We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Nice for a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

I attended a conference here in March 2005. The conference facilities were some of the nicest I've been to. They were tucked back from the rest of the hotel just enough that they were out of the way, without being isolated in a dismal cavernous wing, as with so many other hotels.
My room was absolutely tiny, but gorgeously decorated with fine linens on the bed. I'm just glad I didn't have to squeeze my husband in. The plantation doors to the bathroom were weird, as another rater pointed out, but they went so nicely with the overall theme of the room that I forgave the designer. Room service was a rip-off, as was the $26 dollar a day parking fee and the high-speed internet fee (free at most hotels).
The location is nice, at the far end of the 3rd street shops and restaurants, but definitely NOT right on the beach.
I really enjoyed this as a sophisticated well-run business hotel, but for a leisure trip I'd choose another spot with a little more charm.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    340
    139
    73
    46
See reviews for
403
431
66
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for one night for business and had an amazing stay. The conference facilities are great for meetings with out of town clients, and everyone from my meeting then stayed overnight in one of the hotel's suites. The suites are large and spacious, with a fabulous bathroom and comfy living room. The bed itself is a king size with very good sheets.

We also had an excellent dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Everything at the dinner was outstanding, I enjoyed the rack of lamb and the tiramisu. For breakfast the next day I enjoyed eggs benedict. At each meal, the waiters brought us a complimentary something extra: a caviar appetizer with dinner, and a giant fresh fruit plate with breakfast.

The facilities at the hotel are nice as well, there is a fitness room and wonderful spa and steam room. The pool looked nice, but closed so early that no one from my group was able to use it.

The only dissapointment came with a massage that I booked in the hotel spa. Although the prices were reasonable, the massage itself was quite bad, and the masseuse was fresh from France and did not yet speak enough English to comply with any requests.

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel, great for business, probably a little more stuffy than what I would choose for a family vacation though.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2005

My sister, daughter and I stayed at the Miramar for the first week of March. The location of this hotel can't be beat. Right across from the beach and within walking distance to Third Street Promenade and the pier. We stayed in the tower, 2nd floor, with the room overlooking the pool and a view of the ocean. The beds were wonderful as were the duvets and pillows. The only complaint I would have with the room was the door to the bathroom. It is a shutter type door and was very difficult to close so there was no way a person could be quiet if having to using the bathroom at night. With that type of door as well, it wasnt very sound proof so you could hear everything and I mean EVERYTHING that was done in there. I really think they should replace those doors!

The restaurant was very expensive. We had two cups of coffee and one cheesecake and the total bill was $21 - the cheesecake was nothing to rave about either. Needless to say we ate off site most of the time. The pool and hot tub were excellent though.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly, especially the concierge and front desk. Also, there really isnt a small store anywhere near the hotel to purchase snacks and the gift shop (if you can call it that) had nothing for selection. No way was I paying the prices in the room for their snacks!

I would truly recommend this hotel if you are looking for luxury and location but unless you enjoy overpaying for average meals, I would dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

We went to Santa Monica for a wedding and combined the trip with a weeklong vacation with the kids. We couldn't have had a better time or picked a better place to stay. The location is unbelievable, right across the street from the beach and a block from the 3rd St Promenade. Our room was HUGE and beautiful. The pool is gorgeous and the service was excellent. My only complaint is that I loved it so much I didn't want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2005

We just came back from a spontaneous getaway to Santa Monica to escape the cold :). This hotel was very nice w/standard Fairmont service and amenities. Our room in the tower was a bit on the small side, but the view was great. Ask for an even number room facing North so you'll be able to see the gorgeous sunset. Best thing about this hotel is the location -- it's a 2 min walk to the beach or the 3rd street promenade. We walked past many of the other hotels on the beach and thought the Fairmont had the best location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, N.M.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2004

I stayed at the Fairmont on a weekday night, and, having joined the Fairmont's President Club on-line, I was upgraded to a 9th floor room in the new tower with a fabulous full ocean view. Everything was perfect, from the valet service to the prompt, pleasant front desk staff, to a lovely breakfast at the in-house restaurant. The room furnishings are luxurious, with a beautiful marble-tiled bathroom. The bed was fantastic, with huge, fluffy pillows. By Santa Monica standards, this hotel is really not so pricey, and you get beautfiul surroundings for your money. Only complaint was the in-house exercise room, which was so-so. It has fairly out-dated equipment, and is pretty cramped. I didn't have a chance to try the pool, but the patio/pool setting is certainly very attractive. Considering that the Fairmont is in the heart of Santa Monica, it retains a nice atmosphere inside the grounds of an oasis. The hotel's location, right between the beach and 3rd St. Promenade, is perfect for walking to either. Will most definitely stay here again. I highly recommend the Fairmont Miramar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.