We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for young children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
1 review
“Wonderful for young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

My husband, daughter and I recently stayed at the Fairmont Miramar in Santa Monica for two nights prior to leaving on a week long cruise to Mexico. We had a wonderful experince. All of the staff were warm and helpful, but the thing that really blew me away was the thought and preparation the hotel had put into welcoming our 10 month old daughter who was traveling with us.

Upon arrival we quickly were given an early check in as requested and were personally escorted to our suite. We had opted to go with suite for the extra space need for an infant - a bit pricey but well worth it. When we entered the room there was a full size crib (not a play pen like so many hotels give you) and a diaper pail all set up in the room. The crib had a welcoming package for my daughter containing a travel set of baby toiletries (baby shampoo, lotion, powder, diaper cream, etc.), a package of travel wipes, and a teddy bear! So often when traveling with an infant you are made to feel that it is a hassle for the hotel - not in this case.

The location of the hotel is also fantastic not to mention the beauty of the hotel itself. It is only a couple of blocks away from the fashionable 3rd street promenade and about a 20 minute walk from the Santa Monica pier. We wanted to stay somewhere that we didn't need a car because of the difficulties around traveling with a car seat. There are lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. We had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Miramar and would definitely go back and recommend to friends and family.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    366
    152
    79
    51
See reviews for
441
457
73
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We had booked in to the Cal Mar Hotel in Santa Monica as a result of Tripadviser reviews, however when we arrived there we were disappointed with the standard of accommodation, as well as the appearance of the swimming pool. There was also very noisy renovation work going on (jack hammering of the concrete walkways outside the rooms). So we cancelled our booking there and drove round the block and found the Fairmont, which looked very impressive and was located directly across the road from the beach. They offered us a stand-by rate of $299, which wasn't alot more than Cal Mar. We stayed for 5 nights and we loved it. The room was spacious and comfortable. The pool was beautiful. The gym was fantastic, clean, spacious, fresh fruit daily, very well equipped. The business centre was well equipped and the internet was free. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were professional, pleasant, helpful and seemed to be enjoying their jobs. The hotel is close to the Third Street Promenade which has fantastic shops and restaurants. The area feels safe to walk around and is handy to drive to Hollywood, Getty Museum, and other attractions. We look forward to our next visit to the Fairmont.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — $30 per day valet parking charge
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Miramar for a two day, two night in-town getaway and I have to say we truly felt like we were on vacation in our own city. We stayed in one of the bungalows which was spacious, nicely furnished and very comfortable (though most have no ocean views, the beach is just across the street and you do get privacy and space). For beach views you'd want to stay in the tower or an upstairs bungalow. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, from the moment we checked in to the housekeeping staff, restaurant and concierge. I had two wonderful massages at the spa and the pool, though small, was nicely appointed. The grand front gates, motor court and the enormous, 180 year old fig tree that sits at the front entrance lend a beautiful historic feel to the property, something that is sorely lacking in Los Angeles. While there may be newer hotels in Santa Monica, the Miramar has been beautifully updated and we highly recommend it.

  • Liked — spacious, newly remodeled
  • Disliked — poor quality sheets, which the front desk was embarassed to learn about.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

I had the very good fortune of being given a penthouse room at corridor's end which meant i was one of the few on each floor that faced the Pacific Ocean. I slept with the door open all night, it was great!

The hotel is clearly an older design with plenty of renovations and gets a lot of traffic in a relatively small public space footprint.

Service is not attentive to the smallest detail but is passable for a hotel of this class and expected so therefore not unwelcome.

The room was clean and casegoods, etc. in good condition.

  • Liked — Proximity to ocean and location in Santa Monica
  • Disliked — Nothing stands out
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Fairmont, Santa Monica! Here are some of the key details that led to planning a great getaway, and enjoying ourselves once we arrived!!! ;)

*as President's Club members (a free club within Fairmont, go ahead & join...pretty decent perks!) we booked through their monthly promotion "Great Dates, Great Rates." This is advertised for 1 week, at the beginning of each month. We got a rate of $169 per night, which was a deep discount from the regular room rate. We booked a city view room w/ 2 double beds, and upon arrival were upgraded (for FREE) to an Ocean View KING room, on the 5th floor, #539. Balcony overlooks Ocean Ave, and the Pacific! Great for viewing the sunsets.

