We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good value for such an incredible location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #21 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good value for such an incredible location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The stay here was 4 days long and the staff was very accomadating. The location is right in the heart of Santa Monica with several rooms like directly over the Santa Monica pier, quick access to the freeways, which is huge for getting around. I received a room upgrade for staying an addiitonal day.

The negatives: The Breakfast is absurdly expensive, no mini fridges in the hotel rooms and the internet access is "unrealiable" at best.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pier have a picturesque view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, General Manager at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. It is great to hear you found our staff accommodating and our location convenient. We do have mini-fridges available on request so I am disappointed that we were not able to deliver one to your room during your stay. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    86
    40
    16
    12
See reviews for
75
61
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in two adjoining rooms for two nights midweek in the beginning of September, 2013 at the end of our 10-day California vacation. By far, we paid the most for these rooms. As I reviewed my trip, I decided to write a review here because I'd have to say this hotel was not not worth it and I would never stay there again. The location is good if you are visiting Santa Monica and Los Angeles but there must be other hotels with as many or more perks with a lower price. The lobby is cramped, the restaurant is limited, the hotel is on a very busy street adjacent to a highway, you have to pay dearly to park on property, the pool is eh, the staff was neither good nor bad, and there was plenty of construction on the floor we were assigned. I guess they are updating. I wonder if that means they will be even more overpriced...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, General Manager at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to learn that you would not consider staying with us again. Creating a warm, personal experience is our primary goal every day and I regret we were not able to meet your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously and your comments have been shared with our team so that we can learn and improve from your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just like all real estate location is always the key, same for a good hotel. We loved the location, the hotel was very nice, but the location is why we rated it 4 Stars. Nice staff and clean rooms, but what a spot to use as your vacation headquarters. If your looking for the Santa Monica experience this is it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, General Manager at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and for highlighting our staff. We agree, our location is exceptional and makes it easy to enjoy all of the great things Santa Monica offers. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wyndham Santa Monica is basically the same old Holiday Inn at the pier with the exception of blue signature logo panels taking place of the Holiday Inn logo. This hotel is terrific for its location, nearby the pier, nearby the third street promenade. I have been there many many times and is always a pleasure .
Unfortunately the Wyndham management did not change the Pool level that would be nice if not for the fact that is located over the tunnel of PCH therefore you literally can't stay in the pool area to chill out due to the continous rumours from the traffic underneath. They could fix this with some noiseless panels or try to find another solution to let this hotel go to the next level.
Overall rooms are clea, wifi working fast and very convenient for who is renting a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, General Manager at Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your continued loyal business. We are so grateful that you continue to make us your home away from home when visiting Santa Monica. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier

Address: 120 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier hotel boasts a premier location in one of the most charming ocean-side cities in the U.S. With iconic attractions like the Santa Monica Pier and Beach just steps away, as well as easy access to corporate locations like Vidal Sassoon Academy, and Red Bull North America, leisure and business travelers alike will want to make this hotel their first choice for accommodations in Santa Monica.Those who enjoy staying active while on the road can work out any time of day or night in the fitness center, while the heated outdoor pool provides the perfect setting for unwinding and soaking up the warm southern California sunshine. Windows Restaurant serves American favorites for breakfast and dinner. Each of the 132 smoke-free guest rooms has been designed with ultimate comfort and functionality in mind, and feature upgraded extras like ergonomic work stations and free Wi-Fi. Guest room amenities also include a 32-inch flat panel TV, plush pillow-top bedding, in-room safe and room service, while some rooms also boast an ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Monica Beach At The Pier Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.