We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Elegant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great location on Ocean Drive. Beautiful entrance to the hotel...many bellmen to help with luggage and to welcome you. Easy check in. The lobby has many seating areas, which was nice because I had a long wait before our cruise group left the following morning. My room was so big and comfy. It had a cushy robe, as you'd expect. The bathroom was large with bathtub and separate shower, wonderful soaps and shampoos provided. The hotel restaurant is Figs, named after the giant fig tree in the driveway to the hotel. I had three meals there...L,D and breakfast. All delicious, fresh market meals with local in-season produce.
The most fun thing was NCIS-LA was filming in the lobby the morning of my long wait. Chris O'Donnell and LL Cool J interacted with us and were very nice! It was fun to see the behind the scenes of a TV series. The lobby has coffee by 6am before Figs opens for breakfast. I worked out at Exhale, the incredibly appointed, clean gym. Towels and water provided.
I would stay hear anytime I'm in LA...short ride from LAX...Third Street Promenade with Nordstrom's and many great stores and restaurants is a block east of the hotel. I can't say enough about the Fairmont Miramar!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach. I faced the pool and bungalows, it was quiet, but a beach view woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    292
    120
    66
    44
See reviews for
350
384
60
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We recently came back from staying 3 nights at the Fairmont and found the hotel to have everything we needed/required. We received an upgraded room to premier which had views out to the ocean and pier and was very well laid out and comfortable.

Staff here are exceptional and friendly - nothing is too much, they are very helpful.

I wish we had longer to enjoy the spa facilities, but there was so much for us to see as it was our first time in LA.

Concierge staff gave us so much information about how to get around and booking trips and also offered us use of the house car, so that we could have a stroll along Venice Beach.
I must note in particular Ryan who was very helpful providing us with information about the local area and Azar who did her absolute best to help regarding a purchase from a shop on rodeo drive, when we had been given the wrong size - thankyou!

The staff really make this place special - always pleasant, smiling and working hard!

Our only negative is that we are used to hotels (especially 5 star quality) providing tea and coffee making facilities in the room as we like a cuppa each morning.

I would definitely stay here again in the future, due to the staff, comfort and the location.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've stayed at Fairmont Miramar with my husband and three children for a week.The location is perfect, many rooms with ocean view, and Sta. Monica's pier view, steps away from the 3rd. street promenade. Nice place to ride a bike and go for a walk. The staff was very friendly and we were promptly assisted in all we asked for.

Room Tip: suites are large enough for a family of five, but we preferredtwo connecting rooms to have two bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The overall quality of this hotel is hard to overstate. Each room appears to have been individually decorated. The furnishings are top quality. There is a great variety to the rooms. I have stayed in a bungalow, in a two room suite, and in a room with a balcony and an ocean view. All truly unique. The hotel staff is considerate and goes out of their way to make it a comfortable stay. It is a short walk to a variety of restaurants outside the hotel. The walk along the ocean is just across the street from the hotel.

I have not used the hotel pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I love this hotel! I always wish I could stay longer. The location is fantastic. The grounds are gorgeous. You're steps away from the beach. And the bed/linens are unbelievably comfortable. I'm eager to stay here again!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclynn B, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and time spent in Santa Monica. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Situated on the corner of Wilshire and Ocean Ave, the Miramar could not be located better. Uninterrupted ocean views from the west facing rooms, it is everything a five star hotel should be. Lovely reception staff and very good porterage. we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was very nice and comfortable. Great bed and lots of lovely pillows, with a nice big bathroom. I suppose it happens quite a lot in LA, -- they were shooting an episopde of NCIS.LA in the gardens whilst we were there, -- good for celeb watch. We did not use the restaurants, but the food looked very good

Room Tip: West or South facing rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fr
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for one night, and wish I could have been there longer... Next time I am in the area I will definitely stay here again! The common areas of the hotel are beautiful, the staff is wonderful; first-class all the way.

The room was comfortable, quiet, clean, and well-appointed, and had a wonderful view of the beach and the pacific ocean. Waking up to the sun rising over the city and looking out over beach after a great night's sleep in a super comfortable bed - not a bad way to start the day.

The food at Fig Restaurant was delicious as well - all fresh ingredients, welcoming decor and attentive staff.

Overall, this was a great stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.