We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun anniversary night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com amextravel.com
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Santa Monica
2 reviews
“Fun anniversary night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were given a darling bungalow by the pool with champagne on ice and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Eight of our closest friends joined us to watch an amazing sunset, we settled in between the bungalows in a charming outdoor area with a beautiful view where we sipped champagne. The dinner at Fig was perfection, the waitress was so knowledgable about every dish, between the eight of us that ordered, everyone raved about their meal with tastes of each going around the table! Fig surprised us with dessert - service was great - can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    672
    273
    107
    64
    35
See reviews for
312
339
55
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

You simply can't beat the location, period! Service is classic Fairmount, amongst the best the industry can offer. BUT -- the infrastructure, while updated frequently and kept in excellent condition, is dated and rooms are amongst the smallest you will ever encounter. For sure, each room has sliding glass doors to a patio with ocean view -- obviously the higher and further west the better. I've been coming here for 30 years and although I have tried several other hotels in the area I keep returning the Miramar. One MUST is brunch on the patio, watching the turtles sunning themselves near your table.

Room Tip: High floors towards the west are the best and most difficult to get. Don't forget brunch on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I just stayed there last night, and when I got home I realized I had left my very special stuffed animal there. I called right away and they had it waiting there for me and shipped it to my house. It was great!! An amazing trip too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A terrible welcome. We had two rooms booked and the bell boys asked if it was "ok to send them to one room and we could sort out" when checking in we were asked to wait, four staff stood there doing stuff. One room ready the other was not. No estimate given or facilities provided. 45 minutes after checkin bags still not in room. Chased 2 times.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear nickbelluk –

My sincerest apologies for the welcome you received upon arrival (or lack thereof). We saw your review come in while you were still here, and attempted to reach out to you but were unsuccessful.

I encourage you to reach out to me directly at carly.skinner@fairmont.com so you can let me know how the rest of your stay went. “Rude and unhelpful” are not the adjectives usually used to describe our staff, so I would love the opportunity to speak further.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I cannot rave about this hotel enough! I came here for my 21st birthday with my parents and best friends and the hotel and overall experience was phenomenal! I have to give special mention to Amber on the concierge desk! Amber, you made our hollywood dreams come true! Thank you so much for going above and beyond for us!!!!!

I will definitely come back to the Fairmont again and again. Amazing hotel with ideal location to 3rd street and the pier as well as brilliant facilities in the hotel.

If you are staying in the hotel definitely eat at Fig it was delicious!

Room Tip: Our parents had a better view of beach, but we still had an okay view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Worth the extra cost. Everything is first class. A great meal in Fig during happy hour was half off. Not often I get a bill that's less than the bottle of wine I ordered. I got to do my Whitey Bulger impression and walk along the beach. Didn't see the feds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear caliregit –

Thank you so much for the five star review! I wish I had the chance to meet you during your stay but unfortunately by the time I read this you had “Departed”.

See you next time?

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a great girls' weekend at the Fairmont. Beautiful location and impressive indoor/outdoor gym. Also, the hotel staff made sure that I had an extra special birthday celebration. Emily Elizabeth at the front desk in particular went out of her way to make sure that as soon as I stepped in the front lobby, my birthday would start out right. Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear alexandra m –

Happy Belated Birthday!! I have to agree we are the perfect spot for a girls getaway weekend – there really is no need to leave! I’m impressed you made time to work out during your vacation and were able to check out our recently renovated fitness center…hopefully you were able to indulge a bit in our other outlets and reward yourself!

Thank you for the shout-out for Emily! She’s one of the best, and that’s why we keep her front and center at the Front Desk. That type of personalized service is what we are all about.

See you next time!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Miramar Hotel
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list