We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After a long drive this hotel ticked all the boxes! We were greeted by a valet who parked the car, took our cases and handed us a drink. Check in was seamless, we were slightly early so the room wasn't quite ready. We left out belongings with the receptionist and went to get something to eat from the pool bar. Rooms are a good size and very clean. The pool area is quite small and we did struggle with sun beds but the staff were really helpful 9 times of 10 found us somewhere to sit. Santa Monica itself is my new favorite place, absolutely loved it and very much hope to return in the future and will definitely stay at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear leedslady083 –

Santa Monica has always been my favorite area of LA too, and I am so pleased we are your new favorite hotel in your new favorite vacation spot!! It sounds like service start to finish was spot-on, and I will be sure to share this with our staff here. Sorry about your frustration poolside, but that’s why we have such a fantastic team out there – to make pool chairs magically appear when you need them so you don’t miss a moment of sun!

Thank you for your review and please feel free to reach out to me directly to plan your next trip!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    288
    118
    66
    45
See reviews for
352
387
61
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I frequently visit Santa Monica, and when I do, I stay at the Fairmont Hotel & Bungalows. The location, wonderful service, amenities and beautiful grounds are what make this hotel such a great place to visit!

I have stayed in the Bungalows in the past, which I LOVE and are very cozy and comfortable. This time, however, I stayed in the high rise building with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The sunsets and sunrise were absolutely breath taking! The housekeeping staff kept our room impeccable, with morning coffee and newspapers, daily stay over service, and evening turn down service.

We utilized many of the hotel's amenities. We used the complimentary bikes to ride up and down ocean avenue, and visit the nearby Saturday and Sunday market. We also had the jeep bring us down to the beach where they had umbrellas and chairs waiting for us! The poolside service at the hotel is great, offering amazing cocktails and a wonderful menu from FIG Restaurant. So yummy! Near the pool is the relaxation center, which was so refreshing to visit after a long day at the beach.

Everything is just so close, easy and accommodating; just how a vacation should be! The Fairmont does it right! I can't wait to go back and visit. This is, hands down, my favorite vacation spot! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear JenniferColleen –

Thank you so much for your review and for your continued loyalty!! I love that you were able to experience a different room category this time around and get a sense of how we have a little something for all tastes. Your review clearly proves its title – we are the best hotel in Santa Monica!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The moment we arrived we felt welcome. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were completely happy and had everything we needed. They had complimentary bikes to use and my husband really enjoyed that. The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. We would definitely recommend this place to friends and are looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Tbfoot –

At the core of our standards, that is what we strive to do – make our guests feel welcome. Many people consider our hotel a home away from home, so we are working on perfecting the art of making our guests feel like family. I’m so glad we were so successful with you!! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and please let me know when you are ready to plan your return trip!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed in several santa Monica hotels and this one has something for everyone. There is a newer tower of rooms as well as an older tower with larger, nicely appointed rooms by the spa. In addition, you can stay in one of the beautiful bungles clustered outside , surrounding the pool and garden.
There is a restaurant and also outdoor dining is available adjacent to the lobby bar lounge where all three meals are served as well as late night drinks and snacks.
This is a great hotel for gathering as a family, as friends or for couples as well... And just steps from the beach and great restaurants too. Finally, the hotel provides guests with outstanding car service throughout the santa Monica area - which is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Vixvegas –

Your review perfectly sums up our property – we have something for everyone. Whether you want to be tucked away in a bungalow set back and secluded in our gardens, or enjoy the sunset from your 10th floor tower suite looking out towards Malibu, we have a room for you.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy our many amenities as well, and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully we see you again soon since you are just a short drive away in Vegas!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel but the service is what makes this place stand out. Upon check-out I had forgotten a very important and nice dress shirt in my room. It was hanging in the closet and was realized when I got to my cabin on a quick cruise for a bachelor party. When I returned home I called the hotel and they were on top of it. I spoke with Edgar Garcia and he personally went back to the lost and found area to find my shirt with the description I have him. He also shipped it back to me personally. Huge thanks to Edgar Garcia for help and professionalism on this. I will be back soon!!

Ryan
Scottsdale, AZ

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Ryan N –

I would say I will share this amazing feedback with Edgar personally, but I guarantee his team has already printed this out and posted it in the Risk Management office! What wonderful feedback and thank you so much for recognizing Edgar’s efforts. As a hotel, we always promote service-first, and this is a prime example of why we are so good at what we do.

I hope you enjoyed the bachelor party, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I travelled a lot and never saw staff like this, no one even looks at you when you pass by, no one says hello, they are laughing between them and do not even consider you. The restaurants and breakfast work without even looking at you, but playing with their chewing gum, it is really not appropriate.
The housekeeping team made amazing job, and were really nice, that is the only thing we were happy with.
The hotel is nice, good location, we loved the outside sofas behind the pool.
Never again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Lilou C –

I have to admit your review was very difficult to read amidst all the five star reviews we have been receiving. It sounds like we must have been having a seriously “off” day, and I will certainly address your comments with our staff to ensure we are always acknowledging our guests and NEVER chewing gum on the floor (if I find out who this was, there will be serious consequences as this is a huge pet peeve of mine…)

I encourage you to reach out to me directly so we can discuss your stay further. I hate to read you would never stay with us again, and I’m sure I can change your mind. I look forward to hearing from you!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The property feels like an oasis, service is great, and the rooms are very nice. The location cannot be beat. It's within walking distance to several very good bars, restaurants, running trails, yoga studios. The views to the north are incredible from the higher floor rooms. And the access to the rest of LA isn't bad with PCH and the 10 Freeway just down the California incline (depending on traffic). LA can feel like a concrete jungle but the Fairmont property is so lush with fountains and a very nice pool area, it feels like an escape. Best place to stay on the westside.

Room Tip: Stay in the new tower on a higher floor if you can get the rate you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear BWy128 –

Thank you so much for your review! I agree, we are perfectly positioned to enjoy not just everything Santa Monica has to offer, but Los Angeles as well. That’s why so many people choose to stay on the Westside – it’s a fantastic place to hide until rush hour is over! Who wouldn’t want to hang out by the beach or on the 3rd Street Promenade until dinner time?

See you next time!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;