We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Santa Monica Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Sydney. Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Santa Monica Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Fairmont Santa Monica was a great choice for our 3 night stay. This hotel is situated just a short walk to restaurants and great shopping also the famous Santa Monica Pier. There is the express bus service nearby that takes you into Los Angeles and Rodeo Drive etc. The position of this hotel is just opposite the beach with lovely gardens and great pool area. We had lunch with friends and breakfast everyday and would recommend eating here. If you like a change there are plenty of coffee shops close by and restaurants. It is an oasis in a busy city. The hotel staff were excellent . As we have stayed in several Fairmont Hotels, it was a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: When staying during the summer months be sure to ask for a quiet room due to the night club in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear ChrisJTourist –

Thank you for your review and for describing just how ideal our location is within Los Angeles! Most visitors prefer our location by the beach as opposed to staying within the hustle and bustle of a Central LA property. And thank you for highlighting our fantastic team…I will be sure to pass your kind words along!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    340
    140
    73
    46
See reviews for
403
431
66
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnation, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stay at the Fairmont fairly frequently for business, and on occasion bring my family as well. My latest trip was the latter type, and the Fairmont staff definitely stepped up to the plate. My wife has severe chemical sensitivities, and had a bad reaction to the new soaps and lotions the Fairmont had switched to on a previous trip a year or so ago. I reminded them of this before we arrived, and they made sure all of our bedding was not only hypoallergenic but was washed twice, the second time with only hot water to minimize any chemical residue. They even had similarly-handled cloth napkins in the Lobby Lounge, at Fig, and for room service, and one of the managers stopped by to make sure they had enough of those allocated to the areas we planned on eating!

Unfortunately, despite the fact that the entire hotel is a no-smoking zone, we had problems with rooms near us smoking on their balconies, resulting in cigarette smoke wafting into our room. The staff was responsive and tried to put a stop to it, but it is annoying to have to keep being driven off our balcony and having to call down to complain multiple times a day. I wish they would install smoke detectors on the balconies to dissuade people from smoking. We've had similar problems at other high-end hotels (including the Hyatt Regency on Kauai, which is about the nicest place we've ever stayed), and I would say the staff's response at the Fairmont is above average (although not as good as at the aforementioned Hyatt, which addressed the problem similarly but was more proactive about communicating with us and had better follow-up).

The pool is very nice and the area around it has been spruced up recently, so is in excellent shape. I really like the fact that the pool is both heated and salt-water, so you don't end up stinking of chlorine after a dip. The landscaping around it and the way it is enclosed by the two hotel wings plus bungalos makes it a nice oasis from the surrounding urbanity.

My wife and son really like the spa (or whatever it is where they do the manicures/pedicures). I have no opinion (and have never actually been into that part of the property). Unfortunately the workout area is being refurbished, so they had moved the machines to a banquet room which wasn't well-ventilated, so the air was a bit "thick". I prefer long walks outside anyway, but my wife is a workout freak so she and my son were disappointed (but used it anyway).

We really like the Lobby Lounge - great for people-watching and the staff is really friendly, plus they will let you order off the room service menu as well as their menu, so the options are reasonably extensive. We've eaten at Fig in the past and found it a bit much for our taste, but I did have a nice breakfast there this morning. The breakfast menu looked about the same as the Lobby Lounge but the atmosphere is fancier and the service more attentive.

Not quite as front-and-center, but the reservation staff did a great job of communicating my room options via email before our stay as well.

So overall another great stay. I'll be back in a week-and-a-half (but this time by myself).

Room Tip: The rooms in the Palisades building are larger but older and darker and sometimes a bit musty. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Kevin F –

As one of the people you corresponded with before your arrival, I’m so pleased your most recent stay went so well! And you’ll be happy to hear that our new and improved fitness center is up-and-running and is FANTASTIC!!! We’ve already gotten so much positive feedback about the updates.

I see you already have your next stay booked! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thanking you in person for your kind words and loyalty.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After reading many reviews I thought I had booked the right location. Unfortunately even though we paid for a beautiful ocean view and had the "farmous" Santa Monica pier in our sight, we had a party below us on the street side of ocean Blvd. The noise was so loud from the 7th floor we had to shut the door for the night and were not able to enjoy the beautiful ocean weather. Especially since it had just rained and cleaned up all the nasty air. Staff all around was friendly room was great, just askquestions about your room location upon check-in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear fu313x –

Thank you for your review and my sincerest apologies for the noise disturbance. Over the past few weeks, we have made several improvements to the noise and music coming from Bungalow. I guarantee if you return (which I certainly hope you do!) you will notice the difference immediately. And if you reach out to me prior to your arrival, I will ensure your room is situated in a much quieter section of the property, yet still with a balcony so you can enjoy those lovely ocean breezes!

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is well located if you plan on visiting Santa Monica, Malibu, and Pacific Palisades. You can easily walk to the 3rd Street Promenade, the Pier, and many restaurants. The Bungalow is located on property (not run by the Fairmont), and is a very cool space for the 40 and under crowd (but over 21).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagaponack, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had been staying in Palm Springs for the winter, running our business from there with trips to LA and stays at the beautiful Fairmont Miramar. We were driving back east and our first stop was at the Miramar. We never realized that we had brought a zippered briefcase of all our passports, keys and door openers to our home, checkbooks, the works into the hotel and never missed it until we tried to get into our home on Long Island. Thanks to the honesty of an anonymous person and the efficiency of Frank in the Risk Management Department, all was returned to us in time. Do not miss the opportunity to stay at this fantastic property where Wilshire meets Ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Apart from a rather stuffy receptionist as our first level of contact, the rest of the hotel staff were perfectly charming and exceptionally efficient, in particular the lady consierge on duty on Friday 28th June; who is an absolute treasure. The room was well maintained and immaculate with a comprehensive mini bar and other "requirements". A good nights sleep was had on both nights and the valet parking is well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Fairmont was a wonderful choice for our family reunion. We had four days of incredible service from the Valet, Concierge desk , Housekeeping and many more. We were able to enjoy the beautiful lobby, fountains, grassy lounging area, pool, and spa. We had a North facing room on the 9th floor, which faces towards Malibu, great view! It had a comfortable balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. The room had a chaise, which was positioned close to the sliding glass door, so that one could take advantage of the Pacific Ocean. We also had a complimentary newspaper delivered every morning as well as complimentary bottled water. The room was charming with an extremely comfortable bed. We took advantage of many of the amenities that the Fairmont has to offer: from the complimentary bicycles, complimentary house car and a very fun jeep ride to the ocean. The hotel also, had wonderful concierge service on the beach. One of our family members wouldn't have been able to join us on the beach due to physical limitations if we had not had the concierge services. She was wheeled out onto the beach and a wonderful time was had by all. The hotel is in very close proximity to the Third Street Promenade and directly across the street from Palisades Park which over looks the Pacific Ocean and has nice walking/running trails. We are looking forward to our next visit. A special Thank you to Alison for making this all possible!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.