We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your Room to Be Sure it Isn't Occupied!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier to your Saves list
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Check your Room to Be Sure it Isn't Occupied!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The price is more palatable than at Shutters or Casa. However, I had expected more from a Wyndham. We were on a business trip and had a group of about 25. The front desk staff seemed either really tired, or just confused about what their job was. They gave two rooms to my colleagues that were already occupied by other guests. Fortunately for both of them, the guests weren't there when they opened the door! That just seems unfathomable in this day and age. Hopefully with the remodel, and perhaps some additional staff training this hotel will succeed. The location is good and the price is more reasonable than the beachfront. I will say that my room was perfectly fine - clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: My room was on the fifth floor and had a view of McDonalds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    127
    78
    29
    24
See reviews for
121
89
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were a little confused on arrival as we thought we were staying at a Holiday Inn but no-one had informed us that it had changed name since we booked.

Check-in seemed to take forever and the front desk staff seemed a little overrun. We were probably waiting for at least 20 mins until all 4 of us were checked in.

Location is great, right over the road from the pier. Was a little concerned about road noise but there was very little audible in the room. Room itself was nicely appointed and everything was in good condition.

Only 2 lifts which meant a bit of a wait at times despite the fact the hotel only has a few floors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear paulwilkinson,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us as I would like to apologize for the long wait to check in. I will be sharing your feedback with our Front Office team to better ourselves for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location, location......and Liz, our front desk gal who had to meet us on the doorstep due to renovations. The location is great for the rate. It is an older building but it is so convenient and Liz greeted us with such a warm welcome we could overlook the construction going on in the hotel. Our rooms were comfortable and the suite was a nice size. The hotel gave us free use of its beach cruisers for being Wyndham rewards members so if not a member you may want to sign up! I would stay here again if visiting on a budget. Ask for Liz and she will hook you up!

Room Tip: Opt for the King Suite...the extra sitting room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Castlerockmom,
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with and that Liz was a huge part of your experience. I will be sharing your feedback with her and recognizing her efforts to leave a lasting impression on your stay. We hope to see you back with us in the near future on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked a room at this hotel as part of a wedding weekend room block. When I arrived, I was shocked to find out that all of the hotel's shared spaces and amenities (lobby, restaurant & lounge, room service, pool) were under construction and unavailable. The onsite parking was $30/day, although it is listed as a free amenity on the hotel's website. The only amenity still working was free wifi.

When a hotel is under construction and unable to offer the full services as advertised, I expect to be notified in advance, ideally at the time of booking, and in writing when I receive my booking confirmation, NOT upon check-in. I also expect a discount, which we did not receive, other than that associated with our block booking, which was not significant.

This hotel is in a wonderful location, and the rooms are fine, but based on the experience I had, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your insight from your most recent stay. I truly apologize for the poor experience you described especially being part of a wedding block. I will be sharing your feedback with our management team so we may improve ourselves for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this great hotel in Santa Monica...near all things wonderful--shopping, a few blocks away, beach, a few blocks away, and the pier across the street. How lucky we were to get to stay here. Clean room, helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Miriam S,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us as we value your insight. I am so excited you enjoyed our location along with all the many attractions that are nearby. Thank you for recognizing our helpful staff and clean rooms as we all work hard to ensure you a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier

Address: 120 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier hotel boasts a premier location in one of the most charming ocean-side cities in the U.S. With iconic attractions like the Santa Monica Pier and Beach just steps away, as well as easy access to corporate locations like Vidal Sassoon Academy, and Red Bull North America, leisure and business travelers alike will want to make this hotel their first choice for accommodations in Santa Monica.Those who enjoy staying active while on the road can work out any time of day or night in the fitness center, while the heated outdoor pool provides the perfect setting for unwinding and soaking up the warm southern California sunshine. Windows Restaurant serves American favorites for breakfast and dinner. Each of the 132 smoke-free guest rooms has been designed with ultimate comfort and functionality in mind, and feature upgraded extras like ergonomic work stations and free Wi-Fi. Guest room amenities also include a 32-inch flat panel TV, plush pillow-top bedding, in-room safe and room service, while some rooms also boast an ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Monica Beach At The Pier Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.