We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter in Santa Monica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“winter in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location of the hotel was perfect for our adventures in L.A. area. We were across the street from the ocean and were able to use the free BMW bikes that the hotel lets their guests use. The path goes from at least a 45 minutes bike ride with only having to go on the road a few times. Even with the rain the bike/walking/running paths were in good shape. The hotel was decked out for the holidy season and the grounds well tended. The restaurant has wonderful food all day. Staff were helpful and friendly. Shopping was a few blocks away, with 2 street makets weekly. Lots to do in this area of L.A

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    380
    156
    85
    54
See reviews for
463
483
76
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

wife and I stayed here for 4 nights end of november 2012. Good position to beach and shopping but definitely not 5 star. Bell staff were good, Kaitlin at reception was exceptional, however concierge Azar was the most unhappy and abrupt person we met in the states over 2 weeks vacation, which was a bad look for a suposed first class hotel.Fig restaurant is a little expensivefor our thoughts. Room was lovely but still missing the mark. The pool is on the shadey side of hotel, so area was very cool and uninviting. Sorry fairmont it is back to Hilton chain for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Laurie W,

First and foremost please note that your comments- both positive and not so positive have been addressed with the appropriate staff members.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with other areas of the hotel. I do invite you to telephone or email me at your convenience to discuss this further. It is our goal to have guests' leave the property with impactful and positive memories that keep guests happy they came, sorry to leave and eager to return!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,

Jackie Kerns
Guest Relations
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
310-319-3164
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everything about this hotel was amazing, me and my mother stayed here for 5 nights on the 8th june 2012.

They upgraded my room when i got there complimentary, they treated us so nicely throughout our stay rooms where gorgeous! the view from my hotel room was absaloutely out of this world.

I WILL be back to this hotel as i loved everything about it!

Thankyou Fairmont!!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are absaloutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ritasoracle,

We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Our views are very unique and do give you a dramtic perspective of the beautiful Pacific Coastline!

Should your travels bring you back to Santa Monica, please let us know. We'd be happy to assist you with your booking.

Kind Regards,

Jackie Kerns
Guest Relations
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff was attentive, but after just staying at a Ritz Carlton I see the difference. Here the staff will be nice and polite, but won't be very friendly or take much trouble to help you. Front desk and concierge - again friendly enough but not exemplary service.

The room was very nice in an old fashioned way. Good size and clean. We upgraded to an ocean view room, and for some reason, there were gurgling pipe and drainage sounds all night. My husband and I had a restless night's sleep. We stayed for only one night, and when we told the hotel the next morning, the front desk representative apologised for it. Should they have offered to at least not charge for extra the upgrade? I don't know about the answer to that, but based on my husband's past experiences at other good hotels around the world (he travels a lot), if there's any problem the hotel usually makes at least some effort to compensate.

Location is great, especially with the proximity to the beach and 3rd street promenade.

Food - we didn't like the breakfast much (my husband's sausages were very hard and my corned beef was very basic). Service at the restaurant was average. Room service was good. We ordered hot chcoclate which wasn't on the menu, and it arrived very promptly.

The four stars are for the location and cleanliness. Like the title says - the hotel is good but not great. Don't pay a bomb for it, but if you get a good price it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a very nice hotel! Located opposite the ocean and very close to lots of shops and restaurants. Nice rooms and good service!
The food is good, Fig restaurant is famous in Santa Monica. Room service is also of good quality, large portions!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving week. We got a great deal on Tripadvisor. Highly recommended for families with young children.

Prior to our arrival, I received an email from the hotel asking our son's name, age and if we need extra free amenities in our room (extra mini fridge, microwave, bottle warmer, tea kettle, etc.). That was just a sign of things to come.

Upon check in my son was given some toys to keep and we were upgraded to an Ocean View Suite. "Ocean View" was a little bit of a stretch. There were trees in the courtyard pool area and obstructed the view of the Ocean. This was no biggie. We were happy just having a beautiful quiet room. Another nice touch was my son's name being spelled out in sponges in the bathtub. He loved it.

Other pros:
-Prime location to shops and restaurants
-Food and room service
-Friendliness of the staff
-Great spa

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
232 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our second stay at the Fairmont Miramar. From the moment we arrived to when we left we received great service. Our bungalow was very comfortable. We love staying here. It is handy to great restaurants and shopping, the location could not bet better. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#7 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.