We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
New York State
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a classy, beautiful hotel. We were upgraded to a bungalow and it was an incredible stay from start to finish. When we were shown to our bungalow, there was fresh fruit, cookies and bottled water waiting for us. Shortly after, an employee came to the door to inquire if we wanted ice. The staff was incredibly attentive and professional, the room was beautiful and sparkling clean, and the grounds were lovely and well maintained. I would highly recommend a bungalow at this property!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear TripleDeckers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are sto pleased to hear you enjoyed your accomodations in our bungalow rooms.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackie Kerns
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    339
    139
    73
    46
See reviews for
403
431
65
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, UK
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Maybe the rooms are just very different. Reading some of the reviews on here, some folks really didn't enjoy it. Well.... I did. The staff were delightful. It was rather pricey - so doesn't get five stars, but if I could get a deal, I would certainly go again....

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear avidh of england,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments! We agree, our views are some of the best in Santa Monica and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Please let me know if your travel plans bring you back to Fairmont Miramar and I will gladly assist with your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jackie
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent one amazing night at the Fairmont for a little solo R & R and I left totally recharged and wishing I could move in long-term. While the rooms are very small, the views are stunning. I had a slow check-in experience so the manager upgraded me to a full ocean view room and it was unforgettable.

The spa itself was so-so but the therapist was amazing and I got one of the very best massages of my life. There's a fantastic fitness center and a studio that offers yoga and other fitness classes - many for free.

Being a local, Fig restaurant has always been one of my top places to go on a Sunday at sunset. They definitely beat the room service. The bar area food was ok but Fig is where you really want to eat.

Fantastic pool area too. Literally feels like you're in Hawaii.

For tourists it's a great location because you can walk to the 3rd Street Promenade or the Ocean. For locals, it's a lovely getaway and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: High room and ocean view all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear djrhoffman,
Thank you for providing us with your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Fairmont Miramar. Our property does indeed offer many amenities that help our guests rest and relax and we are so happy to hear you experienced them during your visit.
Should you return to Fairmont Miramar in the future, please do not hesitate to let me know as I will be happy to assist you with your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jackie
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here!
We were fooled into thinking this hotel would have some charm and beach access!
There's a freeway between you and the beach and the hotel is just plain old.
On arrival there was no pleasantries, just sullen faces faking a smile... We should have turned and left.
The staff didnt improve, the cleanliness of the rooms and corridors was appalling and the hotel rooms are in desperate need of a remodel.
Keep your money and stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has been a favorite of my family for many years. However, on this trip we discovered a new nightclub has been opened on the property, and our room was most unfortunately situated on the side of the building where the club was located. Sleep was impossible as the sound from the very loud music were impossible to ignore. We were moved to a quieter room, only to discover a bug on the bed, whereupon we were moved to a third (and satisfactory) room. And.....the elevators were out of order for at least 24 hours, requiring all guests to use service elevators, which were disgusting. Unacceptable! This hotel has such potential - great location, beautiful grounds, nice rooms (which need updating) - but if Fairmont wishes to cater to the nightclub set, I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff are wonderful, the hotel is very neat and clean and breakfast overlooking the pool and tropical vegetation a joy. Our room was in the Ocean Tower. If you want a sunset to savor go for the north facing side rather than the south side which faces Santa Monica pier. The rooms are quite small, bathrooms are very small but the bed very comfortable. The hotel offers bikes for a ride on the beach cycle path but all were out at 9.00 when we thought we were setting off early. Clearly could do with some more

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel on many occasions through the years because of its convenient location to relatives who reside in the area. During one of our recent visits, our room was robbed. Someone entered while we were at dinner and stole an iPad and cash (from a wallet that we had forgotten to lock in the safe). The hotel compensated us reasonably but we will no longer feel as secure. The rooms in the Ocean Tower of the hotel are quite small and cramped. Many of the rooms are "tired" - possibly because the hotel seems to encourage pets; one sees many dogs with their owners in the lobby! The tub showers are old and frequently the fixtures do not work well. On the positive side, the hotel restaurant serves a nice breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the elevators are efficient. The hotel is very popular - probably because it is the only reasonable hotel in the Santa Monica area.

Room Tip: Ocean Tower, 8th floor or higher (these rooms are renovated), north facing for best view of ocean, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.