offer other families and visitors. I am so happy you enjoyed my recommendation for breakfast (Jinky's Cafe on 2nd). They do a fantastic job and everyone always seems to be very happy with their meal and service! I hope the rest of your vacation was just as wonderful and please come back next time you take vacation in Santa Monica!!

Cheers,

Michael
Front Desk/Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    156
    89
    72
    58
See reviews for
145
178
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I love the Hotel California!!! That said, lets be sure you have your expectations in check. You are staying right next door to the Lowes for one third the price, you have parking steps from your room so prepare to pay for it, the rooms around back face the ocean (with a few buildings in between). There is a quaint courtyard and ocean view from the top floor rooms. The rooms are modest, in a renovated style motel with kitchy decor reminiscent of the 1960's beach boys days. Now that that is behind us, lets focus on the great features of this local motel: It is steps to the pier, the beach, shops on 3rd and hundreds of great restaurants! The beds are comfortable, there is a mini fridge, coffee and Continental breakfast are included. **There is no air conditioning but we didn't need it. The breeze off the water coupled with the ceiling fan is fine. There is noise till the wee hour but that is too be expected in this neighborhood so if that is a problem you should stay further inland or in a more enclosed property.

Room Tip: Get one facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Castlerockmom,

What a wonderfully written review!! So glad you LOVED it at The Hotel California in Santa Monica. Especially coming from someone that has reviewed so many hotels/motels, such a insightful and thorough assessment of our wonderful features is fantastic. As someone who knows her stuff I greatly appreciate you pointing out the fact that our location and staff accomplishes exceed expectations for being a 2-3 star hotel and how many advantages there are to staying with us. Again thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

Mike
Front Desk/Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

my daughter and i spent two great nights at the Hotel California this July
>this is not a 5 star hotel BUT it was clean and desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
>the location was perfect for visiting all the area colleges and true to California some driving was involved(of course we had a convertible)
>back to the hotel....as i said the rooms were clean but small with surfer motif through out..
>the continental breakfast was nothing special but the coffee was always hot and fresh day and night
>bathrooms were small and reminded me of my first apartment except they were clean :)
>overall we enjoyed our stay and would return to this location(the beach is less than a 5 min. walk)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzac, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a lovely place....and plenty of room, stayed there for pleasure with my daughter, and what a great time. The rooms had so much character, the beds were very comfortable (and if you knew me, I'm hard to please when it comes to mattress) had a great sleep. The beach was in walking distance and restaurants and cafes are close by. The staff were awesome, very friendly, helpful and very informative about tourist sites and out of the way places that had great culture for the area. They couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this great landmark as the place to stay, it was very, and I mean very clean, better than any five star I stayed in. As I said before the staff was amazing, but our favourite was Mike, talk about outstanding hospitality, we were made to feel comfortable, but also enthusiastic to see all the sites the area offered. Had a remarkable fun time. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Hotel ist located near the beaches in Santa Monica, the Persons who worked there we're very friendly and handsome, the Roms are nice, clean, comfortable and they are really big sized.
We loved it and we recommend it to everyone, except to those who want a 5*Hotel. to all the others: just try it out, you will see...
Martin, Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Martin,

What a great review! All of us here are delighted we made your families stay memorable and as fun as it was. I really appreciate your acknowledgement of the type of hotel we are and who would love this place. The person who is looking for 5 star amenities is always going to be disappointed (fair enough since we are a 2-3 star hotel) but those who go out and experience all that Santa Monica and Venice have to offer plus a comfortable and clean room in the best location always have a blast! Again thank you so much and we hope you come back and see us soon.

Cheers,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I did a lot of hotel research before going to Santa Monica, and the only properties on the beach (where you don't have to cross Highway 1) are 5-star hotels (Loews, Shutters, Casa del Mar). Hotel California, on the beach, found its place amongst these expensive hotels with a quaint, California chill, personal service difference at half the price. So don't go expecting high-end luxury, but DO go expecting a clean room, great personal service from the front desk (thanks Michael), and a location that is steps from the beach and The Promenade (great restaurants, Bloomingdale's, Nordstrom, etc). If you are going there to stay in your room, then invest in the expensive hotels. But if you're going to Santa Monica to drink in the beach, enjoy awesome food, and great people watching all within steps of your hotel, stay at Hotel California.

Room Tip: Great courtyard rooms with windows providing cross ventilation let you sleep with a cool ocean breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Wade,

You are SO very welcome! It was such a pleasure having you guys stay with us and it made me so happy to see you guys having such a wonderful time at The Hotel California. We are the smaller, more quaint boutique hotel surrounded by the big chains on the beach but we can't ask for anything more than a review like this! Its so great when a guest recognizes that given where you are (closest property to the SM pier and steps away from the beach) it is the best value you can find on Ocean Avenue compared the the $600 per night heavyweights around us. If you want a clean, friendly and open place to stay that is no more than a 3 block walk from all the hot spots in Santa Monica at half the price of all the 5* competition THIS is it. Again wade, thanks so much for reaching out and giving us such a sterling review and please come back and see us when you feel The Hotel California "vibe" calling you back!

Cheers,

Mike
Front Desk/Supervisor of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is one of only a few properties directly on the beach in Santa Monica. Right on the boardwalk and at the original site of Muscle Beach, this location provides all kinds of options for exercise from a bike ride along the boardwalk to a full body workout on the ropes and rings course. The hotel is clean and has a series of courtyards and walkways that create a California charm you don't get from the chain hotels. Michael at the front desk is a great guy and made the stay that much better. We recommend staying here. Mike (San Francisco)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.