*free wireless internet in our room, another freebie as President's Club members

*ate at the Koi lounge a few times.... service was good-great... depending on your server...Natalie was very good...

*asked for a late checkout our last day, due to having a red-eye flight home... checkout was noon... we would have been happy with an extra hour or two... Kimberly (excellent girl!) at the front desk said, without hesitation "Will a 6pm checkout be alright?" We were floored!!! It made all the difference that we got that extra time and did not have to worry about storing our luggage.

*Property is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

*Valet parking is $30 per day... never had an issue getting our vehicle quickly

*some of the hotel is still under renovation... this did not inconvenience our stay... but just a note to those interested the progress of this work...

*swimming pool area is very pretty... lots of comfortable loungers... unfortunately, the rumors are true... the pool does not get ANY sun... and the pool is not heated... we did not use the pool...

*SPA- looks very nice, menu of services looks very tempting, but unfortunately, the prices are SKY HIGH...

*room- had a nice flat screen tv... comfortable bed... pillows were not so great but they did the trick!

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice stay in the Santa Monica area! The bungalows looked really nice as well, although not sure if they get the ocean views...

DINING OPTIONS in the area that we tried:
Koi lounge @ the Fairmont, moderately priced, but good food
California Pizza Kitchen, lunch was apx $12pp
Cafe Crepe, breakfast was apx $9pp, plus beverages
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co, on the Pier, fairly inexpensive menu.

  • Liked — location- close to the beach
  • Disliked — extremely high prices at the Spa
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Very well-located, friendly staff, nice rooms.
No complaints, whatsoever.
Family friendly.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

I went to the Miramar in November with my husband and 4 year old son - we had a fabulous time. Upon arrival, we were greeted by efficient staff, received a large size room - as we had requested, and were signed up to their loyalty program which provided us free internet access in the hotel. The soft toy for my son on arrival was also a nice touch!

We stayed in a Pallisades double room. It was spacious and beautifully furnished. Although there were 3 of us in the room, we did have enough space to spread out a bit. We struggled a little with storage space - there was only one small wardrobe. The room was very clean, and the amenities were gorgeous.

We enjoyed the pool area - although because of the buildings around it, it doesn't get very much sun. It is heated to a really warm temperature though. There was very few people at the pool whenever we went. There was construction of a new restaurant going on beside the pool, but we didn't really feel impacted by it.

The hotel's location is excellent. it is one block from the promenade, and across the road from the beach (although quite a walk to get down the cliff to the sand). Starbucks is just a block away, but we loved the Panera Bakery, one block further up Wilshire. It had great bread, sandwiches, soup and bagels. We are also still craving the cupcakes from Yummy Cupcakes and Vanilla Bakehouse, both about a block from the Miramar on Wilshire. Another favourite eatery of ours was the Broadway Deli, at the opposite end of the Promenade from the Miramar - it had a wide range of food, and was consistently good.

We walked around the Promenade until quite late a number of nights and at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened in any way. There are a number of homeless people in the Promenade, but no-one meaning any harm. We saw a number of interesting buskers/entertainers at night time - some draw quite a crowd. The bubble man and the skate boarding dogs were the biggest hits for us!

If you need a coffee in the morning (as I do) we found the coffee in the lobby to be quite reasonably priced, and very nice!

My only regret is not having gone to the spa. On our final night we had a late departure, and the hotel kindly allowed us use of the spa to get ready, since we had already checked out of our room. When I went in there I was amazed at the facilities - it was gorgeous, and I will definitely be going there when next I stay in this hotel.

We used the public buses to get around Santa Monica and found them easy to navigate, clean and safe. We would highly recommend them.

There are miles of bike and walking paths along the beachfront. There are a number of places close to the Hotel where you can hire bikes of all descriptions. An ideal way to spend some of your time here.

Overall, we had a fabulous stay and the Miramar, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — the location and pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